We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHAME” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton London Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #622 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Craiova, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“SHAME”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've stayed here as a family for 2 nights last weekend.

When checking in, we've been asked for a 100 Pounds deposit for the Mini Bar without getting any receipt. When I complained, the lovely lady at the counter started to argue and scowl.

The room was poor and dated, there was no other housekeeping but making the bed, WI-FI was 15 Pounds a day, every morning we've been waiting to get to have breakfast about 1 hour.

Definitely no worth for the money spent. This hotel is a disgrace for the Hilton brand.

Room Tip: Do not come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    376
    334
    199
    103
See reviews for
341
229
48
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here overnight for a meeting. Great location, hotel itself is not bad, fairly clean, everything works. Breakfast was good and varied. I was staying on the 17th floor in the tower block, great views even though it was a grey, dismal November day.
The meeting organisers were responsible for check in and check out so I didn't have to use main reception but there were some pretty awful queues at the main hotel reception.
The room itself was small but suited me fine. Fairly standard amenities. There was an odd beeping noise I could hear, it didn't keep me awake but for some it might be very distracting.
I am not sure I'd stay here if I was paying and £14.99 for 24h wifi is an absolute CON! Come on Hilton UK, get with the rest of the world and offer free wifi!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view if they offer you a room in the tower block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have used this hotel on many occasions as it is centrally located in London, and a short walk from Paddington. It is ideal for meetings as it has lots of space in the lounges and you don't need to book a meeting room. Overall the public areas are good, the service is fine and as other reviewers have stated the bedrooms are a little tired, albeit it OK.

Room Tip: A room op the upper levels gives you a great view over the London skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wifi did not work for duration of 3 day stay. Desk advised it was a bit unpredictable when there was high usage! It's about to be 2015, get Wifi sorted. Have stayed in budget hotels with much more success. Tried to order room service without a menu in the room. They tried to vaguely describe what type of food they had available. Had to cut the long conversation short and order a club sandwich as I expected they could make one of these. And to top it all off housekeeping repeated knocking on my door 2.5 hours before checkout. Don't stay if you want to sleep in!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in the family suite which has room for 4 adults on a trip to London this Summer. The hotel is MASSIVE and this suite is in the newer part of the hotel which is much more clean. The only good thing about this hotel is the location though, which is ideal for tourists, you've got the tube station just a few minutes away, Tesco, M&S and the busy Edgware Road. Marble Arch and Oxford Street are a ten minute walk. The downside is that you don't feel like you're in London or Hilton, it feels more like the Middle East. It's jam-packed with Middle Eastern toursists and hotel is too overcrowded. The service is quite average, don't expect much.

Room Tip: The newer part of the hotel with family suites is much more clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 3 nights last week there. Room was pretty basic and slightly worn. As to be expected in large urban hotels (e/g. NYC). Good location to Paddington Stn (train from Heathrow arrives there and you can walk to the hotel). Concierge...forget it. Overall, if I went back, I'd probably choose a hotel closer to the action, but this isn't totally out of the way...

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower section...no tip for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Our location is excellent for exploring London. We are next to two underground stations and are only a short walk to Marble Arch and Oxford Street.

Our tower rooms will be renovated early next year and I hope you will return to sample the new rooms.

Thank you again for your comments on TripAdvisor. I hope to see you back in the Hilton London Metropole in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed in this hotel on business.
It is located on the busy Edgware road which is very close to Marble Arch/Park Lane, you can walk it which I did.
From Paddington this hotel is ideally located as you can walk it within 10 minutes or take the Bakerloo southern route to the Edgware Road tube station which is only one stop away. It takes approximately 5 mins on a good day.
The hotel lobby is very welcoming with a chocolate cafe, and two bar areas one specialising in whiskey.
Check in was easy and efficient. The staff were really friendly which is not always found in London hotels. They basically could not do enough for me. I was very impressed.
As for the room it was a standard but roomy with the usual amenities and plenty of towels. The room was very clean; the bed was comfy and I experienced no noise so I slept well and I am a light sleeper.
I did not feel that my room need a refurbishment as it was very modern and in good condition.
I would certainly use this hotel again due the standard of staff, the locality and amenities. Edgware Road is also very cosmpolitan and good to explore.

Room Tip: If you want to go shopping around Marble Arch/Oxford Street it is easier to walk. Just turn right fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your wonderful comments.

Our location is great for both the business and leisure traveller. We are glad that you were impressed with our new lobby area which compromises of the Chocolate Corner, Edg Bar and the Whiskey lounge.

I am very happy that our staff exceeded your expectations and that the room was to your satisfaction.

Thank you again and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton London Metropole.

Sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. Take a stroll to Hyde Park or relax in the gym, pool or sauna. Dine on international cuisine at Fiamma Restaurant or sample Asian fusion favourites at Minako at the Met. Take in London attractions like The Tower of London and the London Eye. Spend the evening watching Shakespeare at The Globe or enjoy concerts and sports events at Wembley Stadium, just a 30-minute train ride away from the District Line station opposite the hotel. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel.Our common space was recently refurbished, completed October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.