We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Save Saved
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Promotion
Ranked #70 of 1,073 hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic hotel, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had a fantastic stay here for my business trip last week. Upgraded room was beautiful and comfortable. The service is world class. And you can't beat the location. Great place to stay if you want to avoid the homogenized chains and have a wonderful London experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and I am delighted that you found the hotel to be everything you expected and more.

The team will be thrilled to read that you found there service was first class. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,437
    514
    166
    78
    27
See reviews for
278
1061
69
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We were celebrating my husbands birthday on Nov 19 th. The hotel was sublime. !

The staff could not have been more helpful, from the bell boys, check-in , bar.

Our daughter had pre-requested a special room for her Dad's 60th which the lovely receptionist. ( Aisha ? ). tried to find but cdn,t on the system. However, she gave us a great room with a fantastic view over the Thames, Shard, Eye. We are so grateful to her. I think she had hoped we might get some special treats in the bedroom which we didn't...... But the great room, view and her customer service made for a wonderful experience in a SUPERB hotel. Thank You.

Long to return. X

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed just for one night as a solo traveller and immediately felt welcome, safe and surrounded by extremely high quality decor and furnishings. my room was excellent, beautiful bathroom and luxurious comfortable bed. fabulous location. overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
What an amazing review - thank you!!! We really appreciate all the positive comments.

Our aim is to offer professional, friendly service in an atmosphere that is both elegant and refined, while being relaxed while making our guests feel comfortable.

Please do stay with us when ever you return to London, looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Horseguards hotel was recently included in the Tea Guild's top places for afternoon tea in London. We visited today and enjoyed the beautiful building and position. Unfortunately the service was disappointing from the outset. Having ordered a champagne afternoon tea, our champagne was forgotten so we didnt receive it until after we'd reminded our waitress. By this point we'd had our sandwiches and tea. Although there was plenty of staff it was hard to get their attention. This was a shame and we don't feel that the afternoon tea was comparable to that of The Goring, Claridges etc. we'd probably come back for a drink but not for tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent afternoon tea reservation with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience due to the shortfalls in service in the Lounge. Your comments have been relayed back to the Food and Beverage Manager, who is ensuring the necessary corrective training is taking place.

Once again thank you for your comments; I truly appreciate the time and effort you have taken into providing this honest feedback to us.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for about 5 years now.
The hotel is very well located for central London and on the whole is pretty good.
Do note that the size and quality of the rooms vary a lot, some have great views of the river and the city with good sized bathrooms and bed rooms, others are very small and dark, especially the ones that face the internal courtyard which you should avoid a they are very dark. You should ask when you check in to avoid disappointment.
The Hotel was extensively refurbished about 5 years ago, it is still smart but has started to drop a bit in the last year or so. The restaurant is OK but you are better off heading in to the city as there are plenty of options in walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard rooms as they are very dark. Room sizes vary a lot even in the same class, so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The hotel is located in a Grade II listed building, which means that we are unable to alter the layout of our rooms. To make it easier for our guest we have created three categories of rooms, ranging from standard to executive. The significant differences between the categories are the size and view from the rooms.

I was disappointed to read that you felt our service standards have dropped a little bit from recent years. Obviously our mission is to try to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay, however your comments have been noted and I have asked all the relevant managers to oversee corrective training, to ensure that we do maintain our five star standards at all times.

Thank you one again and looking forward to you returning to us.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having served with the Regiment of the same name had always meant to stay here. Was not disappointed. Standards extremely high and everything one could expect from a top hotel. From check in to check out the operation was faultless. Staff, food and rooms excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for you kind comments on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to read that you felt the service was first class and that you enjoyed your stay. Myself and the entire team hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Everything you would expect from a hotel of this standard with little touches and service that made our stay very enjoyable and relaxed. Fantasic location very near to Covent Garden, Houses of Parliament and Embankment which has stunning views of key landmarks in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. It sounds like you had a really fabulous time with us! We pride ourselves on our efficient but very warm and friendly service throughout the hotel and I shall pass your excellent comments on to the entire team.

We all look forward to seeing you again here soon.

Many thanks again,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#59 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, LondonMarketing.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda and Amex so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.