We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top night spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Martins Lane London Hotel to your Saves list
St Martins Lane London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England (Covent Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #100 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stratford-upon-avon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tip Top night spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure to staying at the newly refreshed St Martins Lane this week. My girlfriend and I had decided to have a rare night out in London and had been recommended St Martins Lane after its soft renovation. We entered the hotel and went to reception to check in. The two girls were very friendly and chatty. They arranged our room and up we went. The room had a quaint little garden which gave it good natural daylight and a fun space outside where we sat and enjoyed a late afternoon drink. The room was immaculately clean and in pristine condition. We popped out for walk around the local area before dinner. We had made reservations at Asia de Cuba which has had a soft renovation. We were greeted at the door by a friendly bubbly lady who took us to the table. The room has been really well done keeping the essence of the original Asia de Cuba but putting in a new bar amongst other things. The food was, as expected, an array of bursting flavours. The ceviche section, particularly the shrimps were amazing. We also had chilli rubbed scallop, tuna in a taco and the renowned doughnuts for dessert which were all fabulous. However the highlight was the service - we were looked after by GianLuca and Laura - true assets to the hotel. Gianluca thrilled us with his knowledge and charm and Laura - who was the girl that seated us on arrival was bubbly, cheeky and lots of fun. They both made the evening really special. After dinner we went into the newly renovated Blind Spot Bar. It is a hidden bar without signage - you enter through a blank door next to shelves of jars full of dried camomile, rose etc. On entering you come into a beautiful room. Dim lighting really gives it an air of excitement. Stunning décor with a bar at the back that stands out in the room. This bar will be the next 'place to be'. The drinks selection was good. Bed was comfy and the shower really powerful - which is always a bonus. Would definitely recommend and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    404
    130
    64
    27
See reviews for
131
654
115
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cohasset, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at St. Martins Lane last June and had a wonderful stay. We were there for three nights. Let me start by saying that we had such great service. The gentleman at the front desk greeted us by name each morning, pulled out a trusty street map and helped us plan our day's adventure. Couldn't have been more helpful or happier to see us each day. He was at the ready for absolutely anything we needed. I love, love, love the lobby. It has such a cool, modern feel to it. I fell in love with those gilded teeth stools. Coolest thing ever. We were lucky enough to come by an upgrade and so we experienced two great rooms. Beautifully appointed and the bathrooms were new and fresh in every sense. The location is unbelievable as well, right off Trafalgar Square and short walk to Covent Garden and Piccadilly. So many great, great restaurants and of course theaters all over the neighborhood. J Sheeky is right around the corner and of course, the National Gallery and the Portrait Gallery. Can't wait to go back, will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So I stayed at St Martins last night and was absolutely delighted to experience the new Blind Spot Bar and the refreshed Asia de Cuba .
The Blind Spot Bar is a revelation , the new look is outstanding and the cocktails were fantastic
A first class re calibration of a successful offering .
As usual Reception team are so welcoming and the room was amazingly comfortable

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms or suites and enjoy yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Room was ready early so we could check in as soon as we arrived. Staff were helpful. Room was spotless. Breakfast had many options and was very good.

The wireless service is truly terrible. You have to constantly log-in every time your phone goes on lock. There were many times when the server couldn't be reached at all.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dear staff of St Martins Lane Hotel. Thanks for an amazing time I spend with you over the last 2 years. But the cherry on the cake was the last visit with my husband. The attention we got and warmth showed to both of us was amazing. Loved the room. The bottle of bubbles as a welcome present. Thanks a thousand times. Hans

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable room, great location, staff is so helpful and flexible, friendly(everyone looks like a model!!!). Nice restaurant. I'm really glad to stay here and I'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear chloeJill,

Thank you for your kind review, the whole team loved your comments and were very flattered! We are glad you had a great time at St Martins Lane and look forward to welcoming you back. If you need any help with your next stay please let me know by emailing me at isabelle.fowkes@mhgc.com

Warm regards,

Belle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very modern and stylish hotel that manages to combine being cool with being friendly. We had a standard room but on a corner so extra space which was nice. Very clean and contemporary design, comfy bed, spotlessly clean, masses of hot water in the shower, nice luxury toiletries, high speed wifi - rooms don't need any more than this. Breakfast was very good, staff friendly. Rooms are quiet so you can feel as if you are the only people staying there, helping get a really good nights sleep. Would definitely recommend and stay there again - it's in the perfect position for West End theatres and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PlummyDorking,

It is great to read you had such a good nights’ sleep at St Martins Lane and loved your comfortable yet super stylish room. Thanks for sharing your experience and also for recommending us. We hope you have the opportunity to come back to us again soon and I would love to make your next stay even more enjoyable so make sure you let me know when you are returning, you can email me at isabelle.fowkes@mhgc.com . I look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.

Warm regards,

Belle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#81 Business Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its dazzling location at the hub of Covent Garden, West End theatres and Trafalgar Square, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring reinvention of the urban resort. Smart, witty and sophisticated, the hotel is filled with energy, vitality and magic. Unique features include the acclaimed Asia de Cuba restaurant, wildly popular Light Bar, and interactive light displays in every Guest Room that encourage guests to personalize their own individual space, and help to turn the hotel into a beautiful and ever changing mosaic of color. St. Martins Lane Hotel offers seasonal packages and special offers including weekend, holiday, and breakfast packages. These offers are exclusive to the site and are available for a wide variety of room types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Martins Lane London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.