We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location Poor hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #518 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
1 review
“Good location Poor hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We arrived in London on 1 June 2007 and stayed at the Sister Hotel in Bayswater. Our month long vacation required us to book an additional three days at the end of June to do some further sight seeing. We booked the Paddington on the 3 June for three nights ( 26,27, 28 June ) , had our confirmation number and when we arrived we were informed we were being shuttled to a different hotel due to " construction problems".

We were re located to the Hilton Kensington -- Great -- No this place looks great but we were treated as second class guests.

The last two nights we were shuttled back to Paddington only to stay in a room that was ten feet by ten feet. We had no place to put our luggage. -- The staff suggested we could store it in their storage room -- This is an ok hotel for the business traveller but not for people vacationing with luggage.

We stayed in the newly renovated room but found the bathroon very small and poor lighting. It ws very difficult to have addequate lighting for my wife to apply her makeup.

We paid 169 pounds ( $325 Canadian) per night for this cubby hole.

Would not stay here again and will probably not consider Best Western chain for future vacations.

  • Liked — The loacation to transit and shops
  • Disliked — Value for my money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    547
    352
    185
    277
See reviews for
187
575
199
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed three nights in this hotel in June 2007. We had three rooms at the hotel. One room was a very small room the needed some work. One room was very nice and large by comparison to other London hotels I have stayed. The last room was in the newly renovated part of the hotel. It was very nice. We had read so many terrible things about the hotel so we were not looking forward to our stay here, but it turned out to not be near as bad as every said. Everyone seems to complain about the desk being across the street, it is not like the street is a major freeway. It is a quiet, not busy street in Paddington. I would stay here again if ever in London.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

We booked through central-london apartments to get a studio suite. When we arrived late, we got stuck with this really really tiny room that was really only big enough to fit a double bed and a sink. The bathroom wasn't too bad.

When I tried to test my adapter the room's circuit almost blew up and all the lights turned off. We quickly ran over to the front desk and they helped us fix the circuit ... kinda. Our lights were not properly working still, but since we arrived late (11 pm) they could not move us to another room until the following day.

The following day there was a different staff at the front desk so they were not aware of our situation entirely. They knew we had to move but we had to explain to them about our fizzing circuit. They assured us that they would have an engineer look at it and if we needed to, they would move our stuff for us to another room. We also asked them about an adapter and they said they would have that ready for us as well.

When we arrived we were informed that they moved our stuff to another room (see pix), which was much nicer and had no circuit problems and gave us an adapter.

Overall, the staff was friendly, the location is not too bad (about a couple of blocks away from lancaster gate and paddington tube stations). There's a convenient and cheap deli you can go to for breakfast around the corner as well as many other restaurants. I'd recommend this hotel. Just be aware of if you have a late check in...

  • Liked — staff, location, nice bathroom
  • Disliked — circuitry, size of room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed at this hotel and it was horrible. I wouldn't refer it to my worst enemy. At first we were put in a hotel room across the road. The room was super small, the walls were dirty and the blankets were ratty. The closet door wouldn't close and it was very dim. The telephone would not work so every time there was an issue I had to walk to the front desk in the rain and cold. Also the HEAT WAS NOT WORKING! I asked to move to another room and they said they were booked but would move me the next day. The other room was newer but the shower was so small that you could not turn around. I asked for an adapter each day and was told that they were out. I was very dissapointed in this hotel. Save your pennies and stay at the * up the street.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything was bad
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We chose this hotel as it was the cheapest we could find that looked nice and had ok reviews. The pictures on the web are of the rooms in the main building, we were put in a building across the road from the main hotel and this was in much need of updating. The room was clean although very small, only just enough room to squeeze in the double bed. We had to put the kettle on the floor to make a cup of tea as the wire would not reach to the only plug socket. Also the shower door did not shut although there was plenty of hot water.

Don't book a breakfast in advance, it was advertised at £15 each but when we arrived we were offered breakfast at half this price. During breakfast they were constantly running out of food and staff were slow to replenish it although the standard of food was good.

The hotel is in a good location as it is approximately a 6-7minute walk from Paddington station.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — quality of room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGAL75
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

If you can find other comparably priced hotels to stay in London, do so. The Padding Court Hotel in London is not a good choice no matter the price. We arrived at the hotel as part of a large family reunion of at least 60 people. I would have expected the hotel to be ready for our large party as they knew we were coming, and we were also 2 hours behind schedule due to a delayed flight. When we did arrive, the staff had no idea what to do with us. Getting our room keys and trying to find our luggage turned into a stressful event. Some people in our party had disabilites and had asked for rooms that did not require stair access but turned out being given rooms that required at least half a flight of stairs just to get to the front door. The manager and front desk staff were cold and indifferent and were never able to give us accurate information. When I asked if the changing of the guard was taking place a specific day, I was informed no only to arrive at Buckingham Palace with the changing of the guard going on. The rooms are terrible! I do mean terrible unless you are lucky enough to be a large family and given one of the suites across the street from the main hotel. A large renovation has just gone on making the rooms smaller than anything I have ever seen. My husband and I had to crawl across the bed to access either side of the room. There was not enough space for the 2 of us and a bag a piece especially since there was no place to put the bags. It looks like they took the size of a normal hotel room and cut it in half. The bathroom is even smaller with a stand up shower that can barely fit a 6'2" man. The only pluses going for this hotel are the free internet access in the lounge and the buffet breakfast. The breakfast offers a large array of cereals, pastries, juices, fruit, eggs, and ham. The downside of breakfast is that the restaurant is located in the basement where too many tables have been crowded into a small space so you have to eat with your elbows attached to your side. Because of the renovations, other problems exist in other parts of the hotel. We heard stories about phones not working, the walls being too thin so every cough, laugh, or opening door could be heard by the 3 adjoining rooms, strong paint smells etc. If we could have changed hotels, we would have. The biggest plus is the location. The hotel is between 2 different tube stops, Padding and Lancaster Gate, which is conveinent. There are also several great pubs and Italian and Indian restaurants within walking distance. If you need/want to stay in the Paddinton area, there are so many other hotels to choose from. Stay away from this one.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

This is not a four-star hotel. The rooms are small and the service is harried. But it's clean, the furniture is modern, the air conditioning and broadband work well, and it's very conveniently located. I f you intend to hang around in your room or are bothered by minor imperfections, you'll want to stay somewhere else. But if a clean, reasonably priced place to sleep is what you want, this is just fine.

  • Liked — Cost, location.
  • Disliked — Room size.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;