We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great hotel in a super location, reasonable price for London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amba Hotel Charing Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amba Hotel Charing Cross to your Saves list
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2N 5HX, England (Formerly Charing Cross Hotel) (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Saver - 15% off
Ranked #4 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great hotel in a super location, reasonable price for London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel very short notice based on good reviews on tripadvisor. We have to say that in this case we were really very very happy with our choice. Starting from a very friendly check-in by Claire, we got a very nice room. Modern functionality with subdued elegance. Very comfortable bed and well-equipped bathroom. We took the executive package which included breakfast, free mini-bar and lounge access. Breakfast was very enjoyable with attentive and again very friendly staff. Having the minibar free with sparkling wine, beer, drinks and some snacks was great after a long day. The lounge was rather forgettable and maybe the only part that was not great. The executive package was nonetheless very worth it. The location of the hotel was great, next to Trafalgar Square, National Gallery, and walking distance to many other attractions. An excellent experience which we really enjoyed )and we stay at many top hotels throughout the world for business and leisure). Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    90
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
309
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent 3 nights here, picked it's location as it's very close to the marathon finishline. All the staff were extremely efficient and very friendly. The room was very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all let me say, I am very picky and my husband's worst nightmare when staying in hotels....
Check in was friendly and faultless and we were offered a glass of sparkling wine or orange juice.
Our room (502) was a little on the small side and didn't have any drawer space. It was spotlessly clean, modern with nice décor. Complimentary slippers and robes with a mini bar offering coke, water, crisps, chocolate and fresh milk. Something for free in London - miracles do occasionally happen.
At Check-in we were asked if we were celebrating an occasion - it is my husband's birthday this coming weekend and mine in June - the reason for our trip. Shortly after we had settled into our room there was a knock on the door and we were given a complimentary bottle of bubbly and truffles also a hand written birthday card. I was blown away with the thoughtfulness of Elena for arranging this.
We had the buffet breakfast on Sunday which had plenty of choice and the food was tasty and hot.
All members of staff we encountered were very friendly.
Location was excellent - within walking distance to all Theatres and major 'touristy' attractions.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. We have been fortunate enough to have stayed in some wonderful hotels and I count this as one of them.
Already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very pleasant stay. Staff friendly and professional. I really like that there are milk in the mini-bar so that there is proper tea/cofee options. Location is great. Division of breakfast in breakfast could be better




  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Amba Charing Cross is amazing! The staff are so welcoming, helpful and kind. They made my Mum and I feel really special and went out of their way to make it an unforgettable experience. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need and more. The breakfast was delicious, as was our evening meal. Excellent location. Thank you for a wonderful weekend - I would love to come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay in London. I stayed with my husband and my 2 teenaged daughters for 10 nights in the Amba Hotel. We all felt very well, Service excellent and Staff very kind. Location of the Hotel is perfect! We could visit a lot of famous spots by walk. And the Tube is just "under" the hotel. I can recommend the Amba Hotel and next time I visit London, I will stay there for sure!

Room Tip: Executive Double Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently stayed for 2 nights, for business. Had previously stayed, but decided to use other venues in the area. Since being rebranded after a purchase, I had heard their had been improvements. All I can say is the staff were excellent. Rooms and facitlities 100% improvement. This is hotel is now operating at an excellent standard, with modern 'clean' facilites. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amba Hotel Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amba Hotel Charing Cross

Address: The Strand, London WC2N 5HX, England (Formerly Charing Cross Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amba Hotel Charing Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden, come and discover what a hotel stay should really be like at the New Amba Hotel Charing Cross, an oasis of calm housed within a beautiful, Grade II listed building. Every aspect of the hotel has been designed by our guests, including unlimited, fast, free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel, complimentary mini-bars and Nespresso™ machines in all rooms - all at no extra charge. Get more from your stay at the 4-star central London Amba Hotel Charing Cross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amba Hotel Charing Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charing Cross Hotel London
Charing Cross London
Thistle Charing Cross Hotel
Amba Hotel Charing Cross London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amba Hotel Charing Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.