We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St Martins Lane London Hotel to your Saves list
St Martins Lane London Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England (Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #91 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at St Martins lane for our honeymoon recently and were hugely impressed.
The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating (Nicole and I forget the name of the doorman) - genuine, friendly and welcoming - what a pleasure.
The hotel design is sleek, clean and trendy.
The rooms are large (well ours was) - the bathrooms were as good as i've ever seen. Clean but functional as well.
Finally, you can't beat the location. Situated on a quiet street in Covent Garden - Oxford st, Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Sq are all a few minutes walk away.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Claude,

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at St Martins Lane. It was my honour to create a unforgettable time in London for your and your wife on your Honeymoon and I’m delighted to see that your raring to join us again.
Please let me know when you are planning to return I can’t wait to welcome you both back.

Warm Regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    385
    122
    62
    27
See reviews for
122
612
109
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at The St. Martin Lane Hotel over Christmas 2013 and had one of my best experiences ever!

Starting with Igor the doormen upon my arrival hotel staff has been very attentive to my needs and very friendly.

Alex at Concierge is amazing and even got me a ticket for The Nutcracker for December 23rd first row; all the places he recommended me were all local places and good.
I only had breakfast but both buffet and a la carte selections were satisfactory.

The only thing I did not like was that they charge you for WFI which whould be free at 21st century...

Overall food and ambiance is great but what made my stay a memorable one was the staff ! I once again thank Alex, Igor and Ahmet , hope to visit back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Funda D,

Thank you for staying with us over the Christmas period it was an absolute pleasure to have you here; I am thrilled to see so many individuals helped make your experience so unforgettable. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to everyone you mentioned.
Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to return, I would be more than happy to make sure your next stay is as good as the first (hopefully even better). You may reach me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com

Warm Regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What can I say...I booked this hotel as a surprise for my mothers birthday, she was very pleasantly surprised! When I booked the room we we given a complementary upgrade with a bottle of champagne to make the most of our celebrations. The hotel is very stylish, even thought they are starting renovations to improve it even more. The beds are one of a kind, and I had a very comfortable nights sleep. The staff are very friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. I must mention Nicole who made our stay really special. I would definitely recommend this hotel. And I will make sure I return. Many thanks St Martins Lane!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Holly,

It was pleasure to meet you and your mother on arrival.I’m so glad you chose to spend your special occasion with us and I’m glad I could make it memorable – a few bubble’s never go a miss!
I look forward to welcoming you back with warm smiles and friendly service.
Please let me know when you plan to return and I will personally manage your booking.

Warm Regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We just left St Martins Lane, but couldn't wait longer to thank Debra and Fabrizio !! Thank you for your warm welcoming smiles and for hosting us the way you did, especially knowing how we ended in your great hotel ! The room was amazing : perfectly quiet, perfectly clean and perfectly styled ! Thank you again and we hope to see you again !!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Yanaparis,

WOW! Thank you for this incredible review and your personal thanks to Debra and Fabrizio – they saw the reviews this morning and were overjoyed that they were able to create a memorable experience for you. I’m glad you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality we are committed to providing a place where guests feel at home and we look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We liked this hotel as a change from the normal nice but anonymous style of most hotels in London. Everything's carefully thought about - big things and small details - from the handleless doors in the ground floor loos and adjustable mood lighting in bedrooms to the teabag and sugar containers. We upgraded and had a great room with huge floor to ceiling windows. Toiletries smell delicious and the bed was dreamily comfortable. Air con worked well. We got a good deal - £159 - as a secret hotel on Lastminute.com (the upgrade when we arrived was an extra £40, so still good value). As previously mentioned, no wifi in the room but as we were there just one night this wasn't really a problem, just seems a shame not to offer this yet as a free part of every stay. We didn't bother with the £25 (each) breakfast as we wanted to get on with the day and it's steep for a bit of muesli and a cup of tea (which we found quite satisfactorily in a nearby Nero) and was all we wanted. The staff were professional and welcoming. A missing towel was immediately replaced.
I suppose my only reservations would be a lack of decent lighting in the room, again not really a problem for one night; stylish taps on the basins are entirely smooth, so hard to turn with wet or soapy hands; and finally, although it does everything well, to me St Martins Lane felt slightly soulless, which I guess is a personal thing. The bar and restaurant didn't attract us enough to want to go in - I didn't feel we would fit in and feel comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear RedQuince,

Thank you for you in-depth review of your visit to St Martins Lane. When our hotel opened 14 years ago the idea was to create a wonderland were you are transported to a dream like world. We offer various packages on our website which include breakfast and wifi. I would recommend when you return to the hotel to try Asia de Cuba and Light Bar as they make for an unforgettable evening with fabulous service and exceptional food.

Please make sure you come to see us again soon, I would love to personally oversee your stay and ensure to make sure your next stay is even more memorable. Let me know when you intend to return, my email address is Nicole.messham@mhgc.com and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have stayed in the St Martins Lane a few times an every time I have really enjoyed. Rooms are modern, full of light and practical. Service is superb. Both room service and Asia de Cuba restaurant are great. Concierge, receptionist and bell service are friendly and proactive. Making you feel welcome every time you come back during the stay or need anything. The use of the near by great gym , the box, ( only a few meters away), is also very convenient. Location, just by Covent Garden and close to businesses, theater, restaurants is also very welcome . Always looking forward to return !,

Room Tip: Corners rooms, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Christian H,

Thank you for choosing St Martins Lane for your "home away from home" every time your travels bring you to our great, friendly city of London your loyalty is greatly appreciated. In all our departments are staff are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive, and gracious manner—and I am delighted you found this to be the case during you stay.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are returning. You can reach me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com and again thank you for taking the time to complete this review.
I look forward to welcoming you back with warm smiles and friendly service.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

There's no doubting the St Martin's lane is a stylish, central and accommodating abode to lay ones head. The beds are comfy, the Malin & Goetz products are delightful and the staff are incredibly attentive. The bar, however, is an awful mix of hangers on and wannabes wishing they could afford to stay at the hotel. Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Robertsdesk,
It is great to read your review of St Martins Lane and we are so glad that you enjoyed our central location, and loved the design and style of our guestrooms. I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our staff and found them to be wonderfully helpful. They do genuinely care about the well-being of all our guests and always do their best to make every stay as enjoyable as possible.
We hope that you return to us when you are next in London, please contact me on Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation so that I can personally oversee your stay. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warmest Regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#65 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Business Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its dazzling location at the hub of Covent Garden, West End theatres and Trafalgar Square, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring reinvention of the urban resort. Smart, witty and sophisticated, the hotel is filled with energy, vitality and magic. Unique features include the acclaimed Asia de Cuba restaurant, wildly popular Light Bar, and interactive light displays in every Guest Room that encourage guests to personalize their own individual space, and help to turn the hotel into a beautiful and ever changing mosaic of color. St. Martins Lane Hotel offers seasonal packages and special offers including weekend, holiday, and breakfast packages. These offers are exclusive to the site and are available for a wide variety of room types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Martins Lane London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.