We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location - Great Hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Save Saved
You added Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Ranked #139 of 1,075 hotels in London
Bonnie Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location - Great Hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, 2nd time at this location ( Millenium Gloucester 1st time round) and truly the best location for popping onto the tube which is virtually steps away from the door ! The Baileys hotel is a more grandeur style property which has a lovely feeling, friendly, welcoming staff. Did not use the restaurant as we ate out in a variety of places ( so cannot comment on this ).
Our room which was large was warm and spacious. - bed was comfortable and linen was crisp and fresh. The room was also at the side of the hotel and still heard no noise from the traffic. Hoping to go back next year and would certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear tenbobnote,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I shared the comments with the great team here at the Bailey's and we all look forward to welcome you back when travelling to London next.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    907
    819
    223
    74
    28
See reviews for
363
735
187
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Bailey. Great service, friendly staff, and great location. Only negative was the service in the restaurant. The neighborhood and transportation made this a hotel that I will keep as a go-to hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the inner courtyard. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear AV8trix712,

I was truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed the overall of your stay whilst our Restaurant Manager would be delighted to learn more details about the issues you may have encountered during your visit to the Olive's Restaurant.
Kindly forward your feedback to Sarah.Schmid@millenniumhotels.co.uk

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back at the Bailey's in the near future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel. ....and we love it. The entire staff is wonderful. Magdelena worked out the "gliches" on our reservation with ease...assuring us that all would be okay in the AM...which it was. The location is perfect. But, more importantly it is the staff....warm and caring and helpful....I would not stay anywhere else. The conceirge, Hassan, even helped me untangle a very tangled necklace....sweet.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the main street and it was still peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear BarbaraM,

I was delighted to read your great feedback about your recent stay here at the Bailey's.

It is the service that we deliver we pride ourselves with and Magdalena and Hassan are real assets to the team here at the Bailey's. Please rest assured that I have shared your kind comments with team.

The team is very much looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a week at Bailey’s Millennium. It was the perfect base camp for what ended up being a great trip. This nicely appointed Victorian hotel is right across the street from the Gloucester tube, giving it access to anywhere you want to go in a matter of minutes.

The Kensington area is filled with high end townhouses, restaurants, quaint cafes and noisy pubs. The area felt very safe. Across from the hotel, there is an ATM machine that doesn’t charge extra fees (your bank might though), a small grocery story (Americans, think 7-Eleven) and a Starbucks (they’re everywhere).

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff is extremely helpful. They don’t mind telling you which tube to take or where to eat. We stayed in a club room, which was larger, provided us a traditional English breakfast as well as Internet access from our room.

The hotel itself is a short walk to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. Buckingham Palace is about two miles away. We walked to it, taking in Hyde Park along the way and passing Royal Albert Hall, to shake off our jet lag the first day there.

It is extremely easy to get around London as the tube system is very well thought out with lots of signs and directions. Tube employees take the time to answers questions and you can actually understand when the announcer calls out the stops.

Among other things, we took in the Tower, St. Paul’s, Westminster Abbey, Churchhill War Rooms and the British Museum and did the London Walks Jack the Ripper tour (great fun). We also took the train from Waterloo station to Windsor Castle one day, and to Hampton Court (Henry VIII’s palace) on another. Both were well worth it.

Although people warned us the Brits aren’t known for their cuisine, we had nothing but good meals. At the Angelesa Arms (about a 15-minute walk from hotel) we had traditional bangers and mash only made with boar sausage and mashed potatoes with mustard. Wow was it good. Other places we ate: Yming, Chando’s Pub Opera Room, Gordon’s Wine Bar and the Black Friar (great building, atmosphere). We though the restaurant prices were fair, if only we didn’t have to pay the U.S. exchange rate.

We found Londoners to be extremely helpful. Several times we were studying our map, trying to figure out which way to go (there’s no such thing as perpendicular streets in London) and people approached us and offered to help. I recommend taking free tour groups at historical spots whenever possible. The Beefeater tour at the Tower was highly entertaining, the tour at St. Paul’s enlightening. Lots of places give audio devices and to be honest, they were pretty thorough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear AnnPensylvania,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review following your stay at the Bailey's on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the overall of your stay as well as the amenities offered by the surroundings of the hotel.
Your kind words about the team and the service they have provided you with have been shared with them.

I truly hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Sarah Schmid
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

In the past two decades I have stayed at the Millennium Bailey's several times. It is my hotel of choice for London, due to its very convenient location, proximity to dozens of restaurants and shops, the big London museums that I always visit, and transportation which is so easy with the tube across the street. As an old hotel (renovated with totally updated bathrooms) it provides lovely large rooms which I appreciate and a grand lobby. The service, everywhere, from reception to dining room to chamber, was excellent; the staff are very friendly and those who have been there for a while always recognize me like an old friend - most welcoming. Meals in both the bar and main dining room were excellent, and service attentive. I would definitely return to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Maidades,

I was pleased to learn about your stay at the Bailey's; please rest assured that we highly appreciate the fact that you are visiting us on a regular basis and that you choose the Bailey's as "your home away from home" when travelling to London.

It is the service we provide that we pride ourselves with; it therefore gave me pleasure to share your kind words about the Staff with the team here at the Bailey's.

We are looking forward to once again welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Sarah Schmid
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good location. Internet connection, 20 pounds a day?!!! Breakfast is poor. Rooms are bit outdated, but clean. Ok for a short business stay. Not ok, if you want a memorable experience, tons to choose from for same price

Room Tip: Facing the inner yard/far from elevator and main corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Tabuleh,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Bailey's.

We value constructive feedback as it enables us to improve our costumer service levels.
I was however concerned to read that your stay at the Bailey's was not a memorable one.
Whilst Wi-Fi in the rooms is chargeable we offer it complimentary in the lobby to our guests, I am sorry to hear that the charges were disappointing to you.
Please rest assured that we are constantly redecorating our rooms in order to ensure they live up to our guest's expectations. Again I am very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standard of the room we provided you with.

Should you travel to London in the near future I would be delighted to welcome you back at the Bailey's in order to enjoy a stay that is representative of our usual standards. Please do contact me on Sarah.Schmid@millenniumhotels.co.uk and I will be delighted to personally take care of your reservation.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the location and the parking. To be sure I mailed the hotel to reserve a spot in the garage, because it was important to us as we were travelling with a lot of luggage. When we arrived they told us the parking was full and when I showed them their own email in which they confirmed the reservation, they simply told us reservation of the garage was not possible and told us we should park somewhere else, for example at the Holiday Inn. After a big debate we decided to leave, but when driving off we saw another car enter the garage. We followed and to our big surprise there were lot's of free spaces! We confronted the reception-desk with that afterwards, but they couldn't care less nor explain.
Ok, so we checked in and they showed us the room they had reserved for us. This was not the spacious club room we reserved and had a terrible view on the courtyard. This was solved quite adequate by giving us another room, which was like we reserved in the first place.
After all the hassle we started unpacking our car and because the garage had no direct entrance to the hotel this took quite some time. While it was raining this was quite irritating, especially because we were travelling with our 8 month old daughter. You would expect that at a 5 star property at least somebody of the hotel staff would offer to help you with the luggage, but again, they couldn't care less.
After a bad night on some very poor quality mattresses and having had a shower in a very old bathroom with broken tiles and stains everywhere we went for breakfast. We had to wait in line for 15 minutes. We were only seated because we pointed out ourselves a table had become available. Breakfast was average, but the cappuccino we ordered had no foam and they charged 7 pounds for it every morning!
This hotel isn't a 4 star property, although the building is very charming, unless they update it very soon. The service is below 3 star level, with only a few exceptions like the hotel porter. We'll never stay here again when visiting London!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Arkenbout,

Thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback with us following your recent stay here at the Bailey's.

I was most concerned to read about your overall disappointment with regards to your stay with us.
However, it would have been only fair to mention that a reservation in our car park was never confirmed to you. The e-mail you are referring to is only stating the car park prices and the fact that our sister property has a car park on their disposal.
Since many years we manage our car park on a first come first serve basis in order to ensure that all our guests can take advantage of the same benefits.

It would have been furthermore only fair to mention that we wished to give you a choice of two different rooms on arrival, one of them was facing inside and one outside. Built in 1876, the Bailey's is a hotel with rooms of various sizes on its disposal; however at no stage we did not want to provide you with "the room you booked for".

Since we have a Concierge team on duty for twenty four hours I am honestly mystified that you were not offered any assistance with your luggage; however rest assured that this has been addressed with the individuals involved.
I am furthermore very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standard of the room, please rest assured that your feedback has been addressed with relevant departments also.

Should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me on Sarah.Schmid@millenniuhotels.co.uk.

I very much hope that we can encourage you to stay with us again as it is our aim to put your concerns to rest and offer you a stay that is representative of our usual standards.

I am very much looking forward to your response.

With kind regards,

Sarah Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Address: 140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#126 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millennium Bailey's HotelThis Central London hotel is a magnificently restored Victorian townhouse situated in the heart of Kensington. From the moment you enter our stately hall, the authentic Victorian decor envelops you and it also retains much of its Victorian heritage with its sweeping staircases and real fireplaces. Located opposite Gloucester Road Underground Station, the hotel is well-situated for visiting many of London’s greatest attractions, including Hyde Park, Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Baileys London
Hotel Millennium Baileys
Millennium London
Bailey's London
Millennium Bailey Hotel London
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.