We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as promised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Tower to your Saves list
The Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as promised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We planned Christmas at the Tower for the two of us as a special treat.
We stayed three nights over the Christmas period, however, not all was as promised for an executive room.
When we checked in, we were told that the Club lounge would not be available for the duration of our stay, but alternatives were available in random parts of the !hotel - we just had to find them. When we first went to the restaurant for our mid afternoon coffee, we were not made to feel welcome, and originally were going to be charged for the 'free' drinks.
The room was a little small, as others have mentioned, but very clean and well equipped - not somewhere to spend a great deal of time, but good as a base. The view of the bridge and Thames was spectacular.
The Wi-Fi kept 'dropping out' which was a tad annoying, but at least it was free.
The real disappointment was Christmas day lunch.
It was a buffet affair, with little in the way of starters - perhaps they had run out. My husband had to ask for a second piece of meat at the carved station, and there was little in the way of vegetables - some roast potatoes and soggy glazed vegetables; no fresh greens. The Christmas pudding was nice, however if you didn't like mincemeat or traditional pud, there was little else to be had. The staff were not particularly welcoming, and the room in which we sat was a sad conference room with Christmas trees at each corner by way of decoration. For the money they charged it was definitely poor value and lacking in atmosphere. When we checked out and explained the poor value, the receptionist just shrugged and we felt this would not be fed back to the people who needed to know.
unfortunately I think we may have had better value and a better experience elsewhere - the view although spectacular, did not make up for the other let downs. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a special event/occasion.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    1,132
    565
    216
    158
See reviews for
316
1,071
192
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my wife spent last weekend at the Tower! The room overlooking the St. Catherine's Docks was very comfortable with all what we need. Free wifi, expresso machine, etc., added to the comfort. Wonderful service and hospitality along with extravagant breakfast made our stay very memorable. We will book the Tower, again, for the third time, early next year, when we visit Lindon next.

Room Tip: Near the Tower Bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales,uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a long weekend, booked an Executive twin room which overlooked the Thames and Tower bridge, which lit up at night is a great view with The Shard in the distance.
Its located about a 5min walk from Tower Hill Tube Station and opposite The Tower Of London.
Check in was a little slow however there were only 3 staff on reception so you had too be patient; The staff were polite and professional every time I encountered them.
Executive room is small with the basic amenities. The Nespresso machine is a nice touch. The shower is located in the bath, so it not separate.
It said too order a Full English breakfast for room service leave a card on your door before 2am, however there were no cards.
Breakfast in the restaurants is the usual affair, greeted by polite staff who are attentive throughout.
The hotel is clean and we were on the 5th floor so no noise from the Bridge could be heard. The Club Lounge was closed from 21st Dec onwards which I think could have been advertised on they're web page as I am a traveller who like the quietness away from the hustle and bustle.
Not a bad hotel but its satisfactory at best.

Room Tip: Book a room with Tower Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed with my wife at the hotel as a surprise gift. Paid for a bridge view hotel and got we wanted but the room was smaller than normal double room so requested reception and was given a better room.
This is the only hotel I have ever stayed where having 3 restaurants and still had to queue up for breakfast.. Breakfast was average, no hash browns.. Chef kept wandering away whilst making eggs.. Didn't get chance to get any food from chef.
Showed lot of fantastic entertainment on website but when stayed, there were no entertainment in the evening what so ever..
Average hotel with extraordinary tower Bridge view

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked last minute room here. Really good value for London. Yes the rooms are small & a bit outdated BUT the view of the bridge lit at night was spectacular.Room was clean , bed comfortable. That's all that mattered. Very happy with view. Bonus , breakfast was included, didn't think that happened any more.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It looks quite plush on entering but really it's pretty basic. Our room was tiny; my side of the bed was against the wall, only basic toiletries; no shower cap, shoe shine etc. there was also a big clump of long black hair in the bathroom; I'm blonde and hubby short haired. However on the plus side, there was an iron in the room, which was handy.

The bar closed at about 1am, which was pretty annoying as we were out with friends who had come back to the hotel for drinks. The most annoying thing was the staff disregard for our privacy; after I checked in I was ironing clothes and a male staff member just let himself into the room without knocking then left without an explanation of what he was doing. In the morning we were disturbed twice (once at 8.30am and again at 9.30am) by over eager chambermaids ringing in the door and trying to get in, even though the door was locked and check out not until 12 noon. Handy location but expensive for what you get

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First and foremost, baring in mind this hotel is cheaper than the large majority of London hotels it really is in a great location. Minutes away from St Katherine Docks (filled with nice bars and restaurants), the landmark Tower Bridge and tourist favourite Tower of London, there's plenty to see and do in the immediate area. To reach other parts of London there are 3 train stations within a 5-10 minute walk so the rest of the city is very accessible.

The hotel itself is large with a spacious and welcoming lobby. Staff at checkin were very polite and friendly. The rooms themselves could do with some updating. The windows looked really rather old and tatty, and the bathroom in particular looked like it hasn't been modernised since the 70's. That having been said, the bedroom and bathroom were both clean.

We'd paid extra for a view of Tower Bridge and would very much recommend to others to do the same where possible. The view really is breathtaking, especially in the evening when the bridge is lit up.

In all, while not the most modern hotel in the world, it certainly has its charm and beyond the need to renovate some aspects of the rooms it's hard to find fault with it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Contemporary Hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.