We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel very small gym” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Lancaster Gate | Westminster, London W2 3LG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #382 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel very small gym”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed in a single bedroom for 2 nights. It is a reasonable hotel for its price and also it has a good location - near Lancaster Gate tube station.
If the main reason that you are picking this hotel is the gym, I would recommend to try another one. The fitness room is tiny with 3 cardio equipments. Don't expect weights. Also since almost nobody uses it they sometimes forget to leave towels etc.
There is no minibar in the single bedroom.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear babutine,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve our performance and meet the expectations of future guests.
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be of good value for money. As a regular gym goer myself I understand your comments about our fitness room. We would encourage people looking for a full gym to stay elsewhere as we only offer basic gym facilities hence we describe it as a fitness room rather than a gym. I have however reviewed the times we check the gym as we expect to always have towels available in there.
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    222
    87
    44
    27
See reviews for
85
160
87
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel looks as though it was remodeled in the recent past. Taking into account the room rate, it beats the other similar hotels (about 6) in the Padding area where I have stayed. The staff is great and although I passed on breakfast, my traveling companions said it was good. You can walk to Padding station in about 8 minutes and there are plenty of places to eat and drink. This is a thumbs up hotel across the board for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear jimg1812,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve our performance and meet the expectations of future guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for the positive comments about the staff and hotel
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 days from 7th to 10th of Feb,Really close to the lancastergate tube which was great,Greeted by friendly staff Hotel was tastefully decorated inside ,,although the room is a tad small it was extremely clean and bed was very comfy ,great power shower, and room was modernly decorated...We thought the breakfast was a bit pricey especially taking the euro exchange into consideration ,so we didn't eat breakfast there,other than that had a lovely stay and would certainly stay there again if I was heading back to London for a trip....

Room Tip: W were on the ground level ,very quiet ,no problems whatsoever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear clojoireland
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve our performance and meet the expectations of future guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your feelings about the price of breakfast. We are reviewing our breakfast prices at the moment and have found that we are cheaper than all other 4 star hotels in the area. We will however take your comments into consideration when we make our final decision.
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the Mornington for one night during a work trip. The hotel is in an excellent location, a couple of minutes away from Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate station. The WiFi is free, not very reliable but good enough to get work done.

The staff initially gave checked me into a room in the basement, next to the breakfast hall. The room was very cramped, the hallway smelt dank and the window opened at street level, which made me feel unsafe.

Fortunately, there was absolutely no fuss made when I requested a change of room. I guess they must be used to negative reaction from their guests. And I was moved into a room on the first floor, which was quite the contrast. Although a bit small, my first floor room was up to the mark. And there is nothing to fault here.

I am happy to recommend this hotel, just make sure you avoid the basement room. In all honesty I don't think the hotel should offer these to guests.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the basement, it is claustrophobic and dank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear A A
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback allows us to make the right decisions to improve the experience for all future guests as well as providing an unbiased summary of the hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your feelings about the Family room on the lower ground floor. Due to the layout of the building this was the only area it was feasible to provide enlarged rooms suitable for multiple guests. I am pleased that you appreciated being moved without fuss. We endeavour to meet all of our guest expectations and this can mean we need to move people from rooms we have allocated
In regards to your comments about the internet, the slow speed was due to a faulty router limiting speeds when more than 25 people were connected. We have replaced the router and the internet is now working with an average download speed of between 8-12 mbps
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Location: AMAZING! Within a five minute walk to the Lancaster Road Underground station (which is about 15 minutes from London Victoria). It can be a touch confusing walking from the subway station the first time you get there - so make sure you write down the directions carefully. There is a pub and convenience store nearby - for some late night goodies.

Rooms: I stayed in one of their smaller rooms. It was quite tight... but if you spend most of your time outside the room, it's perfect to just come back to for sleeping. The room was very well updated and took me by surprise. Very clean. Quietish - I'm a heavy sleeper so I didn't notice much. The walls are a bit thin - but, like the size of the room and hotel, quite typical for London standards.

Staff: The staff were helpful; nothing spectacular.

Amenities: The Wi-Fi is AWFUL. It will work - but so exceptionally slowly - that it will take a while to get through.

Room Tip: The basement rooms are more than 50% underground. Something to think about if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Chauve-Souris-Voyage
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback allows us to make the right decisions to improve the experience for all future guests as well as providing an unbiased summary of the hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about the internet. The slow speed was due to a faulty router limiting speeds when more than 25 people were connected. We have replaced the router and the internet is now working with an average download speed of between 8-12 mbps
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Mornington boasts they have free wifi, which is technically right. However, it's completely impossible to do any tasks online and you have to refresh constantly to get webpages up.
I would rather pay for a decent wifi connection instead of a crappy free connection.

The hotel itself is clean and my room isn't noisy at all. Staff is friendly and rooms are nice and clean.

The location just across from Hyde Park is nice as well. There are a few cosy cafes and restaurants just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Morton V
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback allows us to make the right decisions to improve the experience for all future guests.
I am delighted that internet aside you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the Internet we have fixed the speed of the internet. We had a faulty Router that was slowing down the connections. We are once again providing complimentary high speed wireless internet to all of our guests. Today the download speeds were coming back at 12mbps.
I hope that now the internet is fixed you will return to us when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here one night since I needed to be close to Paddington.
Room was quiet facing the backyard and the bed comfortable. Yes, the room was small but for a short stay that is ok. Short walk through residential neighbourhood to Queensway with lots of restaurant.
Reception staff swift and friendly.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear MarieMalmo
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your comments help us improve the experience for future guests by letting us know what was good and what needs to improve.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you will stay again when you are next in London.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel

Address: 12 Lancaster Gate | Westminster, London W2 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#252 Luxury Hotel in London
#264 Business Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Hyde Park and moments away from Paddington, The Best Western Mornington Hotel is an oasis of peace yet only minutes from London’s West End and Oxford Street.Completely refurbished to combine its Victorian Splendour with a modern contemporary finish, the BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel the perfect hotel for your visit to London. With 70 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, Complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout the Hotel, a professional meeting room, and stylish bar our London Hotel is perfect for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, WHM Global Ltd., Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.