We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #404 of 1,071 hotels in London
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located hotel with old fashion and classical but comfortable furnishing. Everything is average in this hotel nothing special including service . Ideal for 2-3 days business visit stays if your meeting place is in walking distance ...

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you have found our hotel comfortably furnished and ideally located, and that you would recommend it to business guests.
As we strive to provide excellence in service and accommodation and our guests satisfaction is our top priority, we would greatly welcome the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations on this new occasion.

Please do not hesitate to contact us the next time you plan to travel to London, and we will make sure that all aspects of your stay are given the best attention.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    500
    227
    97
    50
See reviews for
175
413
60
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very welcoming reception staff, unable to check into room till late as rooms still being cleaned,but left bags and went out to sightsee. The room was small, but very well appointed very confortable bed. The downstairs bar and lounge was comfortable and lovely to sit and enjoy a drink before going out for the evening. We got this on a good deal so for a London Hotel was on the whole worth the money. One tip though if you can get your own drinks from the bar do as they put a surcharge on waiter service of 12%, and check even if you do get your own as when we checked the receipt they had added this dispite our going to the bar, in fairness they took this off but we had to ask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you kindly for your comments on your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and we will make sure to pass on your comments to our reception team. I am also very happy that you found our bar and lounge to be a great place to relax on your evening at the hotel. We have taken your remarks on our billing error on board and will make sure to remain attentive to prevent this issue.

We look forward to being your host again in a near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us the next time you plan to travel to London.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Doubletree more by luck than judgement having gone for a Lastminute.com Secret Hotels offer and picking up the room for ~£100. Check in was brief as we were passing and had to get to another part of London but wanted to drop our bags. Despite a queue there were ample staff and we were processed quickly and given two keys, we were told our bag would be kept at reception, however on our return later neither the concierge nor reception could locate it, it turned out they had been hyper efficient and had a bag sent to the room which was great but it would been good if we didn't need to go up and check the room to find that out!

The room was nice, a little compact but that's to be expected with London and everything we needed was there and it was clean and well decorated. However on laying on the bed for a while I noticed a noise like someone moving furniture next door, this was intermittent but relentless, I presumed (wrongly) that they were rearranging a room after a conference on the floor above but the noise continued. Eventually I went off to investigate and it was the lift next to our room grinding in the lift shaft and opening and closing the doors which convinced me if we didn't move rooms we'd be kept awake all night.

On speaking to the reception staff they graciously upgraded us to a superior room although I have to say if I had paid substantially more for this I'd have been disappointed with just an extra couple of seats and another TV.

On returning later we found the lift next to our room had been put out of order whether this was down to my complaint or another reason I don't know.

The new room was quiet, check out was quick and painless the next day and all in all it wasn't a bad stay. My over all impressions were good despite the room issues and every member of staff I encountered was smiley, helpful and seemed genuinely concerned that we had a good stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient. I am also delighted that you appreciated your room’s decoration and cleanliness. However, I am sorry that your room’s proximity to our elevator resulted in noise disturbance, and that despite our team’s efficiency in taking your luggage to your room we seemed to have lost track of it. This reflected a punctual lack of coordination and we welcome your highlighting of this issue to prevent it in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to the hotel and provide you with the high standard of service that we are renowned for.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having battled the wind and rain of a typical November day we arrived an hour early for our booked afternoon tea, this was no problem we could either sit and relax until our allocated time or eat straight away. We decided on the latter after freshening up in the very nice restrooms. After a short wait we were offered a selection of teas, my husband chose a breakfast tea and I opted for coffee as a non-tea drinker. The drinks did arrive approximately 15 minutes before the food which meant I had finished mine and had nothing left to have with my sandwiches and pastries. The sandwiches were average. The strawberry tarts and scones were lovely, french fancy and eclair just ok. My only criticism was that we were not asked if we would like more tea/coffee. Eventually my husband asked if he could have more tea which arrived a few minutes later but I was not asked if I required more coffee and I did not like to ask (silly on reflection). I was left feeling as if I were not a valued guest which is a shame as this small thing would stop me recommending the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Don't feel afraid to ask for more tea or coffee!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent experience at our Afternoon Tea.
We are pleased to hear that you received a good welcome from our team and that you enjoyed our tarts and scones. However, we truly regret that you had to wait longer for your food to arrive and that you found some treats to be disappointing. We are especially concerned about the fact that our service made you feel neglected. We have taken your comments very seriously to investigate, correct and improve where necessary, and ensure that the service and quality of our food offer is consistently excellent.

