We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #519 of 1,073 hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A few minutes walk from Paddington station, which takes you directly to Heathrow. A couple of restaurants near by, and easy Access to the city.

The Club room was very nice, and a big room with a very nice bathroom (small, but nice).
The breakfast was good.
Free internet in the room.

Everything was great!

Room Tip: Choose the Club room. You get Access to Your own building With other Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    526
    340
    182
    273
See reviews for
177
561
190
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently returned from a wonderful 4 day stay in the hotel. The staff from the front desk to the girls and boys serving breakfast all have a wonderful positive attitude and are all so helpful. Rooms are clean and the breakfast super. I would really recommend this hotel for buisniess or pleasure.

Ken Herron
November '13

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Ken Herron
I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Everything about our stay was excellent. The room we were allocated was superb, room 405 club room. The beds (2 doubles) were some of the most comfortable we have slept in. The room was extremely spacious with plenty of storage space and was stylishly decorated.

My one criticism of the room was poor lighting, there was nowhere suitable for applying makeup, I could not get close enough to the mirror in the bathroom because of the sink and there was no light near the mirror over the desk. This was only a small thing but something for the management to consider.

The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries but could have done with a shelf above the sink for toothbrush etc. The under floor heating was a welcome addition.

The service we received from staff was excellent. There was no problem changing the complimentary bottle of wine from white to red and my request for a fan was delt with immediately.

The buffet breakfast was well presented and the quality of the food was again excellent.

I am so pleased we decided to give the hotel another try. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone staying in London.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a club room Recommend room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our hotel and the service you experienced - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well, you know, if you just landed at Paddington station and, for any mysterious reason, haven't reserved or found an hotel yet, what can I say, get to this hotel, ask for the 4-people room --No, it is NOT too big for you and your companion if any-- spend possibly the night out (no problem for this in London:)), get a couple of beers before going to sleep, and the next day check out....They are nice though --well it figures, otherwise who would set foot in?

Room Tip: Ask for the 4-people room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope to have a welcoming back to you to our property in near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me on 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here one night on business. I wanted to stay close to Paddington Station as my conference venue was nearby. The hotel was on a reasonably quiet street although a road closure for gas works on the cross street may have made it quieter than usual.

I went out in search of local restaurants for my evening meal and was very disappointed with what I could find. I spent a good 30 mins walking in all directions and only found a couple of side streets where there was a limited choice of restaurants - mainly Italian for some reason.

The hotel has a slightly quirky layout with the main hotel stairs/ lifts on the other side of the hotel from the reception desk. This meant guests were trundling suitcases through the ground floor bar.

I was allocated a various spacious top floor club room with twin double beds (I'd booked a single room via a booking agency so this was a significant improvement on what I was expecting). Lots of attention to detail and complementary products including fresh fruit and water and loads of bathroom products. The bed was very comfortable and I had a good night's sleep.

On the negative side: (i) the heating didn't work and it took a few calls to get this sorted out in the form of two electric heaters which warmed the room up fine; and (ii) the bathroom was a triumph of style over functionality - there was tiny free standing bowl for a washbasin and absolutely no shelf space for your own toiletries and either side of the mirror over the washbasin were two faux torches for lights which got in the way and gave poor light when you got close to the mirror to shave.

Breakfast was served in a small basement room and was mainly self-service although eggs could be cooked to order. The coffee was pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02077451200.


Sincerely,

Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pluses (+)
Free wi-fi was a relief. Tea coffee maker in room was also a plus. They were really generous in keeping the tea,coffee,sugar satchets. Very clean modern rooms and bathrooms but terribly small.
Minuses (-)
Rooms are like prison cells !! 6ft x 16ft which includes bathroom area. That means the room was hardly 6ft x 10 ft. With a wide bed you could hardly move without hurting yourself. If the room was so small they should have smaller bed and chairs to give some space. Besides the almirah should have sliding doors, because once you open the door there is no space at all. Bathroom was like nothing I have seen in ANY HOTEL , SO SMALL . In the toilet seat one had to sit at 45 degrees angle lest the knees hit the door. Toileteries were in abundance and good quality. If only they could make the room at least 2 ft wider things could change a lot ! Rates were not cheap at nearly GBP 95=00 without breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in this property ! If at all you have no choice try asking for rooms facing the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope to have a welcoming back to you to our property in near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.