We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location However” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton London Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #625 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location However”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel through Tesco club card the hotels central booking service was awful no confirmation by e mail or post so it was a fingers crossed when we arrived that we had a room, the staff were all helpful and friendly and resolved the voucher issue, we were disappointed in the size and standard of our room plus the bathroom basin had a crack in it on the positive side the view from the room on the 22nd floor was fantastic and the location is very close to the tube but breakfast was no better than you would get in a travel lodge. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    413
    359
    219
    114
See reviews for
374
248
53
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Make sure you get a higher floor...you can see the London Eye from my room.... Stayed here for the last few years with work....always clean and tidy....only 10min walk from Oxford Street....don't know about costs as my company pays for that....good central location

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in a good location to use the Tube - it is only 1 block to the Edgware Station. The area is know as Little Cairo and there are a lot of Middle Eastern restaurants and shops around. There are 2 grocery markets within 2 blocks to get a soda or chips if needed - it is about 25 minutes to Heathrow by Taxi which is good from London

The lights in the rooms is horrid - we literally can't see in the bathrooms - you have to go out to the room to a mirror by the desk to see your face - the restaurants are ok and very expensive

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

in general - good stay. Clean and comfortable room as per usual Hilton standards, however due to its gigantic size it is very impersonal. the same applies to the breakfast room. you feel just like another number that is crossed off the list. on the other hand, the staff has to manage massive number of people and they do it well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Been coming to this hotel for many years. Modern hotel close to public transport. 5 mins walk from Paddington station where Heathrow Express operates, so no issues with stairs for suitcases. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Arranged to have a package delivered for my stay and Nagesh at Concierge was helpful before and after my arrival to facilitate this. Internet room with computers for guests. Great location walkable to Oxford Street shopping, Kensington Gardens and even V&A Museum on a lovely sunny Spring day. Tube stop and public buses just outside the door. Marks and Spencer across the street which has a great food hall. Is a large hotel, so if you have issues with tour buses or vast number of guests where you are staying this may not be the hotel for you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For 200GBP we get a modern 4* hotel with 2 Queen bed plus buffet breakfast for 4 pax nearby Oxford Street area. 2 subway stations, many cafes/restaurants around hotel, M&S grocery store just across street, walkable to Oxford Street and Bayswater.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here with family of 6 for 4 nights. We had 2 interconnecting rooms in the West Wing. Arrived very early in the morning and we we're told our rooms were available which was great. I had prepaid the rooms back in June (or so
I thought) but was told the payment hadn't been processed (I did receive the confirmation). I couldn't confirm this but assume they are correct. Not happy as the exchange rate has gone south since then!
We headed off to our connecting rooms to discover they weren't connecting. Rang reception who asked were we sure they weren't connecting?? Huh? Yes unless there was a secret door. They then moved us but one of the rooms wasn't ready which wasn't a big deal. As I'm a Diamond member we headed off to the Executive lounge for a coffee. The lounge was nice but food very average (the afternoon tea is terrible). The people who receive you at the exec lounge are miserable and not very welcoming (this is the theme of this hotel).
The rooms we had were a bit tired but very comfortable and quite large for London standards. We had relatives who stayed with us in the East wing and their room was terrible. Very old and very small.
The breakfast was ok. Typical English style buffet. My wife asked for hot chocolates for the kids and was told the milk wasn't ready (breakfast had been going for over an hour) and try again later. I went up and was a bit more persuasive and the hot chocolate appeared. They had closed the restaurant for 4 days and breakfast was in a massive reception room. The staff didnt like doing much other than showing people to their tables and walking around a lot. They didn't clear our table on any day and I didn't see them clear any others. Maybe they didn't realise that it's a buffet.
We had dinner here one night. When we arrived they asked if we had a reservation ( we didn't). He looked over the restaurant to locate a table and finally said ok come in (sorry for the inconvenience)! I'm not sure what the problem was as the place was empty - not one person in there.
I asked the concierge to book a car for us. He said they would. We showed up to leave the following morning and no car was booked. They sorted it out with the words 'you were lucky I could arrange this for you at short notice)!
Ok there are positives of you can ignore the terrible service.
The hotel is in a great location. Edgware rd stations are across the road. Plenty of buses stopping in the street. Marble Arch and Oxford st are a 10 mins walk. There are 2 laundries within 1 mins walk ( the one we used turned around the washing in 2 hours). Open 8 till 8 and £13 for 7kg.
Overall I would stay here again but only in the West Tower and not rely on the staff.






  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. Take a stroll to Hyde Park or relax in the gym, pool or sauna. Dine on international cuisine at Fiamma Restaurant or sample Asian fusion favourites at Minako at the Met. Take in London attractions like The Tower of London and the London Eye. Spend the evening watching Shakespeare at The Globe or enjoy concerts and sports events at Wembley Stadium, just a 30-minute train ride away from the District Line station opposite the hotel. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel.Our common space was recently refurbished, completed October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.