Please accept our deepest apologies for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion, and let us assure you that the service that you witnessed is a complete exception to our usual high standards.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the level of service that you are accustomed to.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The check in on arrival at the hotel was very slow, with quite a queue. This could have been a lot quicker if the staff had not insisted into pressing everyone repeatedly to join the Hilton Honors program. Non means no guys!

The room itself faced out onto Southampton Row and was on the first floor. Despite double galzing this was incredibly noisy and made sleeping almost impossible. The room was very small with no where to open my case except for on the bed. The room was clean and in good condition.

The WiFi was very slow and did not work with an IPad at all (not a problem I have had before). Considering they charge 15 GBP per day, you would think the WiFi would be faster - this is a premium price.

Breakfast was OK, but quite depressing in the basement. This was made slightly more pleasant due to thin walls and a neighbouring meeting. The looks on people's faces when they suddenly received a round of applause from the next door room was priceless.

All things considered the hotel does not really live up to the Doubletree brand and there are plenty of hotels within a 5 minute walk that give you more for less.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Southampton Row
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

I am pleased to hear that you were happy about your room cleanliness and features. However, I sincerely regret that we failed to exceed your expectations on a number of areas that you have brought up. As a historical building, our hotel has maintained its original structure and our bedrooms do vary in size. I also am very sorry that your rest was disturbed by the street noise. London being quite a dynamic city at night, street noise can be hard to completely suppress on such a central location.
We have taken your comments on board to present and discuss with our team, as we welcome our guest’s feedback to constantly improve our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly the next time you plan to travel to London, and we will make sure that all aspects of your stay are given the best attention.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is on the Picadilly tube line so you can board a train at Heathrow and ride until Holborn Tube Station in London's West End. The hotel is a couple of short blocks away. Our room was comfortably fitted out with lots of throw pillows and the requisite flat screen TV. The switch to the heated towel rack in the bathroom was broken as was one of the bed reading lights. I selected the hotel because of its proximity to the British Museum. In fact, it was so close that I not only visited the museum on the day of our arrival (Sunday) but also at opening on Monday. We also walked to the embankment and through the British Law Courts and on to the Tate Modern, crossing on Blackfriars Bridge (The Millenium Bridge was closed for inspection). It was perhaps a 20-minute walk to the Thames. The hotel has a very nice lobby and bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location to be a perfect suit for your plans. We are very glad that you loved the comfort of your bedroom. We have, however, taken note of the defective items that you have kindly highlighted, and have addressed the matter with our engineering team to investigate and repair. Rest assured that such issues are a complete exception to our usual high standards.

We do hope to welcome you back at our hotel on your next visit to London.

Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel & staff were better than expected so the stay was great up until the point that the cleaner knocked on the door ( and kept on knocking ) to see if we were in as she obviously did not check with reception to see if we had checked out! Just what you need after a night out. We then heard her do the same to the other rooms down the corridor. Shame.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and that we exceeded your expectations. However, we truly regret that your great experience was somehow marred by our housekeeping team knocking early on your door. We have extensively addressed this particular issue with our team to prevent it from reoccurring, and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.
We do hope to welcome you back as our guest, and to provide you with the level of service that we are renowned for.
Best Regards

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Luxury Hotel in London
#277 Family Hotel in London
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.