We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton London Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #627 of 1,066 Hotels in London
1 review
“Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For 200GBP we get a modern 4* hotel with 2 Queen bed plus buffet breakfast for 4 pax nearby Oxford Street area. 2 subway stations, many cafes/restaurants around hotel, M&S grocery store just across street, walkable to Oxford Street and Bayswater.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    411
    356
    219
    113
See reviews for
371
247
52
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here with family of 6 for 4 nights. We had 2 interconnecting rooms in the West Wing. Arrived very early in the morning and we we're told our rooms were available which was great. I had prepaid the rooms back in June (or so
I thought) but was told the payment hadn't been processed (I did receive the confirmation). I couldn't confirm this but assume they are correct. Not happy as the exchange rate has gone south since then!
We headed off to our connecting rooms to discover they weren't connecting. Rang reception who asked were we sure they weren't connecting?? Huh? Yes unless there was a secret door. They then moved us but one of the rooms wasn't ready which wasn't a big deal. As I'm a Diamond member we headed off to the Executive lounge for a coffee. The lounge was nice but food very average (the afternoon tea is terrible). The people who receive you at the exec lounge are miserable and not very welcoming (this is the theme of this hotel).
The rooms we had were a bit tired but very comfortable and quite large for London standards. We had relatives who stayed with us in the East wing and their room was terrible. Very old and very small.
The breakfast was ok. Typical English style buffet. My wife asked for hot chocolates for the kids and was told the milk wasn't ready (breakfast had been going for over an hour) and try again later. I went up and was a bit more persuasive and the hot chocolate appeared. They had closed the restaurant for 4 days and breakfast was in a massive reception room. The staff didnt like doing much other than showing people to their tables and walking around a lot. They didn't clear our table on any day and I didn't see them clear any others. Maybe they didn't realise that it's a buffet.
We had dinner here one night. When we arrived they asked if we had a reservation ( we didn't). He looked over the restaurant to locate a table and finally said ok come in (sorry for the inconvenience)! I'm not sure what the problem was as the place was empty - not one person in there.
I asked the concierge to book a car for us. He said they would. We showed up to leave the following morning and no car was booked. They sorted it out with the words 'you were lucky I could arrange this for you at short notice)!
Ok there are positives of you can ignore the terrible service.
The hotel is in a great location. Edgware rd stations are across the road. Plenty of buses stopping in the street. Marble Arch and Oxford st are a 10 mins walk. There are 2 laundries within 1 mins walk ( the one we used turned around the washing in 2 hours). Open 8 till 8 and £13 for 7kg.
Overall I would stay here again but only in the West Tower and not rely on the staff.






  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was clean but a little small. The heating system was on the blink the morning we're left and the room was boiling. Let reception know when we left. There was an apology but apparently there had been the reverse problem a couple of weeks before - not warm enough. Hotel great to get to central London. Bakerloo line to Oxford Circus within 15- 20 mins. Staff were helpful too.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed four nights in a Queen family room in the West wing (new side) The room was well decorated clean and spacious with a good view of the Edgeware Road. The tube was only a two minute walk across the road and the location was excellent to visit all the attractions London has to offer; breakfast was good with only a short queue to get into the dining room. Had a meal one night in the sports bar and that too was very good with excellent friendly service. Check in was a bit of a wait (my only criticism), but this was made up for by the lovely warm welcome from the receptionist Stefanie, most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 9th floor had good views and wasn't too noisy from the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is ideally placed towards the centre of London.
It is just a few bus stops away from Mable Arch and Hyde Park.
The room we had was on the 8th floor of the West Wing. It was a Queen size room ample for 4 adults. The hotel staff seemed very pleasant and helpful. The lady that cleaned our room daily was extremely hard working and I commend her to the manager in case you read this review. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and even though a large volume of people staying we gained our table quickly each morning.
We used the pool daily and this was warm and well maintained, although the last morning we were told it was not available. A point lost there I am afraid.
Over all a good location and despite the colossal size of the hotel it seemed to manage well.
The room temperature was a small matter that needed attending as the heat on the floor we stayed was over warm really.

Room Tip: West Wing seemed good and ask if you need cots and things like that for babies as they obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed over night with a coach party this weekend, having read previous reviews was a bit worried. Staff at the hotel were excellent, very friendly and helpful, had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was really good and good service too. The only down side was my bed, which slated one way, put cushions under mattress to even it out.. so not a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valued and appreciated.

It is delightful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton London Metropole. This proves that not all reviews on this website are true reflection of the service we are capable of delivering.

I am sorry to hear about the bed condition. I will ensure that all beds are thoroughly inspected to prevent the same experience from re-occurring.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am an avid supporter of the Hilton brand and normally enjoy staying at Hilton hotels - this stay was disappointing. The facilities are good, the hotel is large and busy and the reception and foyer look really modern and updated. The rooms have nice fresh and fashionable linen but the actual furnishings feel a bit dated and the bathroom in my room smelled damp. The light in my bathroom was also flickering on and off and when I logged a call I was advised that there was a 24 hour turnaround time on all logged maintenance issues. Not the kind of service I expect from a Hilton Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

I am so sorry to learn that your stay wasn’t satisfactory as expected. Although you found the facilities, reception and foyer as good the overall room condition didn’t impress you. Please be advised that we do have several room types in the hotel. The superior rooms have recently been renovated and I highly recommend them for your next stay. I noted that you were in one of our standard rooms, by early next year these bedrooms will undergo a major refurbishment. Rest assured that the general look will be modernised. We checked unto the light issue you experienced and this was resolved after 10 minutes of reporting it. All guest requests are tracked in our Hotel Service System and I can confirm that minor facilities issues are attended and completed within 15 minutes.

Thanks again for your review and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. Take a stroll to Hyde Park or relax in the gym, pool or sauna. Dine on international cuisine at Fiamma Restaurant or sample Asian fusion favourites at Minako at the Met. Take in London attractions like The Tower of London and the London Eye. Spend the evening watching Shakespeare at The Globe or enjoy concerts and sports events at Wembley Stadium, just a 30-minute train ride away from the District Line station opposite the hotel. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel.Our common space was recently refurbished, completed October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.