We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #518 of 1,055 Hotels in London
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

We booked through central-london apartments to get a studio suite. When we arrived late, we got stuck with this really really tiny room that was really only big enough to fit a double bed and a sink. The bathroom wasn't too bad.

When I tried to test my adapter the room's circuit almost blew up and all the lights turned off. We quickly ran over to the front desk and they helped us fix the circuit ... kinda. Our lights were not properly working still, but since we arrived late (11 pm) they could not move us to another room until the following day.

The following day there was a different staff at the front desk so they were not aware of our situation entirely. They knew we had to move but we had to explain to them about our fizzing circuit. They assured us that they would have an engineer look at it and if we needed to, they would move our stuff for us to another room. We also asked them about an adapter and they said they would have that ready for us as well.

When we arrived we were informed that they moved our stuff to another room (see pix), which was much nicer and had no circuit problems and gave us an adapter.

Overall, the staff was friendly, the location is not too bad (about a couple of blocks away from lancaster gate and paddington tube stations). There's a convenient and cheap deli you can go to for breakfast around the corner as well as many other restaurants. I'd recommend this hotel. Just be aware of if you have a late check in...

  • Liked — staff, location, nice bathroom
  • Disliked — circuitry, size of room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    546
    351
    185
    277
See reviews for
186
575
199
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed at this hotel and it was horrible. I wouldn't refer it to my worst enemy. At first we were put in a hotel room across the road. The room was super small, the walls were dirty and the blankets were ratty. The closet door wouldn't close and it was very dim. The telephone would not work so every time there was an issue I had to walk to the front desk in the rain and cold. Also the HEAT WAS NOT WORKING! I asked to move to another room and they said they were booked but would move me the next day. The other room was newer but the shower was so small that you could not turn around. I asked for an adapter each day and was told that they were out. I was very dissapointed in this hotel. Save your pennies and stay at the * up the street.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything was bad
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We chose this hotel as it was the cheapest we could find that looked nice and had ok reviews. The pictures on the web are of the rooms in the main building, we were put in a building across the road from the main hotel and this was in much need of updating. The room was clean although very small, only just enough room to squeeze in the double bed. We had to put the kettle on the floor to make a cup of tea as the wire would not reach to the only plug socket. Also the shower door did not shut although there was plenty of hot water.

Don't book a breakfast in advance, it was advertised at £15 each but when we arrived we were offered breakfast at half this price. During breakfast they were constantly running out of food and staff were slow to replenish it although the standard of food was good.

The hotel is in a good location as it is approximately a 6-7minute walk from Paddington station.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — quality of room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGAL75
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

If you can find other comparably priced hotels to stay in London, do so. The Padding Court Hotel in London is not a good choice no matter the price. We arrived at the hotel as part of a large family reunion of at least 60 people. I would have expected the hotel to be ready for our large party as they knew we were coming, and we were also 2 hours behind schedule due to a delayed flight. When we did arrive, the staff had no idea what to do with us. Getting our room keys and trying to find our luggage turned into a stressful event. Some people in our party had disabilites and had asked for rooms that did not require stair access but turned out being given rooms that required at least half a flight of stairs just to get to the front door. The manager and front desk staff were cold and indifferent and were never able to give us accurate information. When I asked if the changing of the guard was taking place a specific day, I was informed no only to arrive at Buckingham Palace with the changing of the guard going on. The rooms are terrible! I do mean terrible unless you are lucky enough to be a large family and given one of the suites across the street from the main hotel. A large renovation has just gone on making the rooms smaller than anything I have ever seen. My husband and I had to crawl across the bed to access either side of the room. There was not enough space for the 2 of us and a bag a piece especially since there was no place to put the bags. It looks like they took the size of a normal hotel room and cut it in half. The bathroom is even smaller with a stand up shower that can barely fit a 6'2" man. The only pluses going for this hotel are the free internet access in the lounge and the buffet breakfast. The breakfast offers a large array of cereals, pastries, juices, fruit, eggs, and ham. The downside of breakfast is that the restaurant is located in the basement where too many tables have been crowded into a small space so you have to eat with your elbows attached to your side. Because of the renovations, other problems exist in other parts of the hotel. We heard stories about phones not working, the walls being too thin so every cough, laugh, or opening door could be heard by the 3 adjoining rooms, strong paint smells etc. If we could have changed hotels, we would have. The biggest plus is the location. The hotel is between 2 different tube stops, Padding and Lancaster Gate, which is conveinent. There are also several great pubs and Italian and Indian restaurants within walking distance. If you need/want to stay in the Paddinton area, there are so many other hotels to choose from. Stay away from this one.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

This is not a four-star hotel. The rooms are small and the service is harried. But it's clean, the furniture is modern, the air conditioning and broadband work well, and it's very conveniently located. I f you intend to hang around in your room or are bothered by minor imperfections, you'll want to stay somewhere else. But if a clean, reasonably priced place to sleep is what you want, this is just fine.

  • Liked — Cost, location.
  • Disliked — Room size.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

After reading the reviews for this hotel I was a bit worried about staying here. But now I can honestly say I don t know what all the fuss is about,I suppose you just can t please everyone and some people are nt happy unless their moaning and complaining.
unfortunately i fell over and damaged my ankle so had to leave after only one day , the reception staff gave us a full refund for the remaining 2 nights we should have stayed there,the staff were very helpful,friendly,and also spoke good english (so what if they didnt you only need to go to reception to check in and out).And they arranged a taxi for us to go to euston station at a very reasonable price
On the whole I found this hotel to be very clean,modern,and my room was fantastic with all mod cons ,their was a plasma tv on the wall,very modern decor ,lighting e.t.c,the bathroom was great aswell very modern and most importantley spotlessly clean.
So I would nt take too much notice of the wingers and let them put you off this very excellent 3* hotel(If you want something top class go to the Ritz or The Hilton)
The location was fantastic lots of little shops and restaurants and little cafes if you want a good english breakfast for £2.99.
I have stayed in other 3* hotels in european cities ,mainly Paris and Amsterdam and this is by far the best, and I will definately be going back.

  • Liked — Quiet for London ,near tube stations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

The receiption people are far below what should be excpected when arriving a hotel. We arrived late in the evening and were told that they could not find any resevations, despite I called the day before to assure that the booking, done 4 months ago, was OK. The hotel was full, and after 1 hour they sent us with a taxi to a hotel near Marble Arch (they said). It appeared that the hotel was in Kilburn far from central London. We went back to the Best Western Paddington asked why they were lying, but instead of an apologize, we were told that we had misunderstood the situation. After a lot of argueing we were told that we could stay 2 nights in Kilburn and then be pick up 10 a.m. in the Kilburn hotel. Our rooms should also be upgraded to suites when we returned. Both the pickup and the upgrade was written down and signed by the reception manager on request from me. At 3 a.m we were installed in a very nice and service minded hotel in Kilburn. Sunday, when we should return to Paddington, we had the receiption in Kilburn to call Best Western Paddington to assure that a car was sent to pick us up. After 8 calls they finaly got hold of the head receptionist, but he did not know anything about sending a car for picking us up. After a lot of new arguing and lies, he sent a car that picked us up 11 a.m. The upgrade to suits was what I would call a joke. The room was so small that just one suitcase could be opened at the same time, and in the breakfast room it was queue for about half an hour to be seated. The only positive about this hotel is the location and the room cleaning. Unfortunately that was not enough to save a 4 days stay in London from beeing like a nightmare.

Displeased visitor from Oslo, Norway.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.