We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very tired old hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tower to your Saves list
The Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Portland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location but very tired old hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We checked in and the lobby was very lovely: bright, clean, new, sparkling. Then we went to our room and couldn't have seen a bigger contrast: old dark peeling wallpaper, dark wood, dark carpeting. Very old and tired. Hallways reminded me of the movie "The Shining." Could not get the a/c to work in one of the rooms. Staff rather unfriendly. Waited for 30 minutes upon check-out because the clerk messed up my bill and couldn't figure out how to fix it. Great location. Beautiful view of the Thames and the Tower Bridge. Rather pricey for what you get. Outside of hotel is hideous looking - all concrete and gray.

Room Tip: Make sure your a/c works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review,

I’m so sorry that your stay was not the positive experience it should have been. We are continuously improving our room product and the majority of our rooms have already been refurbished however I really regret that you didn’t benefit from these improvements. Sorry to hear you couldn’t get the air conditioning system to work; our team are always on hand to assist so I hope this did not inconvenience you for too long.

I’d really like to keep you up to date on any news and changes at the hotel so that if you plan on visiting London again, I will be able to show you the improvements in person.

Kind regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    1,256
    609
    233
    167
See reviews for
356
1,231
194
851
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Arrived on the Friday for a weekend break, although busy, we were seen quite quick by an efficient receptionist. We were upgraded free to I assume a deluxe twin, from a standard. What a view of St.Katherine's Dock & Canary Wharf.

The room was clean, modern & ideal. Nice bathroom & shower. No noise & a great sleep.

The staff were very friendly & attentive.

For a location, you can't beat it, Tower Bridge, The Tower of London etc, second to none. The views of the river, brilliant!!!!

One of the best quality & located hotels that iv'e stayed in London!

Thanks for a fault free weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks so much for posting your comments,
It’s great to read just how much you enjoyed your stay. It’s so important to me that guests receive the kind of service you experienced and I’m thrilled that you consider us as one of the best quality hotels you’ve stayed in.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed at this amazing hotel for the first time. Amaaaazing location, grrreat room with a view,
friendly staff especially the great welcome we got from Emilia from guest relations - very charming & professional, she made our stay very pleasant. Also the concierge were very helpful at recommending places to visit.
Will be returning very soon -

thanx..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your posting.
It’s always a pleasure to hear a guest has enjoyed their stay but its even better to learn that a member of staff has really stood out and made such a difference by providing top quality service. I know Emilia will be thrilled to hear you had such a great stay and would be delighted to personally welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on Wednesday 6th July - what a great location!! The hotel overlooks the River Thames, Tower Bridge and Tower of London - ideal for any type of visitor but perfect for tourists. The room was great and very clean. All of the stafff were VERY helpful and extremelt pleasant. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments,

I’m delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I’ll certainly be passing your feedback to the rest of the team and hope to welcome you back to the Tower again very soon.

Kind regards

Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Just wanted to say, What a wonderful hotel and weekend we had. Our room was beautiful,stunning views of the tower bridge. Restaurant was lovely,service was very good. And can-t wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your posting,

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and had such a great weekend.
We really look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Third time on business trip at the Guoman Tower, my impression is getting worse each time. They greet you by asking if this is your first stay - guess there is a reason to assume so. They just don't expect customers to return.
It is own awful 70s building and the good thing to be in there is that you don't need to look at it. Views out on the river Thames are great - no doubt
My room 1009 was small, but ok - however faciliities is badly maintained, with the toilet flash have broke, the fixed shower out of service, and the shower handle would only allow you boiling hot water unless you reduce it to a drip.
Reception does not even bother to ask whether you enjoyed your stay. I always thought hotel derives from hospitality, but they don't really give you feel that they are interested in anythin but money and judging from reception staff behavior, the most important thing they are trained for is apparently to make sure they charge your credit card before you leave.

The fitness room is tiny for a hotel of this size, no window, equipment is squeezed in, and the bike stands in front of a freezing air condition - the hotel's claim about the facility is a joke.

Net net, not a place to enjoy, they make you pay the location, but I don't go to London for looking out of my room's window. - Have seen much better deals in London.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback,

I was really concerned to read about the condition of the bathroom facilities in your room. Our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams work incredibly hard to ensure all rooms are up to the highest standard and I am so sorry that we didn’t get it right this time. Our maintenance team have looked at 1009 and have addressed the issues.
It’s vital to me that our guests leave with a positive impression of the hotel and I am so disappointed that we’ve let you down.
I really do hope that on your next visit to London you will give us the opportunity to prove that we can deliver a great experience.

Kind regards

Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Despite booking a non-smoking room, I was given a smoking room because 'I was the final guest to check in'. Shame on me for arriving after a long day's work to occupy a room for 7 hours that stank. I find it hard to believe that in2011, any hotel still has rooms that smell, but hey, this one did.

I ordered a taxi the previous night for 0615 in the morning only to find that upon arrival at the concierge, there were no taxis. Talking to another guest, I was told that this happens 'all the time'. Why on earth did the concierge accept my booking if he knew the service would not be delivered?

When my taxi arrived, the taxi driver asked me if I'd booked and when I said I had, he laughed and proclaimed that the hotel have a reputation for only allowing black cabs in who are prepared to pay a £10 'backhander' to the concierge in order to get a hire. Unbelievable - are we living in the UK or Nigeria?! It is of course possible the taxi driver could not be telling the truth but what possible motive could he have for lying to me.

The standards here have seriously fallen and there is absolutely no way I will return to the hotel. Seven hours for £336 for a room that smelled of stale cigarettes and a concierge system that stinks just as bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, Hotel Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback,

I was genuinely sorry to see such a marked change between your stay this month and your previous stay reviewed last year. I regret that we were unable to allocate you a non smoking room; we do still have a smoking floor however plans are in place to convert this to non-smoking which leave the Tower an entirely non-smoking Hotel.

I apologise for our error with your Taxi reservation, I was disappointed to learn that your requested arrangements were not met. Our concierge team consistently receive excellent feedback so I am sad to hear that on this occasion they didn’t deliver. Regarding the Taxi Driver’s comments, we have an unrestricted licensed taxi rank outside the Hotel which all Black Cab drivers are free to use.

I really appreciate you sharing your comments with us

Kind regards

Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharines Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Luxury Hotel in London
#226 Family Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Contemporary Hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.