We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Save Saved
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Promotion
Ranked #67 of 1,075 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this through a lastminute.com top secret deal & what a steal at £165 I stayed with a friend in a twin room & found this hotel to be absolutely faultless & beautifully decadent, definately a perfect hotel for a special evening.

Room Tip: Email ahead & cheekily ask for a room with a view of the thames!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,449
    516
    169
    78
    27
See reviews for
274
1046
69
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have mixed feelings writing about this hotel. There are positive points about it: it's doormen service that would welcome you and take care of you luggage straight from your taxi. Then, the general ambiance, lobby and bars that give you a warm feeling. The breakfast room spacious and nice, there is a quick service there and a good choice of cold and hot dishes.

But then other elements come to the picture: the check-in and check-out was lengthy and painful. My first night was prepaid at a special rate on the hotel's website while the 2 following nights were booked directly with the hotel at the conference rates. When after 10 min of waiting I got to the check-in desk, I was told that my 2 conference night were cancelled by conference organizer. It took 50 mouse clicks and my black on white reservation confirmation by the hotel to get room key. I was told I can stay in the same room 3 nights without changing, which usually means I was put directly to my Double Delux Room (£ 270 per night incl breakfast). My room (906) was ok till I noticed that the windows were blind, when trying to understand the reason I saw that I had a view on the wall and turbo ventilators fixed on this wall. I immediately asked reception for a change and received opposite room (905) with the view on the roofs ( £ 270 per night does not seem to be enough to see the river) and extremely noisy airconditioning/heating. As a result, tired with previous changes, I slept all the nights with ear plugs. Other than this, the room was correct as you would expect of a standard room (not of a deluxe room) with a comfortable bed and a bathroom with heated floor / towel racks. There was also a free Wifi that worked well.

My check out took again 15 min as my bill was showing extra positions to the prepaid night and discussion with 2 receptionists that seem to ignore what these positions were, was lengthy. The arguments of group booking came back like boomerang making me at 6.30 am angry to start the day. Pity.

Should I have again a conference at this hotel, I would stay elsewhere and commute!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here as a weekend treat having got a good deal with a prior booking.The moment we approached the main entrance we were met with courteousness in abundence ,all staff have very polished standards as to how to provide excellent customer service without being patronising.The downstairs lobby and generally provides for an oppulent and luxuriant experience ,some hotels rest on their laurels when it comes to their 5 star status ,not this ,it pushes the boundaries. So impressed we upgraded to deluxe double ,worth it for the comfort all detailed in other reviews,With cocktails in the equus bar and dinner later in the one twenty one two restaurant both of which were absolute treats we certainly felt pampered.
The location of he hotel is also a big plus .walking distance from leceicester square ,covent garden ,trafalgar square ,over looking the embankment and much much more..
The only regret =we didnt stay longer

Room Tip: try and book a room overlooking the thames ,possibly at a premium but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for a theartre trip for my wife's birthday less than a mile from the west end. Located right on the Thames 3 minute walk from the Embankment tube station. We booked in advance and got a great price for this park of London and had a double room overlooking the Thames with a super view of the London Eye. Room had a entrance lobby to bathroom and bedroom. Loved the TV in the bathroom. Everything was super and well looked after but so it should be for a 5 star hotel. We experience the afternoon tea which was a special experience but great for a pre-theartre meal. Staff were very friendly and polite plus they listened to my special request on the booking form. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames great view especially as night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There is no doubt that this is my favourite hotel in London and I have been staying here on and off for over twenty years - through a number of phases of the hotel's development. Its most recent incarnation as a Guoman Hotel is by far the best and classiest in look. I find the staff universally courteous and keen to help, the rooms well appointed and comfortable and breakfast of very high quality. There is a particular satisfaction if you can manage to gain an upgrade to one of the rooms which enjoys the stunning view of the Thames and the London Eye, but I am quite happy to stay in one of the inward facing rooms when I am staying on business.

Many of the smaller rooms are actually in the upper floors of the next door building which is the National Liberal Club, designed by Waterhouse (who also designed the Natural History Museum) and is one of the gems of Victorian architecture in London. The hotel uses some of the grand club rooms for conferences and has restored them superbly. See if you can sneak a clandestine peek at the downstairs banqueting room (formerly the billiard room where TV's Pot Black was first staged) or the extraordinary Gladstone Library on the top floor.

You can't beat it for comfort, service, style or history - but you really don't want to have to pay full price to enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said already about this upper crust gem, except for the deal we had booking on a special time-limited offer. The price is so good that it allows us to splurge on the full English breakfast with freshly squeezed OJ at 21 GBP! Was it worth it? Yes.

Would I stay at the Horseguards again? if the truth be told, we found it a bit stuffy in that catered
old-world entitlement, and it certainly is not the Cool Britiania we seek. But to be fair, tramps like us don't really belong there anyways. It's a lark and a laugh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed here many times now and always look forward to returning. It is perfectly placed for Whitehall and Parliament and if you can get a room overlooking the river the views are unrivalled. This time the room had views out to the West over St James's Park. Great people, from the doorman through to reception, to the concierge and beyond - they make a great team. Location, hospitality, great rooms - all you can ask really.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for being a regular guest at our hotel, we really appreciate it. Do we have a wonderful team here, which is why this hotel is so special. Your last sentence says it all!!

We look forward to you returning.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#57 Luxury Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
#75 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Otel, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Amex, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Horseguards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.