We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for one night/look elsewhere if want to remember/plenty of choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington to your Saves list
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Moscow
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not bad for one night/look elsewhere if want to remember/plenty of choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good location. Internet connection, 20 pounds a day?!!! Breakfast is poor. Rooms are bit outdated, but clean. Ok for a short business stay. Not ok, if you want a memorable experience, tons to choose from for same price

Room Tip: Facing the inner yard/far from elevator and main corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Tabuleh,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Bailey's.

We value constructive feedback as it enables us to improve our costumer service levels.
I was however concerned to read that your stay at the Bailey's was not a memorable one.
Whilst Wi-Fi in the rooms is chargeable we offer it complimentary in the lobby to our guests, I am sorry to hear that the charges were disappointing to you.
Please rest assured that we are constantly redecorating our rooms in order to ensure they live up to our guest's expectations. Again I am very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standard of the room we provided you with.

Should you travel to London in the near future I would be delighted to welcome you back at the Bailey's in order to enjoy a stay that is representative of our usual standards. Please do contact me on Sarah.Schmid@millenniumhotels.co.uk and I will be delighted to personally take care of your reservation.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    909
    232
    76
    29
See reviews for
439
839
206
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the location and the parking. To be sure I mailed the hotel to reserve a spot in the garage, because it was important to us as we were travelling with a lot of luggage. When we arrived they told us the parking was full and when I showed them their own email in which they confirmed the reservation, they simply told us reservation of the garage was not possible and told us we should park somewhere else, for example at the Holiday Inn. After a big debate we decided to leave, but when driving off we saw another car enter the garage. We followed and to our big surprise there were lot's of free spaces! We confronted the reception-desk with that afterwards, but they couldn't care less nor explain.
Ok, so we checked in and they showed us the room they had reserved for us. This was not the spacious club room we reserved and had a terrible view on the courtyard. This was solved quite adequate by giving us another room, which was like we reserved in the first place.
After all the hassle we started unpacking our car and because the garage had no direct entrance to the hotel this took quite some time. While it was raining this was quite irritating, especially because we were travelling with our 8 month old daughter. You would expect that at a 5 star property at least somebody of the hotel staff would offer to help you with the luggage, but again, they couldn't care less.
After a bad night on some very poor quality mattresses and having had a shower in a very old bathroom with broken tiles and stains everywhere we went for breakfast. We had to wait in line for 15 minutes. We were only seated because we pointed out ourselves a table had become available. Breakfast was average, but the cappuccino we ordered had no foam and they charged 7 pounds for it every morning!
This hotel isn't a 4 star property, although the building is very charming, unless they update it very soon. The service is below 3 star level, with only a few exceptions like the hotel porter. We'll never stay here again when visiting London!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Arkenbout,

Thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback with us following your recent stay here at the Bailey's.

I was most concerned to read about your overall disappointment with regards to your stay with us.
However, it would have been only fair to mention that a reservation in our car park was never confirmed to you. The e-mail you are referring to is only stating the car park prices and the fact that our sister property has a car park on their disposal.
Since many years we manage our car park on a first come first serve basis in order to ensure that all our guests can take advantage of the same benefits.

It would have been furthermore only fair to mention that we wished to give you a choice of two different rooms on arrival, one of them was facing inside and one outside. Built in 1876, the Bailey's is a hotel with rooms of various sizes on its disposal; however at no stage we did not want to provide you with "the room you booked for".

Since we have a Concierge team on duty for twenty four hours I am honestly mystified that you were not offered any assistance with your luggage; however rest assured that this has been addressed with the individuals involved.
I am furthermore very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standard of the room, please rest assured that your feedback has been addressed with relevant departments also.

Should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me on Sarah.Schmid@millenniuhotels.co.uk.

I very much hope that we can encourage you to stay with us again as it is our aim to put your concerns to rest and offer you a stay that is representative of our usual standards.

I am very much looking forward to your response.

With kind regards,

Sarah Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I really like staying at this hotel. The location is the best as it is only steps to the tube and a large variety of restaurants and eaterys are just across or just down the street. We had a very spacious room that faced the interior and it was very quiet. Finding rooms of this size in London is an exception. The staff is extremely helpful and a doorman opens the door for you! The bar has a great happy hour...or hours...and I had one of the best Cosmo ever. Wifi is available in the lobby. It is a lovely old hotel that has all the comforts but retained the gracious old ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Evessa,

Thank you very much for your glowing review following your recent stay with us at the Bailey's.

I was pleased to read that the room we provided you with met entirely your expectations.
The Staff here at the Bailey's was also delighted to hear about your kind words regarding the service we provide and pride ourselves with.

Please do visit us again in the near future as we are looking forward to welcome you back.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Hotel is fantastic and the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful - large standart rooms and a nice clean big bathroom - Breakfastbuffet was great - with a good choice of food and with a very good service. When we are back in London we would stay in this property again with pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Stefan S,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the overall of your stay with us and that the Bailey's will be your "home away from home" when travelling next to London.
Please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations Department under Guest Relations.Baileys@millenniumhotels.co.uk should you have any queries prior your next stay with us.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at Baileys and we were not disappointed. Our room on the 5th floor was large, comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and attended to all our needs. The breakfasts were delicious. And the location is unbeatable, directly opposite the tube that runs out to Heathrow.There are numerous pubs and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Rescobee,

I was delighted to read that you are a return visitor of the Bailey's Hotel and that on your second stay with us we managed again to meet all your expectations.

Please do visit us again in the near future as we will be delighted to welcome you back.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our family stayed 2 nights at this location, just before we returned to Australia, in a standard room, larger than I thought it would be for 2 adults and 14 old, plus all our baggage. The staff are very helpful in fact organised a cake for our 14 old birthday, many thanks for the staff members involved, the cake was very nice, and most welcome. We had no trouble getting transport bus,train etc, even the Original Big Bus stops just across the road. Eating in or out, at this location is great, all sorts of restaurants, even KFC across the road, and a small Tesco, would revisit this hotel again, and recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: always ask for an upgrade, if they can, this hotel will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear RosB,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team here at the Bailey's managed to surprise your daughter on her Birthday.
The hotel is indeed located in a very convenient area, I am therefore pleased to hear that you found the location and its amenities convenient.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Millennium Bailey's in late September - it was perfect for our requirements! The location is superb and the staff were unfailingly helpful and obliging. If/when we are back in London we would stay in this property again, without question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Front Office Manager at Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear JudyD,

I was delighted to find out that you enjoyed the overall of your stay at the Bailey's and that you would choose to stay with us again when travelling next to London.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations team under "Guestrelations.baileys@millenniumhotels.co.uk" in case we can assist with any arrangements to be made prior to your journey.

With kind regards,

Sarah Schmid
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Address: 140 Gloucester Road | South Kensington, London SW7 4QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#189 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millennium Bailey's HotelThis Central London hotel is a magnificently restored Victorian townhouse situated in the heart of Kensington. From the moment you enter our stately hall, the authentic Victorian decor envelops you and it also retains much of its Victorian heritage with its sweeping staircases and real fireplaces. Located opposite Gloucester Road Underground Station, the hotel is well-situated for visiting many of London’s greatest attractions, including Hyde Park, Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Baileys London
Hotel Millennium Baileys
Millennium London
Bailey's London
Millennium Bailey Hotel London
Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.