We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great value, super breakfast, helpful staff and lovely and clean :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle City Barbican to your Saves list
Thistle City Barbican
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£89 (GBP)
Ranked #611 of 1,049 Hotels in London
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, great value, super breakfast, helpful staff and lovely and clean :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family (husband and 2 teenage children) stayed for 4 nights starting on the 29th July. Well what can I say but fantastic ! We were on the 4th floor and there were 2 lifts available. We had amazing views of the Shard and Gherkin. The family room we had was very spacious and had two seperate areas with 2 tvs. The room was cleaned daily to a perfect standard.
The staff were very warm and helpful. The breakfast staff did a great job and even tho very busy they kept you topped up with tea/ coffee and were always checking all ok. The breakfast itself were plentiful with lots and lots of choice including freshly made omlettes as well as full cooked breakfast, fresh fruit, toast, pastries and cereals.
The hotel also has a pool/sauna/jacuzzi (a big bonus) which we used twice and found to be very clean.
We think this is a great hotel for anyone visting London. We carnt fault anything and reccomended it strongly ! We will definitely be staying again very soon :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    557
    535
    315
    328
See reviews for
181
431
221
724
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watchfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Where to start ... clueless desk staff, faulty lift (20 mins from the 4th to the ground floor), noisy air conditioning, trying to palm us off with an inappropriate room (double room crammed with camp beds being described as a 'family room'). They did move us, but left my husband to fight with a faulty sofa bed for ages before acknowledging that it simply didn't function. Expensive! Inadequate facilities in the room. I was expecting Basil Fawlty to appear at any moment!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1night and was a bit worried after reading all the bad reviews but was very surpised we got our room which was a premuim double on the 5th floor and the room was very nice and had everything we needed the only thing i could fault was the cubboards was a bit dated the bed was lovely and comfortable and had a great nights sleep .
The breakfast in the morning was very good with plenty of choice all in all we enjoyed our stay and would return when we need a hotel in london.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Hunthrey
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your very positve feedback which we will share with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were a bit nervous about this hotel having booked it through a pay before you know where your staying deal. There are many average or poor reviews on here that didn't help. For us it was great we received a warm welcome from the staff and our room was great. Spotlessly clean and the air con was so cold we had to turn it off! Slept like babies as there is little traffic in this area. Breakfast was fab and the lady making omelettes was very chatty while I waited and I appreciated her friendliness. Word of caution the area seems a little bit run down. There is a boarded up building not far away. This made us a little nervous coming back at 11-45 at night but we were fine. It pays to be cautious in any city I'm sure. We will stay again if the price is right. We might do five nights here next year. We didn't have time for the spar but took a look and it seemed very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Gary 488
It was great to read that you e njoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your positve feedback which we will share with the team
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrived with wife and 2 children. Asked for connecting rooms which receptionist agreed to. Got to rooms both were smelly and hot and not interconnecting, just next door to each other. No air con, very hot night so left window open. Noisy drunks from hotel bar sitting outside til 4.30am shouting and keeping people awake. No attempt from hotel to deal with this until I complained at 4.30am. Perhaps they make too much money from the bar to worry about this. Complained on departure this morning. Very sorry but not much can be done was the response. RUBBISH. never had this issue at any other hotel before. Other hotels stop serving people that are rowdy and disturb other guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stopped here as part of a company booking for 5 nights and can find very little to fault it. The lobby area is impressive and there are two bars and one restaurant to choose from serving a good variety of food although as with all hotels its a little pricey and you can get better value in the local restaurants. However this is nearly always the case with hotels and is no means unique to the Thistle City Barbican! The drink prices are quite reasonable though compared to other hotels.

My room was a standard twin room on the 6th floor. Its quite small but had everything I needed including a good size tv and tea and coffee facilities. The lack of A/C may occasionally be a problem on the rare occasion the UK enjoys a heatwave so that should be remembered.

However what sets this hotel apart is the service, its genuinely very good, with staff who seem happy to serve you and sort out any issues you may have, whether the fault of the hotel or not. The gym facilities are also very good for this type of hotel. The pool is small, but there is well equipped fitness and weights room as well as a sauna and steam room. The changing facilities were spotless as was the whole hotel. Breakfast was also extremely good with a large help yourself choice.

As a slight note of caution though, the location of the hotel is not brilliant. Its area isn't terribly affluent and does go quiet at night. Its also a good 10 minute walk to the nearest Underground station which should be remembered if travelling alone. I never felt threatened but I was always with other people. I'm sure few people would ever encounter problems but its worth baring in mind if returning late to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Burnley Kev
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thiste City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your great comments about the team which we will share with them.
Thank you for your feedbacik and recommendation . We look forward to welcoming you back
on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely friendly staff. Clean and tidy. Very warm whilst there no air con but a fan in the room. Shower very powerful and lots of hot water at peak times. Breakfast was self service with ample choice for all.comfortable night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay .
Thank you for your positive feedback
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #611 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London, England
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle City Barbican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.