We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London at its best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tower to your Saves list
The Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“London at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is undoutably one of the best London hotels in terms of "Value for money". If you are looking for a comfortable room, good food and excellent location, the Tower is definitely one to keep in your address book. Although some rooms could benefit from a bit of TLC, the overall experience is one of comfort and high-standard hospitality. Special mention for its friendly, attentive staff, they do go out of their way to offer you a really pleasant stay. If in London for the first time, do not miss one of the best photo opportunities with Tower Bridge literally on your doorstep.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to "Tower Bridge view" still the rooms at the book offer a very pleasant v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    1,254
    608
    232
    167
See reviews for
355
1,227
194
851
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loerrach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference but would not stay there again. The location is fabulous but the hotel has seen better days and nearly everything is falling apart (my bed was new though and very comfortable). What I found most annoying was the poor service, from waiters at breakfast to the frontdesk staff. There were usually 2-3 young people huddled over one computer but they appeared like trainees and were not able to figure out how to solve my problems. And they can't have been that unusual: I had a reservation for 2 nights which needed to be extended by one night because of an airline strike. On the third day, my room key did not let me in and it took me 3 trips to the frontdesk until that was solved. Then there was some confusion about whether or not breakfast was included on the third day. Lots of helplessness and photocopying but no resolution. Settling the bill took far too long as now there were 2 separate invoices. This is something I might accept in a holiday destination in a tropical country but not in a 4 star hotel in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post
I am sorry to read that we let you down during your stay. Simple requests such as extending a booking and preparing an invoice are a fundamental part of our day to day so I can understand how frustrated you must have felt that these were not resolved more efficiently. I appreciate you highlighting these issues to us which I have shared with the Front Office team. I do hope you will consider us again.
Kind regards,
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good hotel. Is dated from the outside but our room was lovely inside with lovely view of Tower Bridge and Shard. Very clean and staff efficient and friendly. Will certainly return on our next visit to London. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Location is fabulous - next to the Tower Bridge. I had a very posiitve stay at this hotel. Staff were caring and I experienced excellent service. Food was very good and I appreciated the small cafeteria in the foyer where one could get quick takeaway snacks as needed. Room was very comfy - ask for one with a view over the Marina, just wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Although it looks a little disappointing from the outside, it is a reasonably well appointed hotel and has pleasant rooms by London hotel standards, although there is no doubt that some of the room could do with some tender loving care.

The food provided by the restaurants in the hotel was excellent and the staff very helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay and reasonably good hotel, especially if you are visiting London for tourism.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post
I am very pleased to read you had such a pleasant stay. I’m delighted that your meal in the restaurant was excellent and the team were so helpful. We are lucky to have such a unique location with Tower Bridge and The Tower of London on our doorstep.
We hope you’ll visit us at the Tower Hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have mixed feelings about the hotel. If I wanted high quality room I wouldn't come here again. Good breakfast, great view and central location are on the other hand things that were very positive about this hotel. However, in the end it's the room that counts the most. My room was shabby, overall there were quite old furniture and an oldish wibe. Renovation would be needed in order to bring the rooms into this decade.

Location was good and central. Tube station is a short walk away. View was great (I had an upgrade with the Tower Bridge view) and it was worth 20£. Service was friendly and breakfast buffet had all the food and drinks you can dream of.

All in all, I think this hotel wasn't up for the money spent. I was here on business and in a conference but I'd never pay 270£ per night by myself. Way too expensive considering the value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post
I am happy to read you enjoyed our location, breakfast and excellent views.
Thanks for your comments about your room; starting next year, the hotel will undergo a major refurbishment which will include all rooms and public areas. I would be happy to keep you updated on our improvements so do keep in touch with us via our social media channels for updates.
Kind regards,
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great location over looking Tower Bridge and right next to the Tower of London. Room was very modern in decor but would have been a little snug if I wasn't travelling alone! Disappointing view from my room as on a side but i didn't pay for a particular view so couldn't have expected more.
Breakfast had a good choice and reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
#226 Family Hotel in London
#328 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Contemporary Hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.