We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny tiny room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #522 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tiny tiny room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Shaftsbury for one night and was very disappointed about the size of the room. It was VERY small, even for one traveller and one suitcase and a backback. I had to put my case in the bathroom, if I wanted any space at all, then put it behind the closed door at night, so I could get into the bathroom. The hotel should not show deceptive photos of its rooms, or at least offer a lower rate with a complimentary breakfast for people having to stay in such a confined area. You cannot walk around the bed at all to go to the window. The room didn't have a guest information book. Disappointing - thank goodness it was only for one night.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    626
    387
    205
    288
See reviews for
208
632
222
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good amenities in the room. Great shower. There's a switch for heating the bathroom floor. People have lived for millions of years without heated bathroom floors and so have you and I, but once you have it, you like it. Attentive, accommodating staff. Good wifi. Good location, convenient to subway, train, buses, and park.
Hotel is on both sides of a street in converted Georgian townhouses. Some rooms not accessible without climbing stairs. This is another thing you and I have lived with, but one of the people in our party isn't as stair-friendly as she used to be. Hotel accommodated us by reassigning original room, but beware.
Finally, the bad side. The room was too small for a full-sized human, and there were two of us. You couldn't walk around the bed without turning your body to get through the narrow spaces. Yes, space in London is at a premium. But I've stayed in larger single rooms in Tokyo, where there was a twin bed (not a double bed), and there was just me (so I fit). Our room would work if they put in a smaller bed and one person. Two of us were uncomfortable, and I bet that one person with the double bed would be cramped as well.

Room Tip: Ask about room size. If you have trouble with stairs, ask about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were relocated to this hotel after we had previously booked into the sister hotel Hyde Park International. A phone call the morning of our trip informed us of a boiler failure in the hotel and we would need to make our way to the hotel, upon where they paid for a taxi for us to get to Paddington Court, gave us complimentary breakfast and upgraded us to a suite room. We also received an email from the duty manager the second day of our trip apologising for the inconvenience once again, a lovely touch.
The hotel is brilliantly located, with Hyde Park a five to ten minute walk in one direction and Paddington DLR and Underground stations the same distance in the opposite direction.
The room were placed into, a suite, was of a good size for our trip as we were planning on spending most of it exploring and only sleeping here, should others be using the hotel room for other things such as a business trip I would think the room would be slightly small. It was extremely clean and tidied every day while we were away, and included a small kitchenette and tea and coffee which was replenished daily.
The staff were extremely polite and helpful, in both Hyde Park International when we were transferred and at Paddington Court.
The breakfast was buffet style which suited us perfectly, if the hotel is a bit of a maze in some places. All in all, we had a wonderful stay in London, made all the better by staying at this hotel.
We would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the second year we have stayed at the Paddington Court Hotel. Its proximity to the Paddington station is a major plus. Unlike many locales where the station neighborhood can be undesirable, this is a five minute walk, and a pleasant and safe neighborhood. This year, the hotel is undergoing a renovation, and sometimes there is construction noise during the day, but unless you are a day sleeper, it shouldn't bother.

We stayed in a club room, and found the size adequate. It could use a few more drawers if you are staying several days and want to unpack. If you like washcloths, you have to make a special request. The bathroom sink would be more convenient if it had more counter space for shaving gear. The decor is very nice. Some of the rooms involve stairs, so if you have mobility issues, request no stairs when you book.

The continental breakfast has an assortment of cereals, yogurt, cheese and ham, and they also offer the full English breakfast. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. There is variety of restaurants on Craven Road, and also the side streets. Short walk to Regents park and on to Kensington Gardens. Paddington Underground is a two block walk and has the Bakerloo, Circle and District lines

Room Tip: Club rooms are not too small. Ask about stairs if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival we were guided into a room that was nice itself but situated in a basement, looking out on wall were the housekeeping team was storing trash bags. After 5 minutes the receptionist called and asked if we would like the room, after asking for a room with a little view and not situated in the basement, a bell boy guided us to the top floor to show us another room which we accepted. It was a little bit smaller than the previous one but the better view and the daylight was worth it.
Staff was always nice and helpful. Location is very good since its situated 4-6 minutes walking distance from the tube which gets you everywhere fast. Interior was nice and clean. Only down point was, that the fire alarm went of 3 times in the early morning hours during a 5 night stay. After calling reception they always clarified that there was everything okay, still not very nice to get waken up by that and if it happens 3 times. Housekeeper came in once even if there was a Do not Disturb sign placed.
Good hotel in general, but small down points made it only an average experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a very modern design and it looks it has been recently refurbished. So modern in fact that I could not work out how to turn off the rain shower in the morning and had to call housekeeping to do it for me. Despite being on the ground floor and having a window facing the road, I could not hear much street noise. I had a single bed. It was comfortable, but it was really small - some single beds are a bit wider and I prefer those. Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate, so I haven't tried it. Not very far from Paddington station, but considering the quality and size of the room I feel the room was slightly overpriced.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked a room at the Park Grand Hotel around the corner. Upon check in they told us that we had been booked into their sister hotel, Paddington Court.

The level of customer service I was expecting for the price we paid was bad, not terrible, but not great. The bell boys mixed up our luggage tags and couldn't locate our two large suitcases. When they brought up our 3 shopping bags we had left earlier that day prior to check in, they asked if we had brought luggage with us. When we said yes, they asked my husband to go to the store room and identify our bags. When he pointed them out, they blamed him for the mix up. Umm, what? Well, at least they didn't lose them I guess...

The large construction crew renovating the hotel did not have any problems vocalising their conversations and their heavy footsteps very early in the morning.

The room itself is actually lovely. The bed is really comfortable (although we booked a king and it was two beds pushed together). And they provide a free paper every morning.

The bathroom was completely re done and quite spacious but the toiletries were lacking a little (shampoo, conditioner and body wash but no moisturiser) and they did not provide face washers (which we've never come across in our travels before). (NOTE: The hairdryer is hanging in a bag in the closest!)

Location is excellent! Close to both Paddington and Lancaster Gate tube.

Stay once the rennos are done... if you don't mind bad, not terrible but not great customer service.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
#353 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.