We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location, what a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Tower to your Saves list
The Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a location, what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the minute my partner and I stepped into the bright spacious Hotel lobby to the minute I left the Hotel I was treated to the best possible service (all with a smile!)

The bar was a particular treat with wonderful veiws of the Tower Bridge by night and great food for such an understated location.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I’m thrilled that you and your partner had such a great stay and were so impressed with our view from the Xi Bar. I hope you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    1,127
    560
    216
    158
See reviews for
313
1,069
192
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived late at around 9pm and was told our room was not ready as the hotel was fully booked up? We had booked three weeks previous so thats a mystery? We where put in a pokey room that was so tiny we had panic attacks all night.Before that on arrival a young reception girl who was clueless made us wait for nearly 45 minutes waiting for a room. I rang and complained over the room and we where changed first thing in the morning which took ages and we wanted to go out and see london but?? Breakfast was superb and included in travel republics prices. Hotel had magnificent views of the tower bridge so if you can get a room bridge side then you will be fine. Outside the hotel was dated which did not reflect inside which was lovely. The weather was freezing rainy and typicaly british however we love to walk and London has a great buz so enjoy it. Drinks in the hotel are so expensive and get this? If you order room service which we did cheese platter consiting of 3 crackers 2 cheese so small a mouse would starve and a charge for tray service??? All that for £17.95!!!! Discraceful, talk about good old british rip of... Overall if you can get a room bridge side above floors three and stay clear of room service and get your breakfast thrown in with your price its worth it but be warned its expensive.Would i go again, probably? Oh i forgot try to stay clear of taxis, they take you the long way around everywhere to get more money, buy a tube day ticket around £14.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am sorry to read of the issues you encountered. I regret that your check in took so long and that you were disappointed with your room and room service. We are currently in the process of redefining our room categories so it will soon be possible to book a room with a river view rather than requesting. I have passed your comments on to the room service team and I hope you let us know at the time so we could resolve this for you.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and it's staff are probably the friendliest and clientele friendly! Stayed in a lovely suite on the 11th floor with some great views! And the breakfast was worth the money! Ian Fletcher it's a credit to you to have such wonderful staff and a hotel that is highly recommended to all my work colleagues, friends and family!
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
Your comments are very kind and are testament to the commitment of the whole team to providing excellent customer service. I’m truly glad that the team made such a positive impression on you and that you would recommend us to others.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms (definitely for London!) with lovely beds (I am tall and had absolutely no problem), good breakfast, perfect location and a very nice view! No negative comments, only very pleased with our stay. Not an expensive hotel and very good value for money, definitely compared with other hotels in London. You got our recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. If available, you could get it for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s great to read your feedback and I am so pleased with how much you enjoyed your stay.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Guoman Tower Hotel primarily because of its location next to the Tower of London as we had to attend the event there the following morning. we booked 3 rooms; A Suite, a connecting Deluxe Double and a further Deluxe Double. Booking the rooms was great and the reservation staff were very informative, even able to tell me exactly which rooms we would be staying in some 6 weeks prior to arrival. Upon getting to the hotel (we drove) we parked in the car park and unloaded our cases, children and pram only to find the only way out of the car park and into the hotel is up 20+ large steps with no lift and no call button to ask for help. Disabled visitors take note as (we later found out during check out) the only option is to drive out of the car park and round to a side door where there is a ramp. We were checked in by a trainee, which I have no problem with as everybody needs to start somewhere and being checked in by a trainee has usually lead to a more pleasant experience. However, our fairly simple requests (were the connecting doors open in the room, could all the rooms be put on one bill) were greeted with a brief "ok" and never acted upon. Even the supervising staff member didn't offer any assistance to the clearly struggling trainee. Then we asked for room keys to open all the rooms, which we were told couldn't be done (we've done it at this very hotel before). After giving my card over for 3 individual room bookings we went up to our room only to find the connecting doors were locked. A quick call to reception and we were told someone was on their way. 45 minutes later, a further call to reception was greeted with the same response. Almost an hour after calling down did someone come up. The Deluxe