We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #473 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was very nice, very clean and had all the amenities you needed. I'm not sure if the doorman/concierge helps with bags or not, but he didn't offer and wasn't that friendly compared to the Reception staff. It's a bit of a walk to the tube station (5-10 minutes) which I would prefer to be closer, but it's not that far really. I can't comment on the price as it was for a business trip and someone else paid (so not sure of 'value for money') but I liked the place and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Ellebee1233,

Thank you kindly for your positive review and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, cleanliness and amenities, and I am delighted to learn that you would recommend us to other travellers.
I regret, however, that you found our concierge to be less attentive than expected and that you didn't receive any assisstance with your luggage. I will be sure to share your comments with our Head Concierge, Victor, for re-training purposes where required,

We do hope to welcome you at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End on a new occassion.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    646
    326
    148
    76
See reviews for
277
576
78
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a lovely evening at Doubletree on Saturday night, really appreciated the extra lengths the staff went to for us during our stay. The room was fairly snug however its in a good location and had the most comfortable hotel bed ive ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Londonclh,

Thank you for your great review.

I am very pleased to hear about your good experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
It is always great to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay and that our comfortable accommodation and friendly service provided the high quality of service that we are renowned for.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business trip to London. Warm, friendly welcome & the cookie was very tasty! Room was a decent size but my colleague had a smaller room where you couldn't walk round the bed as it was squashed against the wall.
There was no remote control for the TV in my room but this was sorted promptly by maintenance & I got a follow-up call from reception to make sure all was ok. It was disappointing that the bin in my room hasn't been emptied & during the hunt for the remote control, I spotted a dirty tissue under the bed.
I used the gym which was small but adequate & the breakfast was good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Hilcam,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

I was happy to hear that you witnessed the friendly welcome provided by our team members and that you enjoyed the delicious DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie upon arrival.

However, I regret to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with the size and cleanliness of the rooms and would like to assure you that the later was immediately addressed to our Head Housekeeper for investigation and take the appropriate actions to ensure that such exceptional situations do not re-occur.
Due to the historical nature of the building, our rooms do vary in size. However, it will be our pleasure to ensure that you are offered a more spacious room on a new stay with us.
Please feel free to contact Amandine, our Hotel Administrator, on a.gilliotte@dtlondonwestend.com, and we will be sure to give our best attention to every detail of your stay.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ive stayed here à few times now and really like it, its more individual than à lot of Hiltons and the service is generally very good. THE breakfast is amazing. Sometimes the bar/lounge service needs à polish though. Ive never had à bad stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you kindly for such a great review.

I am very pleased to learn that you have had such a good stay, and that we always provide you with the same level of service that you are accustomed to on your stays with us. It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoy our Wake Up DoubleTree breakfast and especially the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members.

As a returning guest, we greatly value your custom and are delighted to know that we have provided you with the high standards in service and accommodation that we are renowned for.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to London!

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Bought a groupon voucher for an afternoon tea there. there was no greeting at the entrance of the bar area although there was a menu stand there.We had to make our way to the bar to say we had a reservation. The greeting was poor. Not the standard I was expecting from Hilton at all. We were asked to go to any table... again, very poor service. The sparkling wine to start was too sweet. Not what I was expecting at all. We were then offered herbal tea in tea bags... shocking. We were told that Twinnings standard teas... again... shocking. I would really expect tea leaves...
The scones on the top plate looked like they were straight from the pack from a supermarket and powdered with a bit of icing sugar to make them look homemade. Who puts icing sugar on scones?? the sandwiches had a bit of crust left on the side. And the taste was just nothing special. The cakes: industrial types... we were supposed to have tea cakes (Whatever that is) and fruit cake. We didn't see any of that. We were not asked at any time if everything was ok. I had to go to the bar to ask for a top up of my green tea and when they came twice to pick up the empty cups and plates, they never asked if we had a good experience. Extremely disappointing. Although we only paid £29 for 2 through groupon, I would still expect a great service and good quality food and tea. The groupon voucher should not matter. I had a brilliant experience at another hotel and very good products as well as a tea menu rather than a display box full of tea bags. all in all: very poor.
and there was used cotton bud under one of our seats...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience. T team and I are extremely sorry to have failed to meet expectations on this occasion. As discussed, relevant measures have been taken to improve the quality of the Afternoon Tea further and we will certainly learn from this unfortunate experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where we will have the opportunity of making matters up to you.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Best regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend (2 nights) during early feb and we had a fantastic trip. Having been to the doubletree hotel in Chester many times, we chose the doubletree hotel in London based on our love of the hotel in Chester and we were not disappointed. Everything down to the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the standard of the hotel was great.

The hotel.
The hotel is decorated to a high standard and gives of a contemporary, modern feel. The staff are very friendly and are keen to make you feel welcome. There is an impressive lobby and bar/seating area which takes your breath away when you walk into the hotel.

Check-in.
We arrived at the hotel (2pm) and was allowed to check in straight away. We had already informed the hotel that we were staying because of a special occasion and were pleased when they upgraded our room and offered us late checkout for free. The manager came out to greet us and of course we received our warm cookies. A really nice touch :)

Room.
We were located on the 3rd floor and the room was really nice and cosy. A lot of the reviews on here state that the rooms are too small but we hardly spent any time in there but had everything we needed to make our trip great. We had a problem with the sink dripping when we first arrived but we informed reception and it was fixed by the time we returned to our room. Customer service was just great at this hotel. On the actual day of my birthday we came back to the room to a cake with happy birthday written on it and fresh fruit. This was a really nice touch from the hotel. Fantastic service. We had a comfortable nights sleep after a long day sightseeing. Just what we needed.

Breakfast
We payed extra for breakfast during our stay and it was very nice and convenient. There was plenty of choice and you could go up as much as you wanted. There was everything from hot breakfast to continental breads and muffins. Cereals and fruit. It was just what we needed to start our busy days in London.

Location
The hotel was in a great location and situated near to holborn station. Central to most places of interest. Make sure you buy a day ticket for zones 1 and 2 if you are seeing all the sights as we got around everything we wanted to see on the tube. There is a Tesco metro right next door to the hotel for any snacks or drinks which was handy. Also a Costa a couple of doors down.

Overall we had a great stay in this hotel and had a fantastic trip to London. We would stay in this hotel again or try out another hilton doubletree area in London. Anyone thinking of booking this hotel. Book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Love_summer21.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is a real delight to learn that your experience with us was such a success, and that you enjoyed our welcoming décor, accommodation and the friendly service of our team. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with everyone on the team for the good work.

We hope to have the pleasure of being you hosts again in a new future.

Kind Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

six of us spent a weekend in the wonderful Double tree hilton hotel on the 8th to 10th March and i have to say we were very impressed as soon as we walked in the hotel door. The staff that checked us in were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. The room was spotless and had all the mod cons you would expect from a top hotel.The breakfast and the evening meal we had was also first class. As for the location we walked all of 5 mins and we were in the heart of Leicester square and the west end. The British museum is also a short distance away. We will definitely be going back again if only to get another run down of all the good places around the hotel from Peader the manager

john & ann marie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear John and Ann Marie,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms, the high quality of our breakfast and evening meal and the convenient location of the hotel.
I was specially happy to learn about our team's friendly welcome, and will be sure to share your review with everyone.

I look forward to being your host again in a near future.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
#345 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.