We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but dingy rooms !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #516 of 1,073 hotels in London
india
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location but dingy rooms !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pluses (+)
Free wi-fi was a relief. Tea coffee maker in room was also a plus. They were really generous in keeping the tea,coffee,sugar satchets. Very clean modern rooms and bathrooms but terribly small.
Minuses (-)
Rooms are like prison cells !! 6ft x 16ft which includes bathroom area. That means the room was hardly 6ft x 10 ft. With a wide bed you could hardly move without hurting yourself. If the room was so small they should have smaller bed and chairs to give some space. Besides the almirah should have sliding doors, because once you open the door there is no space at all. Bathroom was like nothing I have seen in ANY HOTEL , SO SMALL . In the toilet seat one had to sit at 45 degrees angle lest the knees hit the door. Toileteries were in abundance and good quality. If only they could make the room at least 2 ft wider things could change a lot ! Rates were not cheap at nearly GBP 95=00 without breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in this property ! If at all you have no choice try asking for rooms facing the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope to have a welcoming back to you to our property in near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    513
    339
    181
    272
See reviews for
174
554
189
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington hotel during our anniversary trip to London. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a club room at the back of the hotel. It didn't have a great view, but it was large, clean and quiet. The bathroom was very clean and modern, but it didn't have a bathtub. However, the shower was very nice. We stayed for nine days, so our large and quiet room was perfect. It had everything we needed: a room safe, microwave oven, refrigerator, nice TV, and a very comfortable bed. The location of the hotel is perfect. Definitely take the Heathrow Express from the airport to Paddington Station (a direct 15-minute trip). It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the hotel from Paddington Station. We liked the fact that the hotel is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and many major tourist attractions. We chose to eat breakfast at cafes in the area. Make sure you reserve a club room if you are staying for more than a couple of days. You won't regret it. I would gladly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Reserve a club room, but don't choose a room near the elevator. There are large and small club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Dennis G,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

we have travelled as a family ,and we stayed in best western shaftesbury paddington hotel. The hotel is fantastic . it is clean quite and you will find any thing that you may need.there are alot of resturants around the hotel where you can have a tasety arabian,indian or italian food.and it is just a five minutes walk from london main sightings.I strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the 4th floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We opted to stay here because of its proximity to Paddington Station (it made using the Heathrow Express much easier). I must admit, a 10 minute walk feels a lot longer when you have flown in from Australia, are lugging a suitcase and it starts to rain! But the hotel is quite close and it has one of the "Boris's Bikes" stands right out the front.
Prior to arriving, a member of our travelling party passed away and we needed to make changes to our reservation. Not only were the changes made by the Manager without a fuss, but he greeted us when we arrived, just to make sure that we were OK.
We had two Standard Club Rooms on the 4th floor - rooms 405 and 406 - both with two single beds. I'll focus on 406, because that was the room I was in.
It was located next to the elevator - although I rarely noticed any noise - and had a view over Compton Street. The room looks lovely but it is a little bit small when you have two chairs and a small desk, then try to add two suitcases.
The room also has a fridge, microwave, ironing board (but no sign of an iron), a hairdryer (connected to the desk for some reason) and a large flat screen TV.
The bathroom is small and doesn't offer a lot of storage/shelf space. Plus ther is no real shower screen, so everything gets wet when you use the shower. However, if you use the bath instead, it's fine.
As we had a Club room, we had a complimentary fruit basket, soft drinks, newspapers, pistachios & cashews, tea & coffee, a bottle of wine and WiFi. All very nice.
Unfortunately, when I was booking accommodation 12 months earlier, the Best Western website indicated that the hotel had a guest laundry (a priority for us). I'm not sure if they removed the guest laundry, but it was certainly not there when we arrived - and had been removed from the website. There were laundromats nearby, so we were able to work around it.
We had one dinner at the hotel, in the Lounge. It was OK, but it is not designed as a dining room, so don't set your expectations high.
The breakfast room is quite large, although the tables are close together. The food is kept well stocked and could be described as a standard English breakfast (eggs, bacon, tomato, sausages, baked beans, toast, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, tea/coffee & juices).
Aside from a fire alarm going off at 2am (false alarm), I enjoyed my stay. And whilst I would prefer a hotel with a guest laundry, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court to my family and friends.

Room Tip: If you are able to afford it, go for a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our hotel and the service you experienced - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having used Best Western Hotels throughout the Country on many occasions, I booked to stay here for one night while in London. Although 'bijou' my