We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good quality handy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #531 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Overall good quality handy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 1 night at the Paddington Court Hotel as it was our last night in the UK after our 6 week Europe holiday and needed a hotel close to Padington station for the Heathrow Express . We booked all our hotels for our trip months prior to leaving Australia , however I was notified 2 days prior to checking in there was an issue with our credit card and I needed to hand over details again , I was very uneasy doing this as all of our other bookings were fine .
Upon arriving staff were very friendly and efficient , we were told our ' Clubroom ' had just been refurbished , room was very well appointed clean and had all requirements we needed , It was our last night in the UK and we just really wanted to wind down a little after a bust trip . Our bed was very comfortable with excellent pillows , bathroom clean and excellent , WiFi free and fast .
Breakfast was taken downstairs in a room that still looked like it was being in the process of being updated , the staff looked very precise and were all moving around the room however our table was missing items which should have been picked up .
Breakfast selection was OK however for this type of hotel and what we have experienced it was a little disappointing . Out pot of coffee and tea came over quickly
but was not hot enough , hot food selection OK but not extensive , staff were slow to clear plates even though there were 4 or 5 .
12 noon checkout was great and they also had a safe facility to store our luggage as we had a late night flight home .
We also walked 100mtrs to take Bus 46 10mins to the Abbey Road pedestrian crossing .
All in all a great hotel to stay in handy to London , Heathrow Express and Kensington palace and gardens .

Room Tip: Ask for the clubroom , these were on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    636
    392
    209
    290
See reviews for
209
640
226
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travel a lot for business and while I appreciate all the normal things, comfortable bed, quiet room etc etc etc, there's one thing that most hotels really seem to struggle with and that's a decent internet connection.

Whether big chain, glitzy 5 star or more regular run of the mill, a lot of hotels have really crappy (slow/bad signal in rooms/intermittent) internet. the Shaftesbury Paddington Court had great internet that performed flawlessly which was especially useful as I was in a basement room so if there had been a problem I wouldn't have got any signal at all!

Everything else about the hotel was as good or better than you'd expect from a 4 star boutique hotel.

Well done, you got it right where so many others failed.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Reception staff and concierge were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a lovely room, spotlessly clean and tidy. Could not fault the standard of the room. Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice, once again with very friendly helpful staff. Close to Lancaster Gate tube, walking distance to Hyde Park and Marble Arch.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The rooms have had a make over but some have not yet been completed. For example the fridges need to be put in the air con does not work in some rooms . This said the staff at reception are exceptional and went above the call of duty to make us feel welcome. The breakfast however is the main reason for the reduced rating having been told we have to book the night before there was no tables available when we did get a table there was no plates then half the selection of breakfast items were not available of 5 members of staff only one seemed to have an idea of what was going on . All in all I would not book breakfast here again as it was exceptional disappointing and overall would advise family and friends that the location is very close to Paddington the rooms are being updated and the potential of being great at the moment just an average stay but look forward to visiting when all the work has been completed

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Reception on arrival was busy - and this seems to be the case not matter what time you arrive. Perhaps it would help if the staff were better organised. They asked to swipe my card for a prepaid room - but as we were not intending to use any of the hotels facilities, we declined to do so. Always weary about handing my card over...

Our room was a club room in the basement - which although sounds dingy - was immaculate. There was no minibar and while we stayed two nights, our bottles of water were not renewed after the first night. Tea and coffee making facilities were a "two cup a day" allowance per person which seems rather mean coming from a tea drinking nation.

Staff were helpful but in one case it was a little too much and we had to sternly tell the guy that we would be fine from here on - despite that he insisted at which point I had to look at the guy and say "NO" just so there was no doubt.

The hotel is very conveniently located and getting around is not an issue here. It is a lovely, safe neighbourhood and we took a walk around midnight and even found restaurants open at this time.

The TV and radio did not work in our room, which was annoying but we were not in London to watch telly or listen to the radio - would have just been good to have a little background noise as the rooms are very quiet.

What I cannot fault was the underfloor heating in the ensuite - amazing! Shower looked like it could take the skin off you, but the reality was rather disappointing - a treacle at best...

I would not hesitate in staying in this place but I still wonder why the four stars? For me it was a 3+ but never a four.

Room Tip: Club rooms are ace - have breakfast outdoors - you are spoilt for choice here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated 5-7 min walk from Paddington Rail and Metro station - easy connection to LHR and Tube. The rooms are renovated, big LCD TV, high quality; Internet is free and fast enough; the bath offers SPA level of attributes. Near by a lot of shops, restaurants, as well at Paddington Rail and Metro station.

Room Tip: Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
88 hotel reviews
1,492 helpful votes 1,492 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a newly renovated club room, which was very nicely finished.
The hotel is a central London location (5 mins walk to Paddington) and it is in an old Vicrorian house, but even so the room was very small. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful, however our booking was incorrect and the club room not initially offered as booked, it also took two attempts to get the correct room rate applied, which left us somewhat dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.