We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good property with decent sized rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #462 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good property with decent sized rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for five nights. The internet connection is good. Rooms are of decent size by London standards. Very close to Holborn Tube station, and connected to buses in almost all directions across the city of London. Excellent breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panneerselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable time with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you were happy with our internet connection, our rooms and location, and that you experienced our great breakfast and the helpfulness of the staff.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next travel to London
Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel, smart, stylish with good ambience. Rooms ok, beds comfortable, heating based on dodgy aircon but ok, only one pillow each but quiet night. As a Doubletree a let down. Staff hardly speak English, no cookies, exec lounge overrun by drunken freeloaders and kids and concierge on holiday. It's a staff issue. Otherwise this would be a reasonable Hilton experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveDirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End. It is nice to know that you found our hotel to have a nice atmosphere and our rooms to be comfortable. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by other elements, such as our staff and executive lounge. I am also concerned by the fact that you didn’t receive our iconic welcome cookie. Let me assure you that the situations that you witnessed are only an exceptional poor reflection of our usual high standard. Please know that I have taken your comments and addressed them to the right departments for re-training purposes to prevent this from re-occurring.

Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any further comments or suggestions.

We hope to have opportunity to be your hosts again and provide you with the level of service that we are renowned for.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for a single night on a trip to London. Room was a good size, good value for money, clean, modern and up to date. The staff were as helpful as staff in any London hotel ever are.

The bed/ pillow combination was very comfortable and unusually for me I slept well.

The location for me was ideal as it wasn't too far from either Kings cross or Trafalgar Square where my meeting was- 10 minutes in a cab even in morning rush hour.

All in all a comfortable & more than satisfactory stay

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe double room which was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and were happy with our great location, hotel and room features and the kindness of our staff.

I do hope that we will soon welcome you back in our hotel, and provide you with the comfort and great service that we are renowned for.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nice hotel located in the west end of london, very clean hotel and pleasant staff. Nice out of the way bar located on the 2nd floor w/a interesting display of whiskey bottles. The main floor features a nice looking restaurant w/a tasty menu. Apple computers in every room. To catch the tubes about a 20 minute walk. 20 minute walk to Big Ben, Parliament and Westminster Abbey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Me and my other half stayed here on a Saturday night. We were met by a very friendly receptionist who gave us our room card straight away and some cookies. The room was small but nice, modern and clean. I heard quite a lot of banging during the night I presume would be the lift as were right next to it. When we went for breakfast we had to wait some time to be seated. We were not offered any tea or coffee. We had to ask a passing waiter. There were no plates available, or glasses for juice. We had to wait a substantial time for these to become available. The biggest problem was that a lot of food and drink had ran out and was not replaced. Because of these issues with the breakfast I don't think we would stay here again. It we compare to a premier inn we found there breakfast is much better and obviously much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your insightful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your room’s cleanliness and decoration, and that our reception welcomed you with their usual friendliness. However, I was concerned to learn about all the issues that you experienced at breakfast, having to wait for service and the food not being replenished. I have raised that concern with the relevant department for them to improve and re-train where necessary. Please let me assure you that the issues witnessed are a complete exception to our usual high standards, as our guest’s comfort and satisfaction are our top priority.
We hope to have the opportunity of being your hosts the next time that you are in London, and to provide you with the great and rewarding experience that we strive to give to our guests.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked this through late rooms and it was excellent value at £70.00 room only. A bit of a walk from the tube but very central location great access to sights and attractions and of course the west end. The room was very nicely decorated & when you check in they give you warm cookies!! Room was quite small but really lovely, comfy bed, pillows were ok. No iron in room but housekeeping brought one up in no time. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you had a chance to try our delicious cookie and comfortable Sweet Dreams Experience.

We do hope to welcome you back the next time that you are in London,

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTBOURNE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Didn't have the best experience earlier this year when we stayed at the Hotel. The manager dealt with my comments well and I think appropriately- he was honest and din't fob me off which I respect!. We were offered another stay and were upgraded to an executive room which was lovely, clean, with fresh fruit on arrival. The champagne on ice for our anniversary which was promised never materialised but- as there were other generosities i.e. free drinks in the executive lounge with canapes for 2 hours in the early evening- and our non staying guests whom we were meeting were allowed to join us - made up for this.I was shocked on night 2 to see a fellow guest pinch an opened bottle bottle of sparkling from the lounge and hide it under his coat before taking it to his room - People like this spoil these things for others. ALL staff members were polite, corteous and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, a good choice and well prepared. Only downside- was we had to ask Maid to clean our room as we had been overlooked andd therefore had to vacate the room when we could have crashed out - however it was done immediately. We would return -great location x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYHEV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much for staying again and for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am so pleased that things were very much to your standard on this occasion. We look forward to being your host again in the near future.

Best regards,


Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#323 Family Hotel in London
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing