We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Toulouse
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 6 nights and the location was good. Located close to the underground, nice restaurants around, museum, nice pub....
The staff is very nice and available to help us.
The hotel is old, charming and comfortable. The room is large enough and the queen bed is also good.
Just an issue: we cannot open the window.

Room Tip: I was in the 5th floor but the view was not so good (526). A/C a little bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    909
    232
    76
    29
See reviews for
439
839
205
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I would really like to give the Bailey's a five star review because everyone who works there is so nice, and the location is amazing, but I can't ignore the fact that the building itself is in need of an upgrade. ( I was told that they are planning a major overhaul in November of 2013.) Still, Bailey's is a "best buy" for the money and there is much to commend them - the rooms are, for the most part, large, and you will be very hard pressed to find large rooms anywhere in London. If you pay the extra 30 pounds per day you will get a full breakfast every morning for everyone in the room - that's actually quite a bargain, given the exchange rate - all food is moderately to very expensive in London, depending on where you eat. If you are the sort of person who likes to fall out of bed right into the heart of a tourist district this is not the hotel for you. What I loved about it is that it is just outside the more touristy areas, but because there is a major tube stop right outside the front door, you can get to everything in 10 to 20 minutes. That means you can come home to a more quiet residential area and escape the crowds. (There are still plenty of restaurants nearby though.) The London tube is truly amazing - I never waited more than 2 minutes for a train! That's not an exaggeration - I mean I literally never waited more than 2 minutes!! You'll be able to walk to some of the major museums and Royal Albert Hall - if you like music you should not miss the opportunity to experience Royal Albert, an outstanding concert venue. You can also walk, or bus, over to Harrods and that entire shopping area.

Room Tip: All the rooms have double windows so street noise is not a problem. But try to get a room on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed overnight on business. Front of house staff were very friendly, asked if I could upgrade my single room but they didn't have any availability. Did some work in the bar before eating in the restaurant. the bar was actually pretty busy and have a lively atmosphere. even if you don't like the bar you are in a good spot with 4 pubs within a 30 second walk.

I paid for 24 hour wifi access but wasn't told that the bar actually used a different wifi system, even though it is 5 metres from reception. So after 45 frustrating minutes trying to connect I eventually asked and then got connected to the free wifi in the bar.

Food in the restaurant was OK, beef carpaccio and cod. Not as expensive as i expected so offered quite good value for money.

The one element letting the hotel down was the room. I expected a tiny room and it wasn't as bad as i expected. However other elements let it down. The shower was lukewarm, the iron didn't work, the full length mirror was almost impossible to use and two of the plug sockets under the desk were smashed to bits and surely a hazard.

It was a shame as the service and other elements of the hotel were all very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Baileys official London residence a couple of times , great location for Science, V&A
and Natural History Musuem....Harrods just around the back, Place is buzzing, at any time of year,if you fancy something different to eat , try The Chelsea Kitchen , its were all the Chelsea Pensioners have there lunch, and cheap, for London. Happy Holidays

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackieRichard, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay with us at The Bailey's.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the overall of your stay with us, in particular the location of The Bailey's.
On your next visit I hope you will get a chance to have lunch in our Italian Hotel Restaurant "Olives".

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and have to say the location was wonderful. Across the street from the tube made access to the city a breeze. Nice pubs nearby, grocery stores and pharmacies. Near the post office for that postcard back home. Staff was helpful and wonderful. Would definitely stay here again! Room was large and bed was nice. 2 things, not enough to deduct a star, but would be nice if Wifi were free and air conditioning were a tad more efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackieRichard, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us at The Bailey's.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind words about the Service you received have been shared with the team here.

I do hope we will get a chance to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Bailey's hotel for an 8 night stay in early September. I really enjoyed my time there, and would happily recommend to any traveller.

I stayed in a double room at the rear of the hotel which was nice and quiet. It was an added bonus to be able to open a window for fresh air as well. The room was well equipped and spacious.

I particularly like the convenience of Gloucester rd tube. The station was directly opposite the hotel, which made it feel very safe coming home at night. Having the circle, district and Piccadilly lines so close meant that it only took minutes to get to all the major sites in London. Having Tesco and Waitrose across the road was a bonus!

The service was particularly outstanding, staff could not do enough to make sure your stay was comfortable. The attentiveness and warm welcome from all staff made the whole stay feel like a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackieRichard, General Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your eight nights stay with us earlier this month.

I am also pleased to note how much you were impressed with the service you have been provided with.

Please rest assured that I will pass your kind comments on to the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Bailey's hotel from September 1 - 7, 2013. We chose it because of a great deal on Travel Zoo, but also because of the great location in Kensington. Room was large and bathroom, too, with a large deep tub, which I loved. Breakfast buffet was very nice, but always the same. Clothes storage could have been better. Half of the wardrobe had no hanger pole, only a trouser press. Folded clothes had to go into the night table. The safe was on the dark floor of the wardrobe and I had to get down on my knees to get access. We had notified the desk of 2 minor problems and it took 24 hours in each case to be rectified: burned out light in bathroom and blinking message light on phone (message had been retrieved). Otherwise, service was great. I would definitley stay at the Bailey's again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Address: 140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#189 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millennium Bailey's HotelThis Central London hotel is a magnificently restored Victorian townhouse situated in the heart of Kensington. From the moment you enter our stately hall, the authentic Victorian decor envelops you and it also retains much of its Victorian heritage with its sweeping staircases and real fireplaces. Located opposite Gloucester Road Underground Station, the hotel is well-situated for visiting many of London’s greatest attractions, including Hyde Park, Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Baileys London
Hotel Millennium Baileys
Millennium London
Bailey's London
Millennium Bailey Hotel London
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.