We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff. And a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St Martins Lane London Hotel to your Saves list
St Martins Lane London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England (Covent Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #100 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff. And a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and me were both working in London and booked this as a wee treat. The hotel looks pretty good and the rooms are really well designed, cool, if a little small.

What makes this hotel is the staff, who were relaxed and made our stay simple and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is lovely to hear that you and your wife treated yourselves to a stay at St Martins Lane whilst you were working in London and are thrilled that our wonderful staff helped to make your visit relaxing and fun. We hope that you return to us when you are next in London, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would love to help you with your booking so please let her know when you would like to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    404
    130
    64
    27
See reviews for
131
655
115
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked a "loft king suite". To me a loft means it is on the upper floors, however when we arrived we were booked into a 1st floor suite ..... In all fairness, I complained to front desk and the very helpful receptionist moved us to a 3rd floor room and gave us cocktail vouchers to make up for error. She did however say that there are loft king suites on every floor.......
Great hotel room, good cocktail bar downstairs, we ate in Asia de Cuba - buzzing atmosphere as expected on a sat night, very good service but very average food. Its a shame as the portion of Tuna was generous for London standards but tasted very plain and the other dishes just felt mixed up Asian cuisine. The beef starter had too much salad which was drowned in dressing.
I will say that the staff in the restaurant and hotel were 1st class, we asked to move tables in the restaurant and they did so with very little fuss and all staff very helpful and genuine. I would stay again as fantastic location for theatre district / Covent garden but I would eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Loft king suite`s are great but they are not necessarily on upper floors so check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to St Martins Lane, particularly making the most of our great central location and it is great to hear that you would like to return. Please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation as she will make sure your next visit exceeds your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel on 2nd November. It was our anniversary so I had booked a weekend away at the St Martins Lane hotel along with a west end musical and shopping. A work colleague had stayed at their sister hotel, The Sanderson, just of Oxford street, and from her stories of that hotel I knew St Martins would be excellent.

On arrival the desk staff were hugely welcoming, chatty and very warm. As it was our anniversary I had asked prior if we could have a large bath tub in the room and on arrival at our room we were not disappointed. We had a standard queen room but the room was extremely spacious and immaculate. The staff had also placed tea-light candles all throughout the bathroom and bedroom along with petals on the bed and bathroom floor to which we were blown away and hugely grateful. We were also provided with a free drink each at the hotel bar, which is very popular in its own right as a cocktail bar, filled to the brim with people not staying at the hotel. However I mentioned to the 'bouncer' we were guests and he was very helpful at making us a priority to find a table. The cocktails were pretty special.

The hotel is a fantastic location, right in the centre of the west end and only a minutes walk from leicester square. I cannot recommend the hotel enough. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
What a fabulous review, we are thrilled we lived up to your high expectations and were able to give you and your partner a really special experience whilst you celebrated your anniversary at St Martins Lane. We always try and go the extra mile in making special occasions truly memorable so it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit so much. Please come back to see us again, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would love to help make your next stay even more pleasurable so get in touch with her when you would like to make another reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was the first time that I was staying in London. And this Hotel just answered all my expectation.
Very nice and profesional staff. I wanted to have a drink at the bar and the guy found a seat four me in the crowded bar (thank you!).
The rooms are so comfy. Great Wifi (worth the 10pounds for 24hours).
The mood lights is the room is actually very nice and spacious.
The view is amazing (trafalgare square from room 406). Close to main touristics attractions.
Great bed! YOu can find all you need in the bathroom.
Very stylish and design decoration.
The only bad thing I'd experienced is finding my room. Could not find my room number (It is on floor written in yellow on the orange carpet) Not very easy.
Did not try the fitness but I am sure it would have been very nice too.
ANYWAY I WOULD DEFINITLY STAY IN THIS HOTEL FOR MY NEXT TRIP TO LONDON.
Jerome P.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are delighted that you chose St Martins Lane to stay at during your first visit to London Jermone and are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time whilst you were with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our central location, and loved the design and style of our guestrooms. We hope that you return to us when you are next in London, please contact Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation so that she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend for my husbands birthday - staff were super helpful, room was gorgeous, perfect location- what more could you ask for! We had a bottle of wine and birthday cake brought to the room and when we got back from an evening out the room had been filled with candles and rose petals. It was these extra touches that made a rare weekend away together all the more perfect.

Definitely recommend and hope to return soon for some more relaxation and indulgence!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Katherine, thank you for choosing St Martins Lane as the location to celebrate your husbands’ birthday, we love to make sure special occasions are unforgettable at St Martins Lane and it was a pleasure to provide some extra touches to ensure your visit exceeded your expectations. Please do make sure you return to us when you have the opportunity to escape for another weekend of pampering, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing how she can help make your next visit even more indulgent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com as one of their secret hotels. Having had the hotel revealed to us and now having stayed there I'm please to say that the description of this hotel is completely spot on.
"An urban oasis in the heart of the West End.....Step through the doors of this glamorous hotel in London and you will be transported into surreal but luxurious surroundings, where you can even set the mood in the room at the touch of a button."
The service from the staff was excellent. They could not have done enough for us. Even though we booked at a cheaper rate through the secret hotels deal on lastminute, we were very pleasantly suprised to have been given a complimentary room upgrade. The room was fab! Well layed out, the bed was huge and everything was spotlessly clean. We really enjoyed the quirkiness of the interior of the hotel. It definitely shows off the modern and contemporary side of London.
The location of the hotel was excellent. A stones throw from Leicester Square tube station, there is everything you could possibly need within comfortable walking distance....shops, restaurants, bars and clubs etc.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at St Martins Lane and would definitely consider returning in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at St Martins Lane and are delighted that you loved the unique style and ambiance we provide. We are very lucky to be located in such a central position as we have so much on our doorstep, please do make sure you come back to stay again so that you can enjoy another memorable experience. Nicole.messham@mhgc.com will be delighted to help you with any future bookings. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at St Martins Lane for an extended layover en route to South Africa for our honeymoon. From the moment we got there, the entire staff made us feel so welcome! Thank you to Nicole and Edward for the especially nice welcome! Directions, reservations, taxis - everything was just a phone call away. Edward even gave me fashion advice for what I should/should not wear to afternoon tea.

The location of the hotel is in the heart of the theater district and everything is walk-able from there. Definitely recommended for a sleek, stylish and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Firstly, huge congratulations on your recent nuptials and we are honoured to have been part of such a special occasion, we do hope that your honeymoon in South Africa was everything you imagined it to be. Nicole and Ed will be thrilled that they helped to make your stay with us so memorable, Ed is always happy to help out and is a font of knowledge for so many things! We hope you and your husband have the opportunity to return to us again soon as we would love to welcome you back. Please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com so that she can help you with any future requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#81 Business Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its dazzling location at the hub of Covent Garden, West End theatres and Trafalgar Square, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring reinvention of the urban resort. Smart, witty and sophisticated, the hotel is filled with energy, vitality and magic. Unique features include the acclaimed Asia de Cuba restaurant, wildly popular Light Bar, and interactive light displays in every Guest Room that encourage guests to personalize their own individual space, and help to turn the hotel into a beautiful and ever changing mosaic of color. St. Martins Lane Hotel offers seasonal packages and special offers including weekend, holiday, and breakfast packages. These offers are exclusive to the site and are available for a wide variety of room types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Martins Lane London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.