We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added St Martins Lane London Hotel to your Saves list
St Martins Lane London Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England (Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #92 of 1,065 Hotels in London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and what can I say? Wow!!
My partner booked this hotel as a surprise, we were celebrating a special occasion and he had been in contact with the con concierge staff and Nicole the guest experience manager prior to our arrival. They arranged for an upgrade, fresh rose petals spread throughout the room, a bottle of champagne and complimentary cocktails in the bar, the perfect touch!!!
The hotel itself is in the best location close to everuthing and everywhere. The staff are very helpful and the rooms lovely.
Will definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning, hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are delighted that your partner chose to surprise you with a night at St Martins Lane as we love to go the extra mile when we know a guest is here for a special celebration. We are so pleased you enjoyed the surprises we left you in your room, it was a pleasure to be able to make your stay with us so memorable. We hope that you will be able to return for a longer visit next time. Make sure you let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you are planning your next visit so she can do everything she can to make your next visit even more pleasurable! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    385
    122
    62
    27
See reviews for
122
610
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Everything about this hotel is perfect. We arrived off of a 4-hour train ride from Edinburgh, tired, peckish, and slightly damp from navigating the alleyways from the Leicester Square station in the rain (which is ridiculously close, but for two disoriented Americans, it's not). Ed, at the front desk, was so sweet and accommodating that he had our gigantic soggy suitcases wiped down before he took us to our room. That right then and there was above our expectations, for I'm sure those bags suffered far more abuse from Virgin Atlantic than a little rain. Anyway, our room was fantastic - located right behind the English National Opera House, so it was very quiet. Even though it's smack in the middle of the very busy Leicester Square/Covent Garden (and we were there during Cocktail week) it was very peaceful. Everything was new and clean, the amenities plentiful, and most importantly, the bed was very comfortable. I also loved the plant hanging on the wall, and how a member of the staff would light a candle in the bathroom in the evening. It was those small details that made this hotel so lovely. But I have to say, it is the staff that really makes this place so special. Everyone is so kind and knowledgeable. I cannot count the times we went to the concierge (each and every one of you is a credit to your service) for help, whether it was cheap theatre tickets, how to get a refund for the Oyster Cards that never showed up, or how to make a simple local phone call (which is quite complicated if you've only dealt with no more than 10 digits for the majority of your life...11 if it's a 1-800 number...I swear we're really not that incompetent). To top it off, the hotel's location is perfectly centralized to EVERYTHING even though it's smack in the middle of the very busy Leicester Square/Covent Garden We mostly walked everywhere, but it's so stupidly easy to take the tube anywhere and everywhere as well. Thank you everyone at St. Martins Lane Hotel for making our holiday in London that much more enjoyable! We will be back soon, and we will be staying with you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you whilst you were holidaying in London and we are thrilled that we helped to make your time here so special. London is an amazing city and we are very lucky to be located so centrally. It was unfortunate that you arrived on a wet day in London but thankfully Ed was on hand to make you feel warm and welcome at St Martins Lane! We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon as we would love to welcome you back. Nicole.messham@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you with details of your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My recent stay at St. Martins Lane Hotel was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets. It was conveniently located between Trafalgar Square and Picadilly Square which were fun to visit. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely furnished with very comfortable beds. The dress code was casual which fit right in for a weary traveler. Having free access to the health club next door was an added bonus and the in house bar was lively and fun. Would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes modern décor mixed with comfort. Centrally located for the theatre district, with many fine restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you Buzz for your kind review. We are so glad you were able to leave the hectic city life behind you when you stepped through our revolving doors into the fantasy world of St Martins Lane. We hope you have the opportunity to escape from reality and enjoy another break with us again soon. Please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you would like to make a reservation so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in Loft King- a corner room on 6th floor. The windows were floor to ceiling and the room was Iincredibly bright, a joy in London. The views were excellent. Location cannot be beat. The concierge desk- Joey and Michael-were fabulous...recommendations and assistance with a smile. Even the bellman was a joy- he ran all the way up the street to hail a cab for us. Asia de Cuba was good and the lobby bar was small but fun. Only things needed from hotel to receive an excellent review are to improve bed quality and refresh/update the look of the rooms. Also free WiFi in this day and age should be a given not a profit center. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
That was a fantastic review of your stay at St Martins Lane. Thank you very much sftcat. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we will make sure to pass your personal mentions of Joey and Michael on to them. Please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com with any special requests you may have for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just stayed at The St Martins Lane Hotel, wow its lovely. it obviously has a really stylish interior but the thing that really makes it special are the fantastic staff, they are trained to such a high standard, it really was a pleasure being there. The bar area is great , you can ask for odd things at odd times, nothing fazes them, they are so friendly and helpul.
Lovely room with mood lighting, amazing view of Nelsons Column, very special to lie in bed staring at that ! Great washroom area, for once someone had thought you might need to put down a wash bag! they'd also thought a girl might not want to get her hair wet in the shower so two options there too.
Complete treat save up and go!

