We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Victorians where small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #518 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Victorians where small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The description of Victorian Rooms, was a little misleading! The rooms where so small you could switch the TV off with your toe from the bed. The first room I was given there wasn't even a place to hang shirts.

On a very positive note, my complaint was dealt with quickly. The hotel is very well decorated and comfortable for its size.

Very friendly staff. But expensive for the size.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    546
    351
    185
    277
See reviews for
186
575
199
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As per other complaints of this hotel. Ours is similar. We had room 002, ground floor near the alleged construction of an new elevator being installed (no lift at this hotel). The room was more than cramped and tiny. No space to walk around the double bed so my partner had to crawl over me at night to get to the bathroom. Towel rack was positioned 8 feet up on the wall. Couldn't reach the towels. No soap dish in the tiny, cruise ship shower so every movement ended up banging my head and elbows (I'm 5 feet tall and 112 lbs). My partner is 5'8" and his feet hung over the bottom of the bed. Padded head board had massive water stains and smelled of mildew with mold coming through the peeling wall paper. Fabric covered box the mattress sat on was ripped, peeling and filthy. Large tv perched on the wall at the foot of the bed was like having the drive in theatre in bed with me. Thick dust accumulated in the wall corners with spider webs in the high corners. No refrigerator even though the web site stated it was part of the "amenities". Coffee cups were dirty with old coffee rings from previous use. Two wall thermostats in the room with neither working. Broken and cracked electric plug for computer. Couldn't use it anyway because something was stuck in it and if we did it would likely have started a fire (safety fire hazard). Needed a blanket through the night and was given a sheet with an explanation that housekeeping is closed until 9am, thus NO BLANKETS in the entire hotel???? Wanted to speak with the manager in the morning, but he was conveniently in a meeting ALL MORNING LONG? Really? (oldest excuse in the world). There isn't enough space to tell everything about this dump except to say this: Best Western of Shaftbury (Shaft and Bury) is no four star hotel except maybe in an undeveloped poverty stricken country where people are used to sleeping on dirt floor huts and defecating in the streets. Two stars is being generous. It is in anyone's best interest to find a better hotel in the vicinity because the only thing that looks good at this hotel is the lobby. The management is always in a meeting since they really don't want to deal with their issues. Do yourself a favor and skip this place. They are an insult to the Best Western standard of which I will be writing to their headquarters next. This hotel does NOT deserve the franchise. Mind you, we've traveled to over 30 different countries over the last three years and found nothing like this any where especially at these prices!! Outrageous! btw, housekeeping is non existent except between 9am and 1pm.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are somewhat small, as are most London hotel rooms. The most enjoyable part was that the staff was fantastic. Very friendly all the way through. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the Central, District, and Overground lines. Food options in the area are very good, and access to all London attractions is easy.

Room Tip: Small rooms, at best for 2 people per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good experience overall. Great location. Small room, beds were OK, but no top sheet! Housekeeping staff did not replace used items, such as drinking cups, when asked. Concierge staff members were exceptionally helpful. Breakfast was good, buffet style. Within walking distance of Notting Hill, Kensington Palace and Gardens. Paddington and Lancaster Gate tube stations nearby as is Paddington train station. Many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We were on first floor, street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff everything was explained clearly and with a highly professional manner on our arrival to room on the 4th floor it was very clean and the bed was so comfy with tea & coffee making facilities it all added to our fantastic trip and we will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: rooms at front would probably have a better view but could be noisy as over looks a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although the room was small it had all the necessary facilities however firstly I had to make my own bed as neither the mattress protector nor the sheet were even remotely on the bed. When I got into bed I discovered a draft which came from the adjacent window which did not close properly and then I tried to turn on the television (several times) to find when I selected a channel the TV cut off. This would have not been so bad but when I reported these problems to the hotel reception the following morning the staff were extremely dismissive "yes yes madam" but clearly not actually listening to me at all. The response to the window was "the hotel is due for renovation"! I would have expected more from a Best Western and not only shall I not be staying again (at any BW) but I will dissuade any of my friends or colleagues from doing so.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;