We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #479 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Suffolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed overnight on the day of the London Marathon as a Hilton Honors member we stayed on a reward night. The location of this hotel is excellent only 5 minute walk to Covent Garden. We took the car and parked opposite the hotel and it was £30 per night and this car park was secure. The room was of reasonable size and clean, it was also very quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that, but it all looked very nice. Would definitely recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    589
    292
    132
    67
See reviews for
242
515
70
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A great all round experience only slightly marred by poor range of food options in dining at lunch and evening meals. The staff are great and will do anything to assist you. The rooms are clean and adequately furnished, and the conference facilities are very well catered for. Positioned in the heart of London it is a perfect venue for business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to see that you are entirely satisfied with our team's performance. However, we are sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with some of the meals you had. Please note your opinion is taken seriously and we will share your feedback with our team.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to share any further details on this or any other subject. My email address is p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice, light , clean restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. The restaurant was very quiet and so not a lot of atmosphere, but we just wanted a quiet meal out together so that wasn't a problem for us. We only visited for a meal, so I cannot comment on the rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End.

We are thrilled to read that we met your expectations during your stay with us and will make sure to share your comments with our team for their great work.

We do hope to welcome you again at the hotel soon

Best regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within 15-20 minutes walk of Kings Cross, 10 minutes from theatre land and 5 minutes from Holborn tube, it also has many convenience stores locally. Our twin room was large, by far the largest we have ever stayed in London, with a large bathroom and a seating area in the bay window. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet despite being on the first floor at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was comprehensive with plenty of tables to accommodate everyone, so no queues. The cookie on arrival was the icing on the cake. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have just had a one night stay with my family in an executive room. The location of this hotel is great you can walk a few minutes to Holburn tube station and there are handy shops nearby such as a pharmacy, tescos, etc. the staff were excellent at checking in we checked in early with our bags which was great and very helpful. We did not have our evening meal here but the breakfast buffet was fantastic - definately come back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Having previously stayed at Hilton Docklands Riverside (which has bags of room and is very modern) we worried that this central London hotel would be a bit pokey, overpriced, uncaring, faceless etc., but we got a good price for a family room incl breakfasts, and the location meant we could do more things on foot this time. We had a 4 night stay and it was truly restful - much more than we anticipated. Here's why....

Catch any of 6 buses from Euston station, 10 mins max and you're at the front door. Check in was seamless, 3 people on the front desk, cookies all round. Family room was a good size - massive bed (super king?) for mum and dad and huge pull-out bed/settee for little fella already made up. Plenty of room for flying remote-control helicopter purchased during stay. Bathroom was massive; huge window, everything worked. All the usual tea, kettle, hair dryer, fridge, safe, ironing board etc. in place. Room looked out onto some sort of roof thing, but if you want a view - stay at the Shard! Absolutely silent at night - so quiet it was unnerving! Breakfasts were delicious, everything available - and the Breakfast staff were exemplary - personable, confident, friendly, helpful. Wi-fi worked well in the bar, but I actually got an excellent 3G reception in my room so no need to pay more. The little Tesco next door,and the pharmacy on the other next door, were equally appreciated, as were the bus stops either side of the road (Greenwich to the South,Camden Market to the north) but you could stroll to Embankment / Covent Garden / Picadilly / Chinatown in half an hour or so anyway. The evening meal was pricey, but delicious, the bar was pricey too, but that's London ( and there was that little Tesco next door.....). So many places to eat nearby, little garden squares to sit and chill in the sun. Lovely, bustling, safe-feel environment around the Holborn tube area.

Maybe it was the weather, but we were surprised at how pleased - and smug- we felt to return 'home' each evening. I won't be looking for anywhere else to stay next time we visit London.

Room Tip: Room 232 ticked all our boxes; roomy, end of a corridor, no noise at all, big windows, lots of light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton London- West End.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have provided us with such positive feedback. It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.
Best regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

There was a group of us who stayed here, all in all we have 5 rooms. On check in the reception staff only had us booked in for 4, after a while they found us another room and stored our luggage. My room was nice and clean but small. Some of the other rooms were alot bigger, and we all paid the same.
The bar next to reception is lovely and modern, and the hotel is in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to let our guests into the room before check in time as long as the room is ready. However we are always happy to store your luggage. Due to the nature of our building, many rooms do differ in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.