We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #427 of 1,073 hotels in London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through theatre breaks. We arrived early and we were able to check in straight away - the staff were polite and helpful. Our room was a twin and was spacious and clean. The hotel is close to the British Museum and a short walk from covent garden - so a great base for exploring! Breakfast was fantastic - a huge choice. I will definitely return here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Many thanks for such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast, the comfort of our rooms and the friendliness of our team. I will ensure to pass on your comments to our team for their great work. We hope to have the pleasure of being your host again when you return to London.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    534
    269
    112
    57
See reviews for
229
464
66
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to this venue for dinner on New Years Eve. The food was superb and the staff were very friendly and attentive but not intrusive. Can't wait to go back and would recommend it to anyone wanting a central location to enjoy London.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback. It is a real pleasure to hear you enjoyed your dinner experience with us on New Year’s Eve and that our food and service was of a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently visited for our daughters 6th Birthday treat - we stayed in a family room on the 6th floor. From check in to check out everything was seamless and I cannot report one single complaint. We are a family of 3 and were given two King sized beds which was magical for our little girl. The bar area by the lobby is beautiful, very contemporary, good menu and given the location very reasonable. Our room was spacious for the 3 of us, very well set up and we had all we needed even our cookies. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. We were within a 10 min walking distance of Oxford Street and on the way you pass lots of lovely little shops. You also pass the British Museum (free) and some nice bars and coffee shops, it is a beautiful area. The NCP Car Park is just down the road (5mims walk) parking was £30 for 24 hrs and all very secure. We had a magical time, shopping, dining and enjoying a few drinks and will certainly be staying at this hotel for future visits. Many Thanks to Doubletree by Hilton for making it so wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe family room with no views but given the location we didn't expect one. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the facilities as well as our fantastic location. We hope to have the pleasure of being your host again in the near future and if I may be of assistance with future reservations, please contact me directly on p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Best regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On arrival at 2pm we orders some lunch in the bar which was excellent. I was impressed with the staffs' attitude and the value considering we were just off the strand.

Our room was a double deluxe, great bed, nice room overall but we were low down at the front and cons midnight the continuing traffic hampered our sleep after a hard days sightseeing.

Overall I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel but try and get a room in a quieter location

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Thank you also for recognising our caring team members. We will certainly be delighted to welcome you back and ensure that you are allocated a higher floor on your next stay.
Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Best regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our room was clearly designed as a single as the double bed was actually up against the wall on two sides which meant that I had to climb over my recumbent parter in order to get in and out. Probably about 4 feet clearance between the other two sides of the bed and the room walls so only very small cats could be swung if needed. One broken reading lamp, wiring on towel heater in bathroom secured in place with a lot of duct tape (not sure that this is actually legal in a bathroom?) and generally a few chips and scrapes on the walls, doors and sills.
Nothing wrong enough to kick up a stink about, but enough to mark it down to an average rating on Tripadvisor on account of the relative expense vs quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a full sized double, not a converted single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay with us. Please allow me to apologise profusely for failing to meet expectations on this occasion and rest assured that the highlighted issues will be addressed immediately. Due to the historical nature of our building, our rooms do vary in size, but it would be our pleasure to ensure that you receive a bigger room the next time you decide to stay with us. Please contact me directly at p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com when you are planning your next trip to London and I will ensure that every aspect of your stay is given the highest attention.

We do hope to have the opportunity of being your host again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I recently booked a table for 4 as a treat to my nieces for doing well in their exams. Last year a friend and I had afternoon tea at the Hilton London Green Park, where we offered an excellent service, where our special request of halal sandwiches was acknowledged. Moreover, there was excellent customer service with generous refills and the atmosphere was brilliant. In this vein, I had booked this afternoon tea with the Doubletree by Hilton. Although, the staff were helpful in accomodating our drinks request, I was hoping for a Hilton inspired afternoon. However, I have now realised that just because the name Hilton is in the overall name of this hotel, sadly, the service matched nowhere near. For £50, the four of us had enough tea but sadly nothing else. Very disappointing afternoon.

HNS

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Huma_23,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent Afternoon Tea experience with us. I will be certain to address your comments with our Food & Beverage department to ensure that the service provided is consistently up to the highest standards.

We do hope to have the opportunity to make matters up to you by welcoming you back on another occasion and providing the level of service that you are accustomed to.

Yours Faithfully,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived in a group of four we were made welcome. The desk staff could not have been more helpful. They were smart, efficient and did everything with a smile.

The room: Clean and comfortable although for a four star, a wee bit small. And as with many hotels in December the room temperature was high, although the air con soon brought that down to a comfortable level. The rooms were equipped with tea and coffee facilities and an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was very clean and well equipped.

The only meal we had was breakfast that consisted of the usual options and choices, and produce was of a very high standard.

The location is very good.

We only stayed for one night but all agreed we would be happy to return. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity of being your host again soon. In the meantime may I take this opportunity of wishing you a very Happy New Year from all of us at the DoubleTree by Hilton London-West End

Best regards


Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#286 Family Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, LondonMarketing.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.