We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in London downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Landmark London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Landmark London to your Saves list
The Landmark London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in London downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's a very nice hotel and very well located. The staff are very attentive and the catering is amazing. Great venue for events. The rooms for the events are very big. The only con is that we couldn't get any wifi. But that's not something that makes the hotel any worse :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and thank you for highlighting the attentiveness of our staff during your stay.

Thank you for selecting The Landmark for your stay in London and we will very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    364
    126
    66
    53
See reviews for
342
601
91
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not being to check in on arrival is probably one of the most common hotel annoyances. This is no doubt a busy hotel during weekdays and I felt very welcomed and was well looked after during my wait. A 5 star checkin/ waiting experience despite the short-fall.

I was provided with a room on the first floor overlooking the station. Double glazed windows meant it was super quiet. The room was large. Air con worked well and Wi Fi had strong signal. Everything from bathroom amenities/ service/ decor were flawless

Breakfast was plentiful but pricey. would suggest you have breakfast included in your package.
I did not experience room service but the menu looked quite expensive. There are plenty of stores selling bottled water/ snacks in the station across the road which cost 80% less than your hotel minibar.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxury hotel experience in London.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending the hotel so favourably follwoing your recent stay with us. It was very kind of you to share your experience and thank you for highlighting the features of our bedrooms and the excellent experience upon your arrival.

Thank you for selecting the Landmark for your stay in London and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband & I held our wedding reception at The Landmark in August 2012 and it was absolutely perfect. The service was impeccable, the food delicious, the ballroom and gazebo for our champagne reception breathtakingly beautiful and our wedding suite was stunning. It really does have a wow factor!

What made it so special was the staff who were so attentive and made all our 250 guests feel very welcomed and were treated exceptionally well. In particular our wedding organiser Greta Outes was our rock and ensured all went smoothly on the day – we would have been lost without her!

We have stayed at The Landmark on my birthday previously and had such a great time and of course every year on our wedding anniversary we will be staying to celebrate. The breakfast is delicious, the staff very helpful and the extra options such as made to order pancakes/crepes were delightful.

Even though we live in London, it feels like we are on holiday as soon as you walk into the hotel. You are able to switch off, enjoy the surroundings and relax. A real gem in a big city full of hotels owned by large chains, this hotel has a real personality of its own and is just stunning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the atrium for spectacular views over The Winter Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time and trouble to share your feedback with us following your wedding.Thank you so much for highlighting Greta in our banqueting department and all her team for the service and warm welcome they gave you and all your guests.
Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our breakfast offering and all the facilities in the hotel. We certianly look forward to welcoming you back on your first anniversary.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister brought me here as part of a surprise 40th Birthday. The day started off with a fabulous breakfast in the Winter garden and finished with a Cocktail masterclass with none other than Salvatore. I had not been to the hotel before but as soon as I walked in from the street it was almost as if I had been transported through a portal into a different world. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff was very attentive.

I didn't know it at the time but my sister had booked a cocktail masterclass. When she told me I thought we would make a few standard cocktails - mojitos, pina coladas and then get to sample them, but what actually transpired couldn't have been further from my imagination.

The session started in the aptly named Mirror Bar and Salvatore instantly made us feel very welcome. We sat at the bar and were greeted by a wall of alcohol, pretty much everything you could imagine and once we got behind the bar and into the driving seat, so to speak, it was as if we were in a control centre of sorts. There were so many different pieces of equipment, glasses of different sizes and thickness, which we would later go onto understand makes alot of difference when making certain cocktails. Fresh fruit, juices in glass and not plastic containers - adding to the purity of the drinks, ice and so much more.

Salvatore didn't focus too much on what our favourite cocktails were but instead took the approach of understanding our favourite tastes, which did include alcohol but also textures and fruits. From there he suggested some ideas for cocktails which I had not heard of before and didn't even think could work, but after tasting them you didn't want to put your glass down or the drink to finish.

There was so much precision and care taken to produce the finest cocktail and you could visibly see how much attention to detail there was. And then it was our turn to make the drinks, which is when you realised exactly what goes into making a cocktail and how much fun it can actually be, especially when you see the expression on the face of the person as they sample your creation.

I like to understand why things happen and why use certain techniques and it was very refreshing that the masterclass also delivered on this level aswell. It wasn't just a case of enjoy making a cocktail and then enjoy drinking it, but if you were interested there is plenty of theory to explain why things are done a certain way, which for me just made the experience even more fascinating.

There is so much more I could write about the experience, but I fear doing so would then somehow spoil it for others. I do however just want to say the following three things:

1. It is not very often that you meet someone in life who is so passionate about what they do and are able to make you feel that their purpose is to make sure that you get everything you want from the experience.

2. Up until now I've always known that the secret to great food is the finest ingredients, a fully equipped kitchen to prepare the food and a very knowledgeable and experienced chef. Having been to this masterclass I have now come away with a new appreciation and that is that great cocktails are no different from great food and you need the same 3 ingredients. But in the case of cocktails you need a very knowledgeable and experienced mixologist and not a chef, which I hasten to add Salvatore most definitely is.

3. My sister brought me here 2 months ago and the fact that I have written this review now just shows how much of a memorable experience it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your cocktail masterclass with Salvatore in our Mirror Bar. It was a real pleasure to read your excellent comments and equally rewarding to share this with Salvatore who was ecstatic.

We really appreciate you sharing this memorable moment and of course will be only too delighted to welcome you back in the hotel and , of course, to the Mirror Bar

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Grand old hotel in Westminster directly across the street from the Marylebone tube stop, with a covered walkway right to the back entrance of the hotel. Our room was gorgeous & spacious, and even had a U.S. volt electical outlet! The bathroom was huge and had both a tub & a walk-in shower with robes etc. The entire staff was stellar and they left a beautiful birthday package in our room for my mom upon our check-in.Taxis sometimes took awhile to come to the hotel but there is also a taxi-stand across the street in front of the Marylebone tube station. However, queues form there so keep that in mind when going out. We were able to get around everywhere quite easily and I highly recommend! FYI, we got a great deal on the price by deciding to pre-purchase online.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Winter Garden...wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Landmark_London, Director of Marketing at The Landmark London, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay.

Thank you also for your appreciation of our hotel and our team, we always endeavour to provide memorable moments for our guests and we are delighted that we did that for you and your mother. Please do contact us personally in order that we may assist you on your next visit to London.

With kind regards
Sally Beck
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located , just in front of marylebone station. The staff is particularly friendly and attentive. The atrium is great and I particularly enjoyed the food. The rooms are hi standard - even if tv is not hd and the furniture is not particularly sophisticated.
Rooms are pricy and Internet is not free unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Let me start by saying that this is the most beautiful hotel in the world. Attention to details, from check in to check out. The rooms are large and probably have the biggest marble bathrooms in London. The location is next to Madame Toussoad Museam, (only a short walk) and the service is impeccable, especially in the winter garden. I will recommend this to all of my friend visiting London. I would ike to thank you Cristina, the italian girl in charge of Food and Beverage for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landmark London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark London

Address: 222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#90 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark London 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Landmark London is situated in fashionable Marylebone in the heart of London and combines classic British elegance and grandeur with deluxe facilities. Encompassing 300 of some of the largest guest rooms in London and three stunning bar and restaurants. The hotel also has a Spa and Health Club including a 15 metre swimming pool and gymnasium. The Landmark is the perfect venue from which to enjoy the sights and sounds of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Landmark London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark London Hotel London
The Landmark Hotel London
Landmark Hotel London
Landmark London
The Landmark London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landmark London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.