We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mini-break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Spring Offer
Ranked #62 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Mini-break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We have just returned from a great mid-week mini break at The Royal Horseguards, we have nothing but fantastic memories from the moment we walked through the door on arrival, to collecting our bags at the end of our trip nothing was a problem, the staff are very welcoming and the rooms are wonderful we were fortunate to have a room looking at the the London Eye and it just added to our fantastic break.

Room Tip: The higher you are in the hotel the better you are,especially if you get the side overlooking the Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. Your kind words are truly valuable to myself and the team, whom I am exttemely proud of. I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with them, we hope we will be able to welcome you both back in the near future for another fantastic mini break!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,930
    653
    203
    91
    31
See reviews for
386
1,434
83
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The location is perfect……..walking distance to many sights; Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, 10 Downing Street, Churchill's war rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is pricey, but plentiful and tasty.

Our room was quite small with a standard double bed. Very nice furnishings with a great view of the i.

Room Tip: Verify the size of your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear John C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel, I am sorry that you were slightly disappointed with the size of your bed and can assure you we would have been more than happy to allocate you a different room if we were able to at the time. The hotel is in a very desirable part of London, with some prestigious neighbours and a plentiful heritage. Please be assured I have shared your comments with the team who are very appreciative of your feedback. We hope we will be able to welcome you back the next time you are in London, if you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact the team!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great loation : in the middle of everything but in a very quiet street.
Great staff : everybody was kind, helpful and available.
Great Room : beautiful spacious rooms with everything you need.
Great public area : nice decoration, beautiful furniture.
Great services : free wifi and computer & printer available.
Great Bar : quiet and elegant.
I will definitly come back for more !
Ben.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear BenandVendredi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel with friends. I am very touched by your kind comments and would like to assure you I have shared your praise with the team. It is our highest priority to ensure all guests receive a warm service and are as comfortable and relaxed as possible from start to finish. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My family and I decided a weekend getaway in London and chose this hotel for its location and reputation. We had an absolutely delightful stay. I travel for a living and stay in some wonderful hotels around the world, but this one will be at the top of every list I'd make. The location is wonderful (on the Thames, next to Waterloo/Embankment, close to London Eye, Westminster, and of course the Horse Guards parade at Whitehall), easy to get to and fro, the service in the hotel is superb, breakfast fresh and healthy with a wide variety and the rooms are in top condition with all amenities (including heated floors in the bathroom!). And if you talk to the concierge you can even investigate the history of the building and visit the Gladstone Library and see where the Liberals club was founded. I can't say enough good things about the place.

Only thing to watch out for is the afternoon tea. It is very popular and if you don't book it, you will be disappointed. Do check out the bar area, it is a bit out of view but once you get in there you will find it a relaxing lounge area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames and London Eye. And definitely walk up and down the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Anand M,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the hotel with your family. Your kind comments are truly valuable to the team and I. The hotel is in a very desirable part of London with some very famous neighbours and an extremely honourable history. Whilst being rather central, we are tucked away from the hustle and bustle and within walking distance of some fabulous theatres and shops! The team do their very best to ensure our guests receive an excellent standard of service for which I am extremely proud, please be assured I have shared your praise with them. We very much appreciate your feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We are from USA and we stated 4 nights. Great location and free wifi. The tube is within walking distance. The breakfast offered several options and was Delishious! Staff were friendly and helpful. (Buy your London tower & London eye tickets from the concierge) We paid extra for the fast pass on the London Eye. (It was worth every penny)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Aprilthenmay,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. I am so pleased that you had a perfect stay with us; your feedback is truly valuable and please be assured I have shared your comments with the team. Our Concierge team are extremely talented and they are constantly reviewing their knowledge of what events are happening in London especially with our fantastic local attractions. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting our great city!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary Region, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hotel has nice location, we had room with wiew to London Eye.
Accommodation was nice.
First day we arrived, we sit at free table in lobby and it came waiter
and said, this table is reserved ( on table was not reservatin ). So we sit
to another table and order cappuccino, fresh juice and selection of cheeses.
Waiter said to us, that we ordered not afternoon tea menu we must sit to another table, because this table he has decorated for afternoon tea. So for 3rd time in 10 minutes we become another table.
We waited 1 hour for our order (30 minutes for coffee and another 30 minutes for cheeses).
When I ask: where are my cheeses, waiter answered: i am sorry, It is free of charge for you.
We do not want free of charge services, we await in 5* hotel better SERVICE.

Breakfast: great choice, service perfect

Departure: we ordered executive room, desk clerk put us the bill for 160£. He said, that we order de luxe room and we upgrate It for executive. I said him to show us our voucher and there was written executive double room. Accident? I was dissapointed such a agenda.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Miki1 23997,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. I must apologise for the downfalls in service you received in our Lounge on at Reception, this is certainly by no means the usual excellent levels of service that our team deliver. I can assure you I have reviewed the issues raised with the relevant Senior Managers and will ensure any further training required will be implemented immediately.

However, on a lighter note I am pleased you did enjoy our breakfast service, I believe we serve one of the best breakfasts in London! I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting London as I would like the opportunity to showcase our true potential to you both. Please do not hesitate to contact the team for any assistance you may require in the future, we would be more than happy to help!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have stayed here many times and this hotel never fails in customer service pleasant friendly staff excellent food and the most sumptuous bedrooms always keeping up with the latest technology we are always looked after so well wonderful

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Thames the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear LYNNE P,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent visit to the hotel. We enjoy nothing more than welcoming back a familiar face, your loyalty is truly important to us and we will work our hardest to ensure all guests are as relaxed and as comfortable as possible. Please be assured I have shared your kind words with the team; we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#50 Family Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
#63 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.