We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Spring Offer
Ranked #63 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Special Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel has modern, luxurious rooms within an historic structure.
The location is ideal, just blocks from Trafalger Square & the museums
there. The Embankment tube stop is very close as well. The staff is
most professional. The continental breakfast is generous.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room facing the Thames if you wish. My room on the street was quiet, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us which although short it speaks volumes about the hotel. It sounds as though you enjoyed your time with us along with our location and breakfast offering.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Horseguards again very soon
Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,927
    652
    203
    91
    31
See reviews for
385
1,431
83
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After doing some considerable research on hotels in central London, I'm so happy I picked this one! I had booked the hotel for my husband's birthday and we were also in town to watch the Rolling Stones in Hyde Park. As soon as we checked in, the staff were very attentive, happy to help, always smiling and jovial. Fortunately we had a room with a view overlooking the Thames and we were very happy with the quality of the room and the hotel itself. Breakfast was good, buffet-style and again the staff were very helpful and service was very prompt. All in all, a perfect weekend and thank you to the staff at the hotel for making my husband's birthday celebrations a weekend to remember! I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a central location and impeccable service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I was delighted to read that we were able to make your husbands special day a memorable one considering we were up against the “Rolling Stones”. We pride ourselves on providing that special touch to enable you to not have to worry about anything during your stay.

As you said the view across the River is spectacular and I will ensure that your kind comments regarding the Reception and breakfast teams will be passed onto them.

Thank you for saying that you would recommend us and we hope that we will be able to welcome you and your husband back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is in Central London, near Trafalgar Square and just off the Embankment and Whitehall. A short walk to Westminster Abbey, The London Eye etc. - it's a perfect location from which to see London.

The nearest tube station is Embankment and the nearest railway station is Charing Cross. It is located on the River Thames and is right with many UK government buildings. A fun fact is that the building was used by the Ministry of Defense during both world wars and was used by MI5 and MI6! You feel a bit like James Bond walking down the street - cell service can be interrupted - due to the old, thick building walls or its proximity to government buildings - not quite sure which!

It is a beautiful hotel with lots of history. Because of that "history", each room is not exactly the same size and, while we booked two "equal" rooms, one was decidedly larger than the other. Both were quite comfortable, however, and the amenities were perfect. A quick call to the front desk should help resolve the room situation and they will move you if there is availability - we chose not to move as we were already settled into the room and would have waited a day for a larger room to open.

Overall, a fantastic hotel in a great location in which you really feel like you're a part of London history.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the hotel, your description of our location leaves nothing to be added. We were used buy many different government entities during the world wars including the American air force and the British home Guard as well as the SIS/ MI5 & MI6.

We are at present trying to resolve the issue with the phone signals and the room sizes differ because the building was not a purpose built hotel and is grade one listed, which restricts us as to what we can do.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is a rare gem in London. The location is great; only one block from the Embankment tube station, 3 blocks from Trafalgar Square, 3 blocks to the houses of parliament, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey. Southbank is right across the bridge with the Eye and other great attractions. The rooms are big enough with very nice bathrooms, linens and comfortable beds. The tea downstairs is quite nice as are the concierge staff who know everything...

The final benefit is the cost - this place is quite reasonably priced and may be the best buy this close in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I was so pleased to hear that you chose us as your first stop on your European adventure; I know the whole team will be extremely proud to read your kind comments in particular the Concierge and Restaurant teams.

As you said our location is fantastic and makes it so easy to be able to explore London on foot, and as you mentioned our prices are quite reasonable and you should keep an eye on our web site with regards to your next stay

We look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here 3 times before when it was 4 star.
Now 5 star the hotel of course couldn't be better placed , we were upgraded to a Thames view executive room because of a special birthday and the room was splendid with everything you could wish there.
A family trip so we had three rooms.
A few quibbles though.
On one day our room wasn't serviced , a paper wasn't delivered on two mornings out of three and the breakfast service was at best poor .
Understaffed , unsmiling , tables not cleared , orders forgotten and mixed up on the two mornings we had breakfast.
Food was fine but where was the restaurant manager ?
A 4 Star Menorca Hotel last month could offer some helpful advice on customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: In summer if you go for a more expensive Thames side room , you need at least a 6th floor room to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a great 2 night stay at the beautiful Royal Horseguards Hotel. I chose this hotel for a short stay to celebrate my Mum's birthday as it was within walking distance of the Queens Theatre (where we enjoyed a fabulous production of Les Miserables), shops and has a lovely position right on the embankment. We asked for a twin room with a view and that's exactly what we got. Room 120 was at the end of the corridor on the 1st floor and had a lovely outlook to the gardens and river beyond. The room was beautifully furnished, with very comfortable beds and also had TV in the bathroom. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower and lots of lovely toiletries. Breakfast was help yourself and plentiful but it did take a little time to get a table in the morning but I suppose this is to be expected in a large hotel when everyone appears for breakfast at the same time! We visited during the hottest weekend of the year with outside temperatures if 30ºC+ but thankfully the room had wonderful climate control, ensuring that it was always lovely and cool! Would highly recommend and we will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet twin room with a view and room 120 on the first floor was exactly that, with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I am delighted to read this fantastic review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I know our location is just great if you are here to visit the sights of London town and I know that the entire team will be so proud to hear that the service they provided was most helpful. We do try to match the needs of our guests with our rooms and I am glad that the team was able to accommodate your request.

We have worked hard to make sure that we have thought of all the little details that a guest may need while staying with us, and it is great when they are appreciated.

The river view rooms are highly recommended and offer some of the best views across the river. So the next time you are planning to come back, why not treat yourselves to one of the most iconic views of London again!

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location is superb -- within a short walk to major tourist sites and the Embankment tube station. We splurged for king suite with river view. The view of the Thames River and London Eye were spectacular as expected. What we didn't expect was the sewage-like odor emanating from the air conditioning unit. We were dead tied from an overnight flight and managed to sleep through it the first night. We pointed out the odor in the morning to the front desk staff who said they would look into it. The odor was greatly reduced the second night, but still lingered in the room. Further we were offered no apology or compensation (eg, a drink at the bar) for our inconvenience -- not what you would expect from a property that bills itself as a 5 star luxury hotel and charges 500 GBP per night. The breakfast was adequate, but lacked the range of menu options typically found in an international 5 star hotel. The doormen and porters were very helpful and courteous. Overall, we enjoyed our stay -- primarily due to the location and view, which can also be found at the Corinthian hotel next door.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, it is comments such as this that enables us to continuously improve the level of service that we offer our guests.

I was concerned to read about the issues you experienced during your stay, as we try our best to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible. Whilst as you said our location is right in the centre of London,

Please be informed that I have communicated your comments to my Hotel Manager whom joins me in apologising for the bad odour where you had experience in your room and also for the lapse in service for not making it right at the time.

I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef who is in charge of the food and beverage areas in the hotel. We appreciate constructive criticism as it provides us with the opportunity to review and improve these areas.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again, so we can prove that we are capable of delivering the 5 star service you quiet rightly expected.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#50 Family Hotel in London
#57 Luxury Hotel in London
#62 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.