Doubles seemed to all be in quite good order, but the suite needed a major upgrade. Door didn't fit the door frames, the carpet had huge rips in it, cupboards didn't close properly and the blinds didn't work as they should. Once the kids were asleep we went out to dinner (no way we were dining in the hotel after our check in experience) and walked across St Katherine's Docks to the Dickens Inn which I highly recommend. When we got back, my wife went to take a shower only to be greeted with freezing cold water. It took over 15 minutes for any warm water to trickle through and even then it was tepid. The next morning we got breakfast in our room which was the one redeeming quality as the amount of food you get is much better than some hotels. We went to our function and came back that afternoon to check out. We had booked a late check out but were told it had to be done at reception, which we did when we checked in and it was noted down by the trainee. However, none of our key cards worked so it meant taking kids etc back down to reception to get new key cards for all the rooms. When we finally got it, one of the managers very kindly ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign and barged in to check the state of the room, assuming it had been cleaned. We got our stuff and we down to check out. This involved paying individually for 2 rooms, but they'd very kindly already charged and billed us for the main room the night before. This meant none of our extras appeared on our bill and the trainee checking us out didn't know what to do. After negotiating a broken ticket machine for the car park we eventually left what has been our worst hotel experience in London so far out of several dozen stays. The hotel is ideal for visiting the Tower of London and the surrounding areas, and the quality of the bed etc was fine so for the basic necessities it fit the bill. However, we were looking for a nice relaxing family trip away in a luxury room and definitely didn't get that.

Room Tip: Staying this close to Tower Bridge, you've got to have a room with this view as it is one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to post,
I’m so sorry to read that you had such a disappointing stay and that we failed to get things right for you and your family. I believe that you have already contacted us directly regarding your stay and I hope my team have been able to resolve this to your satisfaction, however if you would like to discuss this further I hope you will contact me directly on ian.fletcher@guoman.co.uk.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and paid for a delux room, we were told on arrival that we did not have a tower view so this was disapointing but that was fine, got to the room couldnt even see out of the windows without standing on a chair they were so high!!! the curtains did not shut properly as they were hanging off the runner which was only an issue for keeping it dark in the morning as you couldnt see out the window!!! there was no hot water on either morning and the shower did not work so on the last morning i was extreamly annoyed to have a cold bath!!! had to get back in bed to warm up after it!! the room was clean and comfortable however missing the luxury of a 4* in my opinion, Location is great very central all in all we had a nice weekend but could of had the same quality at a premier inn!! the staff were not very helpful when i went down to ask about an upgrade as we were not happy with the room told it was £45 per night nobody asked what was wrong with the room and on checking out mentioned some of the issues, a polite smile was all!!! Also just a little things that i thought were annoying is that we were 2 guests and there was only 1 pair of slippers and one robe and the robe had a great big hole in it!! all in all good location, clean and comfortable room but not luxury!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to post,
I’m so sorry to read how disappointed you were with your stay with us and I truly regret that the team did not resolve the issues you experienced. I can understand how frustrated you must have felt at the lack of hot water. We have identified the problem affecting the hot water and are currently carrying out essential maintenance work to resolve this matter.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On arrival we were greeted and guided to the checking in desk to a clerk called Laura she had no customer service skills what so ever and didnt even crack a smile, we felt that she couldnt even be bothered to talk , let alone book us in, not a very good first impression of the hotel. We had a mix up with our 2 rooms booked has we had phoned the week b4 to confirm our rooms and were told total different room info than what we got. On a good note the room we had on the forth floor was amazing and very big with a glorious view of Tower Bridge and the shard. The breakfast is sooooo over priced and not that good, i would suggest eating out, but if you do want to have b/fast in the hotel get the vouchers on arrival at £12.50 per breakfast as if you pay on the morning its £22.50 !!!!!! The hotel is big and clean ,we would return but get breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pre pay for the breakfast and ask for a bridge view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I’m concerned to read your comments about check in; this is certainly not the first impression we wanted to create for you and I have addressed this with my Front Office Manager. I’m also sorry that you were disappointed with breakfast as this is an area we have really focused on.
I’m glad to read that you would return and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#227 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#341 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Contemporary Hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.