We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St Martins Lane London Hotel to your Saves list
St Martins Lane London Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England (Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #91 of 1,066 Hotels in London
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed 3 nights while in a business trip in London. The room is small, but clean and nice. Bathroom is super clean and modern. I stayed in the 325 room, which has an awful view, but I didn't need one. I don't recommend the hotel with you're traveling accompanied, because the design of the room is perfect for one person, that's it. Staff is super nice and helpful. They have partnership with a fitness center next door, which is very convenient. Hotel location is great: close to Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and other attractions and main transportation. I would go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear BibiLeite
We are so pleased you loved the location of the hotel and that you would like to come and stay with us again. Next time you visit we would be happy to show you some of our larger rooms as St Martins Lane is a great hotel whether you travel alone or with a guest, please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com so that she can personally oversee your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    385
    122
    62
    27
See reviews for
122
612
109
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We received excellent service from the time our cab pulled up in front of the hotel. The room was great. Not large but very comfortable. The beds and bedding were amazing. All the hotel and restaurant staff went out of their way to make our stay a great one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Howard, it’s great to hear that you loved your time at St Martins Lane and that our team helped to make your stay so enjoyable. We hope you have the opportunity to come and see us again soon, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would be delighted to personally oversee your next stay so make sure you let her know when we can expect you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel from the second you walk in you are treated like royalty with the staff falling over themselves to help you. Rooms are a little small and you have to enter the gym box by leaving the hotel, but the rooms are so clean, bathroom is amazing. The bar downstairs is very trendy with the cocktails made with perfection. The breakfast buffet is outstanding with everything you will need but the cooked food can take a little longer. The times are great though with breakfast served from 6.30 - 11 (never had that before). Great hotel, amazing location and helpful staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you EdelleMcCrudden for your fabulous review. We are so pleased you received such a warm welcome at St Martins Lane and had the opportunity to enjoy some of our tasty cocktails whilst you were with us. Please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you are coming back so that she can make sure you have everything you need on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location close to all that beats in this vibrant city.
The rooms are a little small but that is London and when you are in the location of this hotel, who cares.... Walk out the cool door of this hotel and you are 3 minutes walk to some of London's best atractions and if you like trendy bars and a vibrant atmosphere the streets around this hotel go off after work so you will have no trouble finding friends and quality drinking establishments. The hotel is super trendy and modern and has a cool bar/restaurant on the bottom floor, along with some of the coolest teeth seats I have seen. The rooms look over the bustiling streets or the old London rooftops and have some cool features such as mood lighting and a nice roomy bathroom. The beds are super comfy after a day of exploring London streets and the blinds will keep the light out if you have had a big night. We found the service here really good, especially the concierge service. My wife had wanted to do High Tea in London and I had left it a tad late... After calling around I had no luck. One call from the concierge and I was out of trouble as he swiftly made a booking at one of the best high tea's in London. When we arrived at the High Tea we were treated to some extra special attention due to our concierge friend and contact. This was super cool and helpful. So make sure you use the well connected and knowledgable concierge. The hotel has a car park at the back if you happen to be driving like we were and a host of breakfast places around. Enjoy thuis trendy and modern hotel that is in one of the best locations for a fun stay in London.

Room Tip: Speak to the concierge to get the low down on the good places to visit that are off the tourist trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ryan,
Wow your review encompasses all aspects of our hospitality and how we have managed to make this an unforgettable weekend for you and your wife.We are pleased to read you had such an amazing time and our concierge team were able to assist you in experiencing the 'must do' high tea. Myself and our team are always happy to pre arrange any requests you may have, please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Awesome modern hotel in a perfect location. Friendly & helpful staff. Decor that wows and a nice bar to spend the evenings. The suite with the open air patio was ideal for the summer

Plenty of options for F&B within a 5 minute radius

Room Tip: Suites with the patios are a must try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose to stay here again, after staying a few years ago. After reading a few reviews I began to worry it wouldn't be up to the same standard as previously.

On arrival our car was taken to the car park and our luggage into reception. On checking in I was convinced I had read the reviews for another hotel! Check in was efficient and courteous, even giving us a free upgrade for our wedding anniversary.

Our room was on the sixth floor and was just as I remembered from our previous stay - clean, spacious, crisp bed linen, enormous bathroom and plenty of storage. Our tea tray arrived promptly and was refilled each day.

A truly wonderful stay in an extremely central hotel,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I organised to have my wife's birthday in London last week, and Nicole was very helpful in getting a few little surprises organised in the hotel for us, including champagne, flowers etc.

The hotel has a very cool edge, and the staff are all friendly and helpful. As a London resident for many years, even I was impressed by the lengths they would go to help with regards to shows, dinner reservations etc. Rooms were clean, beds comfy and bathrooms were lovely. Our room was a brilliant white throughout (room 158).

All in all a great stay, only reason for not giving 5 stars is the price (over £350 for one night and not including breakfast). But it was expected for a luxury central London hotel that is walking distance from Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Mayfair, Trafalgar Square, etc etc. Leicester Square tube is literally 5 minutes walk.

Not visited this time, but the hotel bar and onsite restaurant (Asia de Cuba) are both very good as well.

Highly recommended if this hotel is in your price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#63 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Business Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its dazzling location at the hub of Covent Garden, West End theatres and Trafalgar Square, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring reinvention of the urban resort. Smart, witty and sophisticated, the hotel is filled with energy, vitality and magic. Unique features include the acclaimed Asia de Cuba restaurant, wildly popular Light Bar, and interactive light displays in every Guest Room that encourage guests to personalize their own individual space, and help to turn the hotel into a beautiful and ever changing mosaic of color. St. Martins Lane Hotel offers seasonal packages and special offers including weekend, holiday, and breakfast packages. These offers are exclusive to the site and are available for a wide variety of room types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Martins Lane London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.