We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel / Excellent Staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amba Hotel Charing Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amba Hotel Charing Cross to your Saves list
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2N 5HX, England (Formerly Charing Cross Hotel) (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel / Excellent Staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed at the Charing Cross for nine nights. From the moment you enter the Charing Cross it's prestiouge nature is very much apparent and the Grand Hotel seems bound by no limits in satisfying your senses. Most prominent of all however was Reception Assistant Ignacio Leria who trully made our stay at the Charing Cross a magical one. His outstanding customer service, incomparable hospitality and charismatic charm made our stay trully inspirational and enchanting. I would highly recommend the Charing Cross to all my friends and family and wish to commend the truly inspirational hospitatlity and proffesionalism offered up by Mr Leria. Thank you for giving us an unforgettable stay, we will definitely be back in the near future!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charing X, General Manager at Amba Hotel Charing Cross, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you had a fantastic stay at Charing Cross Hotel.

Thank you for posting your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor especially for highlighting the team’s warm hospitality and professionalism.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Glenn Hallam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    818
    226
    83
    45
See reviews for
448
1,171
124
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Yet again, this hotel proved that location and comfort are the most important things in a hotel stay. We had an executive double again which is situated over a walkway in the side part of the hotel. Again, very comfortable and quiet room. We did not use any of the facilities, but the staff are always helpful and polite.
Always a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charing X, General Manager at Amba Hotel Charing Cross, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your favourable comments on Trip Advisor following a repeat stay at Charing Cross Hotel.

I am delighted that you have another wonderful experience and should you require assistance with a future booking, please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly.

Once again, thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards,

Glenn Hallam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Ideal situation in the center of London. The Check-in and the concierge are perfect.
The rooms are so cosy....
The comments about the restaurant are a bit exagerated on the internet web site, but the view on the Strand is wonderful. Breakfast is perfect.
We go there as soon as we go back to London.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a marvelous time at Charing Cross Hotel.
The locaton was perfect for restaurants, shows and seeing the wondetful London sights. All the employees did all they could to make our trip enjoyable and hassel free.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and faced the street and the street noise never disturbed us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charing X, General Manager at Amba Hotel Charing Cross, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at Charing Cross Hotel.

Thank you for highlighting the team’s professionalism on your comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Please let us know when you are visiting again and we’ll ensure you have another comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,
Glenn Hallam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My daughter and myself stayed in the Charing Cross Hotel 6th-10th June. From the moment we set foot into the Hotel we were made to feel welcome. Staff were very courteous, no matter what time of day or night we passed through reception we were greeted. In the evening the marbled hall and sweeping staircase was lit with candles which was a lovely touch. We stayed in the standard double which was fine, bathroom looked a little tired but was very clean. Our room was at the back of the Hotel and was very quiet. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Would I stay here again? Most definitely. I have already recommended it to friends, however I would probably pay a little extra for the executive double which look gorgeous!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, we were put on the 6th floor, room 637 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charing X, General Manager at Amba Hotel Charing Cross, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your lovely comments posted on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you and your daughter had a wonderful time at Charing Cross Hotel.

Should you need assistance with a future booking, please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly and we’ll ensure that you have another comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,
Glenn Hallam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a couple of days in London and decided to stay at the Charing Cross Hotel.

We picked the hotel after reading the reviews here and also it's location. Not too far from most of the sites we wanted to check out.

The room was lovely. There were however a couple of issues throughout our stay. I had upgraded, so we should of received a bottle of sparkling wine and some strawberries with chocolate, these were unfortunately not delivered until twice calling down to reception, once before we went out for the evening and once when we got back, expecting them to be waiting for us when we arrived. By the time we did get them it was late and we were very tired, so we took the bottle home with us the next day and ate a couple of the strawberries in the morning.

There was also only one dressing gown in the room, but we were not to bothered about that to be honest.

The staff were friendly enough, and the whole place gives of the impression of professionalism and high standards, which other than the above incident was indeed how it was. Our room had decent enough views of London, we could just make out Nelsons Column if we tried hard enough, but we were not there for the views from our window, it was more of a pleasant base from which to set off around London from.

We went on the Millennium Wheel, did a bit of shopping in Oxford Street and was hoping to see a show in the evening, unfortunately there were no tickets left, so instead we found a nice little bar with outside seating next to Leicester Square and watched the world go by with a few drinks.

Overall the hotel was lovely and perfect for what we wanted, if it hadn't been for the small hiccup during our stay it would of been a 5 star rating. Good job Charing Cross keep it up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very Good Location. Building is old, resulting in a slight musty smell in long hallways, but everything was clean. Breakfast in hotel was good. Did not automatically provide washcloths in bathroom. Requested one the first day, but again it was not replaced automatically. Maybe not normally used in the UK?? No clock provided in room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amba Hotel Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amba Hotel Charing Cross

Address: The Strand, London WC2N 5HX, England (Formerly Charing Cross Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amba Hotel Charing Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden, come and discover what a hotel stay should really be like at the New Amba Hotel Charing Cross, an oasis of calm housed within a beautiful, Grade II listed building. Every aspect of the hotel has been designed by our guests, including unlimited, fast, free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel, complimentary mini-bars and Nespresso™ machines in all rooms - all at no extra charge. Get more from your stay at the 4-star central London Amba Hotel Charing Cross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amba Hotel Charing Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charing Cross Hotel London
Charing Cross London
Thistle Charing Cross Hotel
Amba Hotel Charing Cross London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amba Hotel Charing Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.