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much LondonTolly for this fabulous review. We are very delighted you had such a great time with us and enjoyed Light Bar. We definitely hope to see you again shortly with us and please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com and let her know you are coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels, and this was one of my favorites. Beautiful room, great service, friendly staff in a very cool neighborhood of London. I can't think of any downsides. They also have an excellent health club next door where you get free entry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much Jeffr0s for this fantastic review of your stay at St Martins Lane. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found the complimentary access to GymBox convenient. We do hope to see you again shortly. Feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com with any special requests prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently stayed at 'St Martins lane' hotel again - 11th Oct through to monday the 14th and to say I was impressed is a mere understatement. I find the place vibrant, beautiful and well designed. This however is not a patch on the smiles you are given at this hotel and the warm that radiates from the Staff.

I would like to say a particular thank you to Alex on the conceirge desk. He is highly skilled at mixing a professional manner with one of friendliness and warmth. He during is a face I am always so pleased to see on the Conceirge desk. He is always willing to help and fairs well under pressure when the desks get busy. I have been witnessed to him juggling helping staff at the check in desk and manning the conceirge side of his job. He truly should be a valued member of this hotel, he certainly is from a guest perspective.

Amet, the bellman is also a name I want to mention. He, like Alex, always in my experience goes above and beyond for his guests. I watched him hail cabs on Saturday evening for many guests and he is always polite, efficient, and welcoming. Again, he seems to have this incredible balance between efficiency and friendliness. I am delighted to honor him by writing this email because his work truly is exceptional.

I would also like to take the time to mention Paris and Sonia on the check in desk and Amy on the Conceirge desk. These women are again, so efficient and good at what they do. It is a pleasure to enter the hotel and have people you feel care about you staying there. I commend their work too as they truly are three remarkable women who are amazing at their job.

Another beautiful visit and I will return again, often.

This hotel is made by its staff and the level of service they provide.
I love being in the covent garden area it is so vibrant and beautiful. And with Neals Yard and 'the wild food cafe and juice bar - two seperate doors- just in that space. This hotel has everything in walking distance... Monmouth coffee on monmouth street too, just up the road, is NOT one independent coffee shop to be missed.
LOve the hotel. loved it all.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 4 are quieter. I love level one and facing the front street, you get to sit and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director or Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Angela,
Thank you for this wonderful review of your stay at St Martins Lane. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and so many team members managed to stand out with you. I will make sure to pass your amazing feedback on to them. Angela, please feel free to nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you are visiting us so she may oversee your booking and any requests you may have. We look forward to seeing you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#63 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Business Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its dazzling location at the hub of Covent Garden, West End theatres and Trafalgar Square, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring reinvention of the urban resort. Smart, witty and sophisticated, the hotel is filled with energy, vitality and magic. Unique features include the acclaimed Asia de Cuba restaurant, wildly popular Light Bar, and interactive light displays in every Guest Room that encourage guests to personalize their own individual space, and help to turn the hotel into a beautiful and ever changing mosaic of color. St. Martins Lane Hotel offers seasonal packages and special offers including weekend, holiday, and breakfast packages. These offers are exclusive to the site and are available for a wide variety of room types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Tablet Hotels, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Martins Lane London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.