We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable - but small - rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #472 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Salisbury
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable - but small - rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed a number of times - always received by helpfully and efficiently by the Reception staff. Well appointed rooms - but all are quite small and can be a little cramped. Odd bar service in that (not too) late night service is managed by the reception staff. Only ever had breakfast here so can't comment too much on the food - but dining too is spacious and breakfast - although standard fare - is kept fresh.

Lunchtime Catering for the meeting rooms was very good - with high quality coffee/tea and biscuits etc as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    647
    330
    148
    76
See reviews for
279
579
78
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Got a room through a comparison website. Had to change the room due to noise coming from an outside fan. Changed rooms easily. Couldn't turn off the heating so the room was really hot during the night. lots of guests checked in at 3am which kept me awake for an hour. children were running up and down hallways. good location for london.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Although I am happy to hear that you liked our central location and that our Team arranged a quick change of room for you, I am truly sorry to hear that you experienced some noise coming from other Guests and an external fan unit. I was also sorry to hear that you had difficulty in adjusting the heating and we will be certain to get this matter addressed.

I do hope to have the oppprtunity to welcome you again and to provide you with the level of service that we are renowned for.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nice hotel, very welcoming lobby, didnt have to wait long to be checked in (plus you get a welcome cookie!). Paid £428 for a 2 night stay (inc breakfast). The double rooms are quite small but very clean and tiday and has all mod-cons such as ironing board, iron, tea making facilities. The breakfast was excellent, everything you could want. Very quick service for tea/coffee. The breakfast is help yourself so fill your boots for the day! The bar was very expensive in my opnion but the staff were very attentive. Excellent location in the west end.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review regarding your recent experience with us.

I was pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our clean and well-appointed rooms, the service and products served at breakfast and the friendliness of our Team at the bar.

We do hope to welcome you again on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutry, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and i stayed 4 days and three nights recently at this London Doubletree. We really enjkoyed the central loation and the service of the staff. Everyone was nice an accomodating. The room was clean and ample space. We'd stay here when we come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed two nights on business. The room was small but fine for one person and was very clean and looked newly refurbished. Had a meal from room service both nights, very good food. Breakfast is the usual expensive hotel price and I only had continental so I would have been better going for room only rate and going out to a nearby cafe for breakfast.
Ideal location for visiting the theatres.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back overlooking air con units - not much view but at least it was quiet with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at our hotel.

I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and that you liked our clean and refurbished room, the quality of our room service food and our central location.

I do hope to have the pleasure of being your host again on your next stay in London!

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Room was okay, expensive for what it was,not enough sugar and coffee in the room.
Breakfast is no better than a little chef,cold food and pastries were over cooked.
Very pleasant staff.
Accessability to theatre was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Although I was happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and our team to be friendly, I regret to learn that some room amenities were missing from the coffee/tea cabinet in your room and that you weren't satisfied with the quality of our food at breakfast. Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping and Kitchen Teams for them to ensure that our highest standards are always looked after, and that such rare situations do not reoccur.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next trip to London, and to provide you with the level of service that you are accustomed to.

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a wonderful time here, as a hen weekend.

Luxuriously finished rooms and pleasant throughout, great bar area for a drink or two, and easy to get to from Euston station or to get into Leicester Square etc.

Nice breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your delightful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at our hotel, and that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms, our Bar area and our central location. I have shared your positive observations with our Team to congratulate everyone for their great work!

I do hope to have the pleasureof being your host again the next time you are in London!

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#332 Romantic Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.