We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Naperville, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean, however our sheets were not changed until our 5th day there. The location was great. We were directly across from the tube station. Very easy to get around to all the attractions. We were close to some good restaurants. We enjoyed the hotel bar and food. The least things we liked was that there was not an internet connection and that we can hear the people in the room above us walking all night long. Breakfast was not included in our room rate. Therefore, we felt breakfast was too expensive at the hotel. We recommend having breakfast at one of the cafes down the street.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear Reviewer46,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Millennium Bailey's hotel. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.
If you would like to stay with us again on your next visit to London then please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    907
    232
    76
    30
See reviews for
438
837
205
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

I used to attend school near the Gloucester Road Tube, and walked past the Bailey's every day. That was more than a decade ago, and I was excited to stay in my old neighborhood. Other hotels nearby are cramped and creaky, and I worried that Bailey's would be the same--their rates were surprisingly great value for that neighborhood.

It turns out we got a tremendous deal for our money. Our room was recently refurbished, with a sparkling bathroom and an HDTV. We did have an issue with the heating on the first night, and the front desk dispatched a technician who fixed it for us right away. He noted that the building is in a process of continuous refurb and maintenance, which may explain some of the other reviews I've seen. All of the staff I met were helpful and friendly, especially when assisting me with dining and taxi reservations.

We had a standard Queen room, which was still quite large by Central London standards. Our room faced the Tube Station, and my wife loved seeing the bustle of the flower shops and news stalls every morning. The signal from the BT OpenZone hotspot on the corner reached our room, meaning we could use our Boingo Wireless account instead of the hotel's internet service.

Bailey's has a great restaurant and room service, but you can get an even better experience by venturing down the block to Cafe Forum. There, you'll get a full english with fresh squeezed orange juice for a fiver. Everything else you need, mini-Tesco, Boots, cafes, and groceries, is right out the front door. You're a five minute cab ride from the museums, a ten minute double-decker ride from High Street Kensington, and the Circle Line can get you almost anywhere else you need to be.

I can't think of better value for money in Zone 1.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear jmtjr,
We were delighted to to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Millennium Bailey's hotel and that the issue you had with the heating was resolved striaght away and this did not have an impact on your stay. It was nice to hear that all the staff were helful and friendly as they all work very hard in ensuring all our guests receive excellent customer service.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out to write this review.
We hope to welcome you and your wife back to the Bailey's in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Staff were friendly and efficient at check in. Common areas a bit dated but the room, especially the bathroom, windows etc dirty and dated. The chrome had rubbed off the taps, the tiles cracked and the windows were really dirty. They had black dirt between the double glazing and were very dusty. Breakfast was ok, but my goodness they need to put money into their rooms. Even thought the room was facing Gloucester Road, it was still pretty quiet. Could have done with free internet access in the room too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear Pepysp,
First and foremost thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Millennium Bailey's hotel.
It is with regret to hear about your concerns during your stay with us and we apologize for what should have been an enjoyable stay. The relevant departments have been notified so any issues can be rectified. We would like to thank you for taking the time out to write this review as we appricate all feedback so we can improve the standards and service we provide to all our guests.
If you would like to stay with us again in the near future then please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Absolutely loved this place. From the moment we got there , the service was impeccable. Lovely decor and the room was lovely. Only downside was all the corridors and fire doors we had to go through, but hey this is London, so it is to be expected. The breakfast was wonderful, with lots of choices. Location is awesome .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear loveegypt,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Millennium Bailey's hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time out to recognise and praise the excellent service the staff provide as they work exceptionally hard to make all our guests feel special.
Do not hesitate to contact me direclty if you would like to stay with us again at the Bailey's.
Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights over the weekend in a standard deluxe room and chose this hotel, even though there were some mixed reviews, because of the location. The choice of location was good. The choice of hotel was not. The room was large enough but the decor was very shabby, chipped paint, stained carpet and a bathroom with a finish that must have been applied by a blind drunk. Every floorboard in the room creaked alarmingly and it sounded as if all the adjoining rooms had the same problem. The heating didn't work even after I asked the desk to send someone to attend to it. The bathroom was freezing with only an inadequate towel rail for warmth and the basin took an age to drain.
Good points? Hmmm...the bed was comfortable

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear Crimson59,
We have reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Millennium Bailey's hotel. We do take all comments serioiusly and appricate all the feedback we can get.
I do apololgze for the issues you had with your room the releveant departments have been informed so any issues can be rectified.
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and if you would like to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will ensure you are looked after. We would like to thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the Bailey's for 4 nights to celebrate my birthday. We stayed here based on the reviews on tripadvisor. We were most impressed with the size of our twin room (Room 310) almost. like a suite complete with a comfy sofa and a huge tv We caught the tube from Victoria to Gloucester Road and we were so impressed to see the hotel directly opposite the tube station! The hotel staff were charming and very accommodating.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the Picadilly Line (two stops away from Knightsbridge).

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear EllaCM,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Millennium Bailey's hotel.
It was nice to hear that all the staff were accommodating. They all work very hard to make every guest feel special.
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and for choosing to stay with us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you choose to stay with us again at the Bailey's.
Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Average is being generous for this hotel. The only thing it has going for it is the location. Lot's of place to eat nearby, easy access to the Underground. Inside the lobby it looks quaint, but once you hit the other floor's, you are in trouble. You can feel the floorboards buckling beneath the stained carpets. We were on the 5th floor and there is a big hole in the ceiling pouring in rainwater with a bucket underneath. I had to continually remind the stuff to empty because it was overflowing. How about fixing it? Small rooms, grubby bathrooms, no water pressure in the shower. The beds were just a top sheet tucked under the mattress with a comforter on top. No bottom fitted sheet. Staff is neither good nor poor, in fact they were non existent . I was there on my honeymoon so good thing we only slept there for the 11 days we stayed. They dont clean the rooms everyday, they just remake the bed and maybe run a vacuum over the floor. I would expect fresh linen and towels everyday. This place needs to be gutted and redone as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie_meenan, Front Desk Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear xtrout,

I reviewed your comments from your stay with us at Millennium Bailey's hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appricate all the feedback we can get.
I do apologize for for the issues you had with your room and thank you for bring this to our attention so we can continue to improve our hotel and the service we provide to our guests.
If you would like to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and given the opportunity we can prove that Bailey's is indeed a wonderful place to stay.
Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback with us.

Kind Regards,
Debbie Meenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Address: 140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#112 Family Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
#154 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millennium Bailey's HotelThis Central London hotel is a magnificently restored Victorian townhouse situated in the heart of Kensington. From the moment you enter our stately hall, the authentic Victorian decor envelops you and it also retains much of its Victorian heritage with its sweeping staircases and real fireplaces. Located opposite Gloucester Road Underground Station, the hotel is well-situated for visiting many of London’s greatest attractions, including Hyde Park, Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Baileys London
Hotel Millennium Baileys
Millennium London
Bailey's London
Millennium Bailey Hotel London
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.