We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service and noone seems know what they do.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #473 of 1,049 Hotels in London
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very poor service and noone seems know what they do.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Dont get me wrong we are not picky at all but when you know better what it should be than hotel staff -it is worrying. Very poor managing and directing staff thats for sure it seems noone knows what they doing aand if you approach them for an answer as many people you ask as many asnwers you get, pick the one you like best.
We arrived at the hotel 2-30 pm and was told our room not going to be ready for another hour or so which wasnt a problem we left a luggage and went for a walk around . when we got back we were told that we cant get an upgrade as a gold HHonors member because there was no rooms available fair enough but when we were shown our room the air con didnt work and with temperature over 30 degrees it was a sauna . We simply refused to have an air fan ( at £170 a night ) so when i went downstairs they magically found executive room which originally wasnt available. ground floor room decent size clean and tidy but nothing special ( beware even if you put sign "do not disturb" the maid can walk in anytime as we experienced it < so put chain on the door too . next morning breakfast was average cant think of anything special apart from tasteless coffee whats more next morning breakfast one of the gentlemens told us as a gold member we had to pay £5 for breakfast for some reason ( didnt have to day before) . Wi-Fi supposed to be free but one night reception told there is no such a thing as free wi-fi in the hotel but the following day another person gave us free access for entire stay , do you get what i mean? everyone does what they think! no training of staff ! at all change the manager!!! .
We stayed in almost every single one of hilton hotels in london and most definately we wont be back to this one.

Room Tip: think about different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    647
    327
    148
    76
See reviews for
278
576
78
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

So disappointing for a HIlton. Rubbish service and a poor excuse for a 4* hotel. Would not stay here again for the price, would definitely look elsewhere for my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinKlarenbach, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
I will use your general comments to ensure remedial action is taken across all our service areas where necessary.

Yours Sincerely,
Paul FitzGerald
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I loved this hotel! It's still a work in progress, but well worth the stay. Delicious cookies, cute rooms that are very comfortable, excellent breakfast buffet, a bar. You can walk to the British Musuem, the Charles Dickens musuem, Oxford Street, Dominion Theater (We Will Rock You), Russell Square. Close to Euston Station, buses, and the tube. I highly recommend this property. It's only going to get better. Especially good for Hilton Honors customers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinKlarenbach, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
Your comments will be a source of great encouragement for our hard working team. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Paul FitzGerald
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. I had booked a Queen room and expected this. Instead I got a double bed that was pushed up against a wall and if two people had shared this room, one would have to climb over the other to get into and out of bed. What is more the room was at the bottom of a dingy passage way with the carpet coming apart as was the carpet in the bedroom. No minibar! The staff were unwelcoming and unfriendly every time at reception and concierge.The restaraunt staff were always lovely. The location though was fantastic as were the bathroom amenities. Definitely not worth the price I paid and will definitely make me reconsider using a Hilton brand in the future. What is more I book and paid on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. At checkin they did not have this on record, thank goodness for my confirmation email had with me but was told dinner was only for the first night! Then at the restaraunt I was told that I was limited to $20.00 for dinner! This was not specified anywhere on the online booking system!

Room Tip: Book a King if you are expecting anything bigger !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinKlarenbach, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I note you were given a queen bedded room as booked. I'm sorry you felt the room size was not what you expected.
We do not have minibars in any rooms and do not state anywhere that we do.
I'm sorry your found some of our team to be unwelcoming. This is by no means the norm and I will use your comments to identify areas of improvement.

Yours Sincerely,
Paul FitzGerald
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We spend 3 nights at this hotel and were quite disappointed. This is not what we expected of a member of the Hilton Group. Our primary complaint was that the place had an air of continuous construction to replace a dingy internal appearance, and the hotel operator was non existent. We missed several important calls because the hotel phone kept on ringing unanswered. Overall, we felt that Hilton and its committed clients deserve better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ylivieska, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We spent 5 night in this hotel. Had booked a superior room and got a decent one, basic, small room, clean and ok for our purposes. But after unpacking the things were supposed to get a lunch we found out tht we couldn't open the door, it was looked so that couldn't be opened inside the room. Then there was no telephone to call help and the remote control of the tv didn't work either. I had to call help with my cell phone to get out of the room. Well, got a second room, where the tv didn't work at all, and changed then third time in two hours the room, every time unpacking and repacking all our things. The third room was very nice executive room, but there the interenet acces did not work. As I complained about this issue, I was told a blond lady in the reception, speakin with accent, that the access would be now complimentary as we had had so many problems arready in the hotel, and she gave us a special access code. Well, when leaving the hotel they charged us of using the internet and the same lobbylady denied ever saying anything about the complimentary access. Not big money, but we felt we were cheated.
The staff was otherwise helpful and nice, but last 50 trips arounf the world I haven't had all together so many problems in one hotel. Really can't recommned this to anybody but recommend to avoid this hotel, it's not worth your money.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinKlarenbach, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments, which we are aware fully of, from your stay. Having been in further correspondence with you, we appreciate that your stay was certainly not incident free and I know we have expressed our apologies.
I would extend our invitation to you to visit again when all refurbishment works are complete so that we could prove to you how we can get things right - which is an ever increasing majority of the time.

Yours Sincerely,
Paul FitzGerald
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

While this hotel is still undergoing some renovations, it is a very comfortable stay. The staff are really nice and accomodating, from a warm cookie on arrival to great bar staff. while the rooms border on tiny, they are very well equiped. it is not plush or 5* by any means but it is comfortable and pleaseant to stay in. Found all rooms very quiet at night - a plus.Having been in this hotel 3 times ( formerly the bonnington hotel) I was not disappointed, and would recommend this, particularly for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: booking.com gives options for room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinKlarenbach, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your valuable comments.
It is very encouraging to the team to get feedback such as yours and to know that you had a pleasant stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Paul FitzGerald
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
#345 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - West End England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.