We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with the service to match!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“5 star hotel with the service to match!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel, with attentive, obviously well trained staff, the customers really are treated like royalty here! Perfect place to stay for a special weekend away. Nothing is too much trouble. We didn't have breakfast but we did grab some food in the evening from the bar, slightly overpriced at £40 for a couple of cheeseburgers but we expect to pay more in such an establishment. Not the place to stay if you have a tight budget.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,983
    658
    205
    92
    31
See reviews for
394
1,465
86
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything about this hotel.says class .From the name to the decor the service and food wrap it all up with its venue and it makes for an amazing experience. Special.mention to the staff who even though busy were attentive to.your every need and the afternoon tea looked amazing unfortunately my busy schedule did not allow me to indulge I will be back and can't wait .

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear rushrushrush68,

Many thanks for sharing your 5* review of your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that you had an amazing stay to which you received outstanding service.

I am delighted that your overall stay with us was an amazing experience, from the décor to the venue and the food.

Please be assured that I have shared your review with the team who were all pleased with your kind comments.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for yet another great stay and some Afternoon Tea.

Warmest wishes,

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First class service from all staff. Sat out on veranda, nice new furniture and outside heating when it gets cold. Staff were always smiling nothing to much for them.

Nice and central for meeting friends. Thanks to Mitchel de Kok (guest relations manager). Looking forward to going back!!!!

Room Tip: Quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Toddie B,

Thank you for sharing your 5* review.

I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us to whom you received first class service from all of the team; we aim to deliver the best possible experience for our guests upon their stay.

I am pleased that you made full use of our outdoor Terrace accompanied by spectacular views of the London Eye.

Please be assured that I have shared your kind comments with Mitchel de Kok our Guest Relations Manager who always gives our guests the best experience when staying with us.

I am delighted that you cannot wait to return, we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was staying for 2 nights in this hotel and was unpleasantly surprised by the room quality for the 5* hotel. My room's bathroom had very awful smell. I guess something was wrong with the ventilation there. Also, I have got a room with twin beds and each bed had wheels without any breaks, so it moved uncontrollably when I was sleeping causing very inconvenient experience. The only good I can mention here is the view on London Eye.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear SupremoEst,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent experience with us.

We are very disappointed to hear of your experience on this occasion, please do accept our sincere apologies.

Please be assured that i have shared your comments with our Senior Management Team who have taken your feedback into consideration.

Please contact me on 02078393400 so we can discuss your experience further as this is not the level of service we aim to deliver in a 5* hotel.

On the upside i am delighted that you enjoyed the views of the London Eye.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write with your valuable feedback and i hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the absolute pleasure of staying at this hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary weekend in early May. What a treat to be greeted with champagne at reception, another bottle of bubbly with chocolates in our room (thank you very much for that lovely surprise!) and all the luxury amenities you would expect from a hotel of this standard.

The room was so well appointed, with every conceivable luxury supplied, all the toiletries you could need even if you'd forgotten everything! fluffy bathrobes, in-bath TV''s, i-pod docking, morning papers, fresh cafetiere coffee, a teapot, ice buckets and proper wine glasses, under floor heating in the bathroom..... I could go on....

The level of service was first class, ALL members of staff greeted you even if just passing in the lobby, nothing was too much trouble, from dinner recommendations, to arranging theatre tickets, the staff at the Royal Horseguards made absolute sure we had every need met and that our stay was one to remember!

The location is perfect to walk to all the main attractions, restaurants, the London Eye, Big Ben and shopping all within a 10 minutes walk. your don't need to use the tube when you stay here, everything is within easy reach, and walking in London on a fine spring day is a treat!

Add to all this the value for money this Hotel represents and you should not hesitate to book! We certainly will be returning in the very near future. The Royal Horseguards will, from now on, be our hotel of choice when visiting London!

Thank you again to all Staff for making our anniversary weekend magical, see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ScoobyBaby,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful 5* review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel.

I am delighted that we were your preferred choice when spending such a special occasion such as your 25th wedding anniversary, congratulations!

We really do appreciate all guest feedback as it is only through comments such as your own that we are truly able to gauge how our guests perceive our services and facilities, and I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

Indeed we are privileged to be perfectly positioned alongside the River Thames and opposite the London Eye only a ten minute walk from London’s attractions such as Big Ben and Trafalgar Square, amazing for sightseeing.

Thank you for reassuring us that The Royal Horseguards will be your choice of hotel when visiting London.

We cannot wait until you return!

Kind regards,

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Royal Horse Guards last week while in London for business.

Have stayed before and have to say, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Walking to work on the river via the park was very pleasant and the tulips were in bloom.

I have two criticisms. Be sure to ask for a river facing larger room when you book. I stayed for four nights and would have preferred a bit of a view and a larger room at the price.

I'm vegetarian and they need to upgrade the vegetarian menu. I'm not fussy but when I ordered vegetable curry the have me a tomato and onion mix! Not a vegetable in sight. And they listed vegetable curry on the menu!

Will return for the good atmosphere and pleasant staff!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Fathima D,

Thank so much for taking the time to share your review.

It is gratifying to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We take pride in delivering high levels of service standards and it is delightful to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Please be assured that I have shared your comments regarding the bedroom allocated to you and the vegetarian menu with our Senior Management Team who have taken your comments into consideration.

I am pleased to read that you will be returning, we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the first time we've stayed at the Royal Horseguards and we would certainly stay there again. The location is excellent, just across the road from Embankment tube station and right by the Hungerford Bridge across to the South Bank with the National Theatre, Festival Hall & Tate Modern. At first we were given a 'compact' room on the 6th floor. The room was almost filled by the king size bed (strange choice for a small room) and we asked for more space as we were staying for 12 days. We were moved to a spacious 1st floor room overlooking Whitehall Gardens, with a view of the London Eye and the Shard. Strangely enough, this larger room had a standard double bed! But the room was fine and we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it felt like coming home each time we returned. There was a good selection for breakfast, but the seating capacity was inadequate at busy times and we once had to wait 20 minutes for a table. Best to avoid the most popular breakfast times, between 9 and 10 am at weekends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Brenda022_11,

Greetings from London to New Mexico!

Many thanks for your kind review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us in one of our bedrooms that overlook Whitehall Gardens and the London Eye.

I am pleased that the team went above and beyond to make your stay more memorable and were able to move you to a different bedroom to fit your needs, we do strive to deliver the best possible experience and I am glad that we exceeded your expectations.

Indeed we are privileged to be located in the heart of the City just a short walk away from everything you would like to visit in London such as Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, National gallery and many more attractions.

I was pleased to share your review with our Food and Beverage Operations Manager to which they were pleased with your comments about the good breakfast and the variety we have to offer.

I hope to welcome you back to have yet another great stay soon.

Warmest wishes,

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.