We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend In London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Bryanston Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7BY, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #364 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend In London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here with wife and 6 year old and had a family room on the second floor.

We paid about £200 for one Saturday night which isn't cheap but London hotels aren't and paying less in my experience in London can often mean a major drop in standards. The hotel itself is right off of Oxford Street. We were coming in from Oxford so 5 minutes from getting off the bus at Marble Arch and we're in Reception. The welcome was polite and efficient; the hotel doesn't look as grand from the outside as some others close by but once inside it's well presented and clean. Once checked in we were straight upstairs to the room which was large; one double and one single bed and plenty of room. The bathroom while smallish was well presented and a good standard.

We spent the day out and got back to the room for some R&R before going back out again. I snoozed while the family watched some TV. Once ready to go out we struggled to find a free cab but the Concierge was ready and willing to help; standing our in the middle of the main road to flag the first opportunity down. I could have done that but was grateful he was willing to do that for me.

After our night out we retired to the room. We had a good night's sleep in what turned out to be a very comfortable environment. We didn't have breakfast at the adjoining restaurant as we had lunch plans but the coffee shop opposite hit the spot with coffees for the olds and a chocolate muffin the for the little one. We left our bags and took the very short walk onto Oxford Street for some shopping (remember most places don't open until midday on Oxford Street so no excuse for missing a lazy morning). After that we walked back past the hotel for our lunch date at the Grazing Goat around the corner. That's the next review!

Overall, I would have liked to have spent a little less but cannot complain about the welcome and the quality of the stay given the comfort and the brilliant location. Worth a try!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aristel7, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much.

I am so pleased that you seemed to have such a great stay with your family and got to enjoy the City too...

Once again thank you so much.

Kindest Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    318
    135
    43
    19
See reviews for
182
236
47
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Came off a cruise to revisit London.The hotel is in a great central location.Reminded me of a stay in NYC at the Shoreham , classic revamp of an older building , modern appearance , small rooms and small elevator cabin - which was sometimes an issue and causes one to have to wait one or two pass by before being able to get on.
Room pleasant and we were given what we had asked for a location away from the terribly noisy street, we had peace and quiet.
Room well appointed and clean , bed comfortable.First day the housekeeping staff person was "in training" guess she was still trying to manage her time when we returned from an outing , wanting to rest up for the evening ,around 5pm room had not been made up.
An invitation, on the desk , for tea and biscuits and finger sandwiches late afternoon was warm but failed to indicate that there was a charge of 19.5 pounds ( about 35:00$ US ) per person, of course no one took advantage of this offer during our stay.
Hotel in a great location , central to everything , shopping, sites and parks ,and this either by foot or access to tube or bus tours.
It started to rain but were not offered an umbrella , but received one by request -- small thing but important.
Staff in general reflected the face of today's London came from many other countries .
All in all a good experience in a great city.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aristel7, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear JackieB,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much.

I am sorry that there were some annoyances during your stay however I am glad that overall you had a good experience of our Hotel during your London stay.

Once again thank you so much.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed one night in the Doubletree near Marble Arch: upside, excellent location. Downsides: no lift operating to the lower ground floor so luggage had to be manhandled down a narrow staircase. There's a flight of stairs up to the entrance as well. The carpet in the hallway on the lower ground was covered in plastic to protect it from upgrading work and there was a very strong smell of adhesive - admittedly it had dissipated significantly after three hours or so - but there was no apology. The room I was given was a decent size, clean and comfortable. However most of the Freeview TV channels didn't work. As I was there overnight on business - leaving at 7.15 am - I didn't have breakfast. I'd say if you can get a decent room at a decent price it's worth a shot - provided your luggage isn't too heavy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aristel7, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mariane-K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate it...

Yes we are doing some refurbishment but I am sorry that it impacted on your stay please accept my sincerest appologies.

I would like to suggest that when you are coiming back to London please drop me an email so that I can have the opportunity to take care of your reservation for you and make t extra special as you had a few issues this time.

In the meantime please accept my sincerest appologies.

Kindest Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

On arrival I was informed that we were getting upgraded. We were very thankfull of this but after staying in the room I dont know how this was an upgrade? We were moved downstairs to the Trafalgar room which was next door to a building site, this effected asthma, all the carpets were covered with a protecte and as much as the room was very pleasent I cant understnd how this was an updgrage as the room was very small and had no extra amenities that an upgrade implies eg house coat, slippers, larger room etc. Would appreciate if this could be explained.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nice and small hotel with great location. The rooms were clean and the service excellent. We were a group of ten people and we all had teh same impression of the hotel. The only negative is that theres is only one elevator and no stairs whick results in much waiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aristel7, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Carina L

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much.

I am sorry that there were some annoyances about the lift during your stay however I am glad that overall you had a good experience of our Hotel!

We hope to see you agin in the future....

Once again thank you so much.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I first came there for afternoon tea i was advised it was one of the best ones .
I loved the service and the stuff , starting from the reception i.e @Zvezda were very friendly and compassionate . They made sure we got everything we wanted .
I love everything so much that i have been there 3 times already , and i will defiantly visit it again soon .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aristel7, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Kalkidan123,

Thats a great review! thank you so much, we are pleased to be having you back. Thank you for complimenting our team member I am sure she will be very pleased..

Kindest regards and thank you so much!

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey ci uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just love this hotel, my hotel of choice whenever possible. The staff are so polite and friendly and the hotel is always relaxed without queues which is not the usual for London. Lifts are always available ! Centrally located so perfect for shopping and food available at all times. Rooms are spotless and quiet so you can get a good nights sleep. Delighted to be staying again next week. Thanks very much and well done

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aristel7, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear fayfay,

Wow thats a great review, i have shared that with the team as they will be very encouraged by this!

We appreciate you taking the time....we really do

Thank you so muc and we look forward to being of service again..

Kindest Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch

Address: 4 Bryanston Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#278 Family Hotel in London
#317 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished in 2011, the 4 Star boutique style Best Western Premier Mostyn Hotel is situated only a minute's walk from both Oxford Street and Marble Arch and places you in the heart of the West End. Conveniently located to all the commercial centres, as well as the tourist attractions and night life of this amazing city. Whether you are a guest for leisure or business, all our 121 bedrooms create a luxurious and contemporary feel where your every comfort is catered for. The Mostyn Club rooms provide an extra level of comfort and choice, feature rich dark wood and earth tones resulting in a very contemporary feel. In the bathroom, which includes a rain shower, you will encounter a gratifying selection of luxurious amenities. The rooms also offer a comfortable chair to relax in, as well as all the extra benefits of The Mostyn Club which include: Complimentary Car Parking for the duration of your stay, Luxury Towelling Robe & Slippers, Complimentary Newspaper, A drink of your choice from our beer and spirits section in Indigo Bar from 6pm -7pm, Express check in & check out from our Dedicated Club desk, Complimentary Breakfast served in the designated "Club" area of Fire & Spice, Complimentary daily mineral water, Late check-out on request. For a touch of sheer luxury, our three outstanding suites offer superb accommodation for those "special" occasions. Arranged on two floors, with galleried bedroom, each suite is decorated to a lavish standard and has the additional benefit of its own exquisitely furnished lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Mostyn Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.