We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, brilliant hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Save Saved
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 1,054 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location, brilliant hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was recently lucky enough to win a two night stay at the hotel at an event and used the gift for my birthday, which turned out to be my best present yet! The hotel staff and the location are absolutely fantastic, and the rooms was fabulous. The views over the Thames were too good to shut the curtains at night, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. However, my favorite part of my stay was the bathroom the heated floors were brilliant, and the bath with the TV was perfect for relaxing. As it was slap bang in the middle of the city it is perfectly located for sightseeing and close to some brilliant restaurants. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Well done for wining your stay with us!!! I was pleased that you chose to use it to celebrate your birthday and you had a memorable one. It is a shame to close the curtains at night and shut out the wonderful view of the river at night. The TV’s in the bathrooms are fun and make relaxing after along day sight seeing more comfortable, while the heated floor and towel rail complete the experience.

We will look forward to your next visit with us and hope it will be sooner rather than later.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    539
    178
    82
    27
See reviews for
299
1113
70
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, Hants, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very polite, helpful and attentive staff. Nothing too much trouble.
Very classy and modern restaurant.

Excellent 5 course tasting menu and a glass champagne.
Sweet potato & truffle Cappuccino
Asparagus, slow poached egg wild mushroom 7 raqdish salad
Poached sea troiut
Lime sorbet
Oven roasted casterbridge rump of lamb
Hazlenut creme chiloust pinepapple, date wonton

Wine by the glass a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Only visited the restaurant but if going back to London would definatley book a room as the standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Executive Chef - The Royal Horseguards Hotel at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear AMD1T,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel restaurant - One Twenty One Two.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and I have passed on your feedback to the team this afternoon.
The tasting menu continues to be our best selling offer in the restaurant and will be available again the next time you visit London.
I have noted your comments on the wine by the glass and we are currently reviewing our pricing structure to ensure that we offer good value.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Ben Purton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a lovely weekend we had with this hotel. Sitting on the bank of the Thames and having a wonderful Neo-Gothic appearance, this grand hotel sits opposite the London Eye and sits in the middle of Whitehall within a stone's throw from Horseguards Parade and Trafalgar Square. It sits in such a peaceful street - as it's in the middle of the civil service heartlands of Whitehall, the place has a real sense of calm about it - there are very few tourists milling about and it felt like a real escape to come back to the hotel after a busy day of shopping.

The style of the hotel is definitely contemporary elegant. Wonderful for couples or families, the rooms are spacious having excellent views. We were kindly upgraded from the standard room we had booked (I would recommend this - apparently all standard rooms face a rather bleak 'inner courtyard' about which another customer was complaining at reception when we checked in).

The breakfast at just £15/each was tremendous - taken in a wonderful morning room; if the weather was nicer, we could have taken it outside in the beautiful gardens (a rarity for a central London hotel!).

The thing that struck us is every member of staff tried so hard to provide a good, friendly service. All reception staff were English, so this avoided any communications difficulty, and I simply cannot faulty this grand gem... what a treat you'll have if you stay here!

Room Tip: Standard rooms I believe , all face the inner courtyard. Upgrade for an outside, street view (all go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was my boyfriends birthday and we were staying up in London for only one night,however I wish it was longer. This hotel was truly amazing cannot fault it, the staff were all so friendly to us and made us feel very welcome. We got the choice of paying a bit more for an upgraded room which was definitely worth doing. Highly recommend! The rooms were pristine and so beautifully decorated as I said earlier I wish we stayed longer. This hotel is a must and I will recommend to everyone I know. Definitely returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
“Amazing and highly recommended” what great comments I was pleased that your boyfriends birthday was a success and that we were able to be part of making it a memorable one. I am delighted that the team made you feel so welcome and at ease. I do think it is the key to our success.

Thank you for recommending us to everyone and we look forward to you visiting us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is our staple place to stay in London! It is refined and classy. The prices are superb for the location and we always stay in the Executive King room, which is spacious and tastefully decorated. It is close to the London Eye the Thames River, you can conveniently go anywhere from here. The restaurant is wonderful, do make a reservation and the high tea is delightful, we really enjoy doing high tea here. Thank you always to the professional staff! We will return! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Wow what high praise; there is not much that I can add to a review like that other than Thank You. It is always wonderful to read reviews from repeat guests, as it shows TripAdvisor followers, that our team at the hotel consistently gets it right. Also great advice to readers to reader about booking the restaurant and afternoon tea in advance, as they both are very popular and we would hate for people to be disappointed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Royal Horseguards hotel. We booked an Executive King room with a river view. Stunning views and the room was perfect. Plenty of room for our 9 year old son plus the two of us. The only problem was the noise at night from a river boat 'night club' across the Thames. It kept us awake and went on until 3.00pm in the morning. The hotel staff were amazingly helpful and moved us to another room, towards the end of the hotel which was a lot quieter. It was an upgrade and a big suite with a separate living room and kitchen to boot! We also had Sunday lunch at the hotel which was superb (roast rib of beef carved at your table). Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The whole hotel is spotless. Location is perfect, just a five minute stroll to the Strand, Downing Street, Whitehall, London Eye. All in all, very good, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful nights sleep, don't get a river view room (unless of course it's for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I was sorry to read that you had trouble with nose from outside the hotel, but glad it did not spoil your time with us. It is great to hear the night team were able to move you and upgraded you due to the inconvenience you experienced. The room you were given was The Apartment and I agree it is a beautiful suite.

Our restaurant One Twenty One Two gets many compliments. Our Sunday lunch menu is relatively new and is proving very popular and I am delighted to hear you have given it your seal of approval.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit to us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Best location - right next to Embankment tube station - and close to trafalgar square/Charing cross.
Bed was very hard - so be careful if you like soft beds..
Also if you are a light sleeper - you can hear people outside the door closing their doors.
But room was clean and looks good- and again location location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We do have an enviable location - right in the heart of London. And as you discovered, so close to many of the keys sights in town.
I am sorry that you found the bed hard. The next time you stay, we can organise a mattress topper for you which will hopefully give you the comfort you need to sleep soundly.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.