We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful location opposite Gloucester Road tube. Close to South Ken museums & near a number of restaurants. The staff are always very helpful - doesn't matter whether they're on reception, waiting on the tables or the maintenance man. The rooms are a reasonable size, nicely decorated & good bathrooms. Even the hairdryer is located next to a mirror!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your glowing review following your recent stay with us at The Bailey's.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the overall of your stay, in particular the service we pride ourselves with.
Rest assured that I have passed on your kind comments to the team here at The Bailey's.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    903
    231
    75
    29
See reviews for
431
833
205
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My Girlfriend and myself took a weekend trip to london to see the Lion King production followed by some exhibitions. On exiting the Gloucester Road tube station the relief awarded via the adjacent proximity of the Baileys was a catalyst to instant relaxation. We stayed in a club room and found the staff, the english breakfast and the saliva inducing cocktails made by Paul to be faultless. This is the first time I had stayed in a hotel and not had any reason to complain. I would recommend an 'Old Fashioned' and a Whiskey Sours as beverages of choice if you fancy a chill in the hotel bar.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am truly delighted to read how impressed you were with your first visit to The Bailey's.
Please rest assured that I have passed your kind comments to Paul, who is a true asset to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night, the receptionist (Christina) was amazing, we told her we were celebrating our 9th anniversary, and she had the most delicious chocolate cake sent to our room!!! That made it extra special and I know for sure that Millennium Baileys will be our hotel of choice for our London city breaks!!! Beautiful room btw!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am happy to read that you chose the Bailey's to celebrate such a special occasion and I am delighted to note that we managed to surprise you as well.
Please rest assured that I will pass on your comments to Cristina.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a great little hotel and very good value.
The location is fantastic; five minutes walk from the National History Museum and South Kensington. It is bang outside Gloucester Road tube station which is on the Piccadilly line (15 mins from St Pancras). There are a couple of pubs very close and the one opposite (Stanhope Arms) does good quality pub food.
The room was nice and large (super king size bed) and had a range of facilities (tea/coffee, hairdryer, iron and board etc). The general feel of the hotel is good quality and the staircase down to Reception is lovely.
Didn’t use the restaurant or bas but they looked lively. Friendly staff and seamless check in/out.
Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay at The Bailey's.

I was delighted to read that we met all your expectations and that you enjoyed the service we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

stayed at this hotel last week and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in kensington. great location, less than 30 seconds from tube station and 10mins from all the major museums. staff, rooms and food all first class will diffidently stay again on our next trip.

Room Tip: we stayed in a club room, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay with us at The Bailey's.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the overall of your stay, in particular the location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Excellent price: lovely room: charming reception. We were searching for a special offer of some sort for last weekend and up came Baileys. I emailed the concierge to ask about leaving baggage before check in (2pm) and received an immediate helpful reply. On checking in (early at noon!) we were given a choice of rooms - unheard of! Our room was large as was the bathroom. Bathroom fittings were old style but functioned well. The only possible gripe about the room was that the TV/IT connections were almost impossible to understand and to get them to work was totally beyond us! Bar staff were also charming and helpful and the breakfast was lovely - full English without the fat! A good stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay at The Bailey's.

I am pleased to read that we were able to accomodate your request of an early check in. Please rest assured that I have passed on your kind comments to the Front of House team.

I do hope we will get an opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Millennium Bailey's Hotel as we've stopped in a number of Copthorne / Millennium properties over the years and we fancied something a little bit grand for our January trip to London.
The hotel it's self looks amazing, it certainly looks a lot nicer on the outside than your average London Hotel (especially than its sister property next door which looks dingy by comparison). Inside nothing much changes, it's just as grand, the swiping staircase is amazing and certainly makes for some great photos. The lifts are what you would expect after looking at the rest of the hotel, lovely wooden flooring in them, they are like something would would expect to see in a classical movie.
We had 2 rooms, for the night, me and my partner had a double and our friends had a twin. We arrived well before the time to check in but as one room was ready we were allowed to check into the one and leave our bags safe and secure, there were even complimentary digital safes in each room. Our room was compact but nice, the bed was huge (at least a king size anyway) and extremely comfortable, we have commented that it is the most comfortable one we've had in any Copthorne / Millennium property. It was nice to see some pictures on the walls as some hotels are just plain, it gave the room a bit more of a homely feel to it. The bathroom was a good size for a small room with a full size bath and shower overhead, the toilet was a little awkward to flush the first time but strangely it worked fine after that. We got to sleep very easily (had a couple of drinks in the evening) however when I woke up early in the morning for a drink I couldn't get back to sleep because of the clock, so if you're like me and can't sleep with the sound of a ticking clock in the room I would recommend you take the battery out before bed. Our friends room was huge in comparison to ours with 2 double beds in it, I think they'd had a complimentary upgrade as they had robes and slippers. Their room was on the front of the hotel (room 240)!right next to the flag poles which was a problem as it was quite windy and the flags were flapping all the time sounding a bit like the drums from Jumanji, by the time this was realised they had already settled in and as it was only for one night they decided not to complain and ask to be moved but if you are a light sleeper I would recommend that you ask for a room that is not on the front of the hotel, or at least somewhere away from the flag poles.
There are lots of different places in the area for a few drinks or to get something to eat, KFC and Burger King over the road, Nandos a little further down on the corner, a steak house and a couple of pubs. The reception team recommended that we go to the Hereford Arms for a drink in the evening if we were heading out and we were glad that we did, a gorgeous little pub with very quirky and miss matched features that blended well together, the prices were actually very reasonable as well, a pint of Fosters and a pint of Aspell came to £8.60.
All in all a great stay in a great location with easy access to the whole of London as Gloucester Road tube station is literally over the road!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanCulpa n, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review following your stay with us at The Bailey's.

I am delighted to read that the rooms we provided you with met your expectations and that you enjoyed the overall of your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dean Culpan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Address: 140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#185 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millennium Bailey's HotelThis Central London hotel is a magnificently restored Victorian townhouse situated in the heart of Kensington. From the moment you enter our stately hall, the authentic Victorian decor envelops you and it also retains much of its Victorian heritage with its sweeping staircases and real fireplaces. Located opposite Gloucester Road Underground Station, the hotel is well-situated for visiting many of London’s greatest attractions, including Hyde Park, Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Baileys London
Hotel Millennium Baileys
Millennium London
Bailey's London
Millennium Bailey Hotel London
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.