We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic staff and quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #475 of 1,065 Hotels in London
leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic staff and quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location was perfect, right on Southampton Row which is only a 10 minute walk to Oxford Street, and 1 mile away from Camden Town. This hotel has everything you would expect for a Hilton, including fitness centre, quiet rooms, cookies on arrival, helpful staff and great breakfasts! We would have liked a bigger room with a fridge but it didn't matter too much as in London you spend most of your time out exploring and sightseeing. Would definitely recommend and will be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    589
    290
    131
    67
See reviews for
241
513
70
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erskine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our 1st Anniversary trip and we were not disappointed. Asked for an upgrade due to our celebrations and would have received one had the air con not been broken in the only available double deluxe. Opted to stay with the standard with working air con but they did try to accommodate us, and delivered a very nice surprise to our room in the form of a scrummy chocolate cake with anniversary wishes. Lovely touch!
The room could have been a wee bit bigger but was well equipped with wardrobe, shelf and drawer space, flat screen tv, desk area, iron and board, hair dryer, coffee/tea facilities. The only thing missing was a fridge and couldn't see an ice machine anywhere, but we coped, with a cool bag and ice from nearby Sainsbury's :)
All the staff we encountered were efficient and professional. Food selection for breakfast was pretty good; full English, omelette, breads, meats, pastries, cereals, juices to name but a few.
All in all, for the price we paid, the accommodation, service, location and breakfast were most definitely worth it. Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Natster22,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your recent experience.

It is a real pleasure to see that you chose our hotel for such a special occasion and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Although I regret to hear that we weren't able to upgrade your room, I am very happy to learn that our team provided such an attentive service and that you found your room well appointed and liked our Wake Up DoubleTree breakfast buffet.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again the next time you are in London.

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the doubletree west end and we were blown away! The room was very fresh, clean, had everything we needed, beautiful decor, very quiet, great reception, really really easy speedy check in and check out process, we didnt have a drink in the bar however it did look great..I have pretty high standards and Id definitely visit this hotel again .. x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Thanks to the staff at Double Tree fro making our anniversary weekend very special! From the smiles and personal greeting on arrival ( no surly grunts at this hotel! ) to the cheery staff at breakfast and bar service, I was very impressed. Stayed in many city central hotels that have forgotten how to make customers feel welcome, this one is a refreshing change. Well done DoubleTree West End.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Tricia5,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel, and that our team provided the friendly service and attention that is the core of our hospitality values.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a near future occasion.

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Would stay again. Great location in London. Covent garden a short walk away, theatreland the same an oxford street within easy walking distance too:-) . Stayed Bed and breakfast and it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This place was just ok. Nothing bad. Nothing good. All very generic. Room was adequate. Staff were perfunctory. Was close to tube stations. Just didn't excite me as others in the chain have. I would stay there again if required but it won't be in a rush.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Holmesyboy_uk,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent experience with us.

Although I was happy to learn that you were fairly satisfied with our services, I regret that your recent stay didn't generate a higher enthusiasm on the high standards that we strive to provide to our guests.
As we would warmly welcome your opinion for improvements, please do not hesitate to contact Amandine, our Hotel Administrator on a.gilliotte@dtlondonwestend.com if you wish to share any comments or suggestions on how we could have exceeded your expectations.

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel since it was The Bonnington. It was always a nice quiet hotel. Now, however, it seems to be attracting tour groups and allowing them to set up check in tables in the lobby complete with woman with a clipboard who was a force unto herself. If I wanted to stay at a tourist hotel, the Royal National is a lot cheaper.

However, amid all the chaos, it was a relief to know that Hamid, Abder, and Victor will still greet you at the front door with broad smiles and offers of help, and that when you check in with Vova he is friendly, professional, and efficient as ever. When the A/C in our room was broken, Vova tried to have it fixed on a Friday night (impossible, unfortunately), found us another comparable room, and followed up after we had gotten into the room to make sure everything was OK.

Hadn't heard rumors of new owners, but they would be well-advised to keep and support long-standing staff who know the hotel inside-out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for your time taken to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that you have returned to stay at the hotel on several occasions since The Bonnington. Our central location does attract tourists and we are pleased to also receive groups that choose our hotel to visit London. We will be sure to continue to look after the comfort and satisfaction of all of our guests and to recognise the loyal and customer oriented team members that have provided such a friendly service throughout the years. I will be sure to share your review with Abder, Hamid, Victor and Vova and thank them for their hard work.

We do hope to welcome you again and provide you with the level of service that you are accustomed to.

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.