We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a beautiful, elegant hotel BUT, BUT, BUT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 1,066 Hotels in London
A TripAdvisor Member
“It's a beautiful, elegant hotel BUT, BUT, BUT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2004

My grandson and I recently spent five days at the hotel and its a beautiful, elegant hotel with touches of bygone eras (fresh floral arrangements and a welcoming fire with comfy seating in the lobby) yet sufficient modernization to satisy the current traveller (adequate lifts, credit card keys, internet access, a wonderful buffet breakfast and a convenient yet quiet location etc)
However, when we arrived (about 11AM) we were told that no room in our price class was currently made up but for 20 more pounds nightly we could immediately occupy a more luxurious room with a river view and an extended 2PM instead of 10AM checkout time. (The complete illogic of this did not at that moment occur to me)
I went for the upgrade and we received a lovely large room with what should have been a stunning view of the Thames and the London Eye except that the entire front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding. While there was much about the hotel that we enjoyed, the irritations and inconveniences were constant. On two of our four nights there, we were awakened by multiple unanswered phone calls after 1AM and despite my repeated instruction to put NO calls through unless they came from the US we never managed an uninterrupted night's sleep until our last night. OurFri. morning 5:45AM wake-up came at 5AM with a reminder at 6 AM (in addition to two other calls that night) and we were, likewise unable to get this taken out of the system until Sunday. At this point, after multiple complaints about these and other problems (I have never stayed at even a budget motel chain where the maids failed to remove the dirty glasses from the room and supply clean ones daily.) I spoke with a member of the managerial staff who profusely apologized and promised to reduce our bill to atone for some of the inconveniences.
Well, the 20 pound upgrade fee was removed and they treated my grandson to a free dessert for his birthday in the lovely lounge restaurant where we had eaten several times. It is important to note however, that while the server was extremely pleasant and polite and the food was well prepared and tasty on two of the three times we ate there we did not get what we ordered. I would expect the staff of what bills itself as a "Four Star Plus" hotel to know the difference between a trifle, a truffle and a beignet. (Note: I ordered the trifle, got the truffle and was billed for the beignet.) However, the promised adjustment was entirely inadequate considering the nature and frequency of the problems.
I would like to point out that the woman who promised to "atone" for our unpleasant experiences told me that the "upgrade charge " would have to be suspended for the duration of the construction but, when we were checking out about 1PM, there was the same desk clerk pushing the same " 20 pound, immediate occupancy, river view upgrade" with STILL no mention of the scaffolding. The thought crossed my mind that perhaps he got a commission for each upgrade that he sold.
This hotel is NOWHERE near deserving of a "Four Star Plus" rating and if it is as I was told "The Flagship of the London Thistle Hotels" I can only conclude that they must all be over-rated and over-priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    582
    189
    87
    29
See reviews for
333
1,218
76
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2004

We stayed at the Horseguards a few months ago. Both rooms were decent-sized and of good quality. The location is good - being right near Whitehall, Charing Cross station, and the bridge over the Thames to County Hall - London Eye, County Hall, Aquarium, Dali Museum, Saatchi Gallery and more. It's only a 5/10 minute walk to Trafalgar Square.

The breakfast was good, staff were pleasant - and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

My husband and I stayed at RHG for 4 nights, Excellent location, on a side street. Standard rooms are very tiny. We moved to a deluxe room - which was non-smoking, this room was great, good size & nicey decorated.

The only issue I have is the bed was horrible in the deluxe room. King size was great, but the bed was super soft and I was laying on coils.. I almost called down in the middle of the night to ask for a blanket so I could sleep on the floor!

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

We recently returned from a week-long stay at the Royal Horseguards and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. We had an executive room for 2 nights and then a deluxe room for the remainder of our stay and both were very nice. The executive room could have used a bit more space to spread out but both rooms were fine. Nice marble bathroom, plenty of hot water for showers, a comfortable bed, and the nice small touches of a tea-making set in the room and a heated towel bar in the bathroom. The rooms have large windows and high ceilings and while the building is old, everything seemed to be in good shape and quite clean. Continental breakfast was included in our room rate and was sufficient and convenient, though not extensive. We didn't dine at the hotel for any other meals but found the service at breakfast to be efficient and attentive. The location could not be beat -- it was great to be less than 2 blocks from the Tube, and within easy walking distance of so many attractions including Trafalgar Square, the Thames, and even Westminster Abbey a few blocks away. Very safe, quiet area and centrally located. All in all, a great place to spend your time in London.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2004

We recently returned from London and stayed at the Royal HorseGuards. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

We did upgrade the room to a river view which was wonderful. There were a few things about the room and hotel that were a little disappointing. The room and hotel seemed a bit "worn." The funiture and carpet in the lobby were dirty and worn out. The mattress was by far the WORST I have ever had to sleep on. There were no extra blankets or pillows and we would have to request additional towels daily. A side from this the hotel was in a perfect location. We were able to walk to everything or take the underground which was nearby. There was cleaning being done to the side of the building, but we were not affected by this.

There is a restaurant on site which we ate one breakfast and dinner. The food was OK. It seemed a bit pricey and the host/waiter was a bit snooty.

I did give this hotel an above average rating because the location is perfect and the staff was extremly helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2004

With the exception of a somewhat snooty young woman at the desk when we arrived, everyone on staff at the RH was friendly, helpful and courteous, even when things got busy in the lobby. All the concierge staff went out of their way to give us directions and answer questions. The restaurant staff was generally rushed at breakfast, which was delicious and extensive, but always courteous and attentive. We are great coffee drinkers, and the housekeepers kept us well stocked, in spite of a language difference.

Our room was on the 7th floor, overlooking the London Eye. We had to pay considerably more for the view, but were told the price ahead. We had a seven night stay, and having the lovely room and view was worth every pence we paid. In fact, our June stay was so perfect, we are leaving next week to spend Thanksgiving week there.

Its proximity to Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Soho, the restaurants and museums and churches (Westminster Abby!), the nearby Embankment and Embankment tube station all make its location scenic and convenient. We can't wait to get back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#64 Luxury Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#79 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.