We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amba Hotel Charing Cross

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amba Hotel Charing Cross to your Saves list
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2N 5HX, England (Formerly Charing Cross Hotel) (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Saver - 15% off
Ranked #4 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I had the most amazing time at this beautiful, elegant, and fantastic hotel. I mentioned to the hotel that we were celebrating an anniversary and Joyce in particular made our stay so special, it blew us away. There was champagne, snacks, and a card waiting in our room after we got back one night.

The hotel is located in central London right next to the tube and has a fantastic breakfast in the am.

Every aspect of this stay is perfect. We were so lucky to get to stay here and look forward to returning.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    86
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
304
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FAIRFAX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for a work conference, based on others' reviews of the service. Not only is the service top notch, but the hotel itself is beautiful, clean, and as many reviewers point out, in a GREAT location. It's a block from Trafalgar Square; Big Ben is nearby, the Thames is around the corner, and St James Park & Hyde Park are within walking or running distance. I ran every day from the hotel, either along the river or at the parks. (Don't try to run along the river on a weekend morning, unless it's really early, otherwise you won't be able to move!). Another perk, as many others have said, is the Nespresso machine in the room. I lived off of that, and when I got home, I bought one! And unlike in the U.S., this hotel provides you with a snack bar at no charge. Arriving late from the U.S. on Friday night, this was definitely a bonus! They provide water and other drinks too. There is great shopping right next door, tons of restaurants, and a busy night life all around. And surprisingly, the hotel was quiet at night -- I had no trouble sleeping. Next time I'm in London, this is my hotel! Love this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Buckingham wing (I think that's what it was called -- you cross over the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

During my stay for the London Marathon I stayed for 4 days in this hotel. Such a bless! Staff is very friendly and pro-active in service! Some staff even spoke Dutch! They make you feel at home, good in-room dinner menu's, nice bed and tv for relaxing. Public transport just a few steps away from your hotel, and the very best - very close after the finish of the London Marathon! If I visit London again, I will first look out for a reservation in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had great weekend at this hotel. So many attractions within walking distance, plus subway and train station below hotel. Hotel highlight Faulty Towers lunch on Saturday . Fantastic entertainment although food average. All hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were at rear on 6th floor, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an absolutely beautiful property in the perfect spot in London for making a walking tour of the city, but its uniqueness lies in its impeccable service. The front desk and concierge were helpful with every aspect of our trip, from restaurant recommendations and reservations to where we should cab and where we should tube.

And I have to single out Norbert from the concierge desk, who absolutely saved my butt by personally hand delivering the iPad I left behind in my room to the airport before my flight left the country. I didn't have time to backtrack so he actually jumped on the express train and met me at the airport...and arrived with my iPad and a smile on his face. I think that pretty much sums up the excellent staff at Amba Hotel Charing Cross.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Another unbelievable stay in the Amba hotel! Myself and my boyfriend stayed about 2 months ago and received the most incredible level of service from the hotel staff – so much so that we returned again for a second time.

Everything about the hotel is just perfect: The location, the rooms – large, quiet and comfy, the gym, the value for money and best of all the staff. They are all so friendly which makes you feel at home, and they went above and beyond to make our stay memorable!

A special thanks to Miguel, the reception manager who looked after us so well and made sure every detail of our trip was perfect!! I wouldn’t say I’m one to write many review on Trip Advisor but I want to let everyone know about this absolute gem of a hotel. Top class customer service and I’m genuinely so delighted they are ranked number 4 in London on Trip Advisor because they absolutely deserve it.

Thanks again for the amazing stay!! We’ll be back soon!

Room Tip: King Size Executive rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Considerable improvement on the former Charing Cross Hotel. The staff are excellent and the rooms very comfortable. Good idea the free minibar - soft drinks and snacks - and wifi is very fast - and free!!

Great location for theatres, the Embankment etc. I still think the prices are on the high side, even if this is London.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amba Hotel Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amba Hotel Charing Cross

Address: The Strand, London WC2N 5HX, England (Formerly Charing Cross Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amba Hotel Charing Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden, come and discover what a hotel stay should really be like at the New Amba Hotel Charing Cross, an oasis of calm housed within a beautiful, Grade II listed building. Every aspect of the hotel has been designed by our guests, including unlimited, fast, free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel, complimentary mini-bars and Nespresso™ machines in all rooms - all at no extra charge. Get more from your stay at the 4-star central London Amba Hotel Charing Cross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amba Hotel Charing Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charing Cross Hotel London
Charing Cross London
Thistle Charing Cross Hotel
Amba Hotel Charing Cross London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amba Hotel Charing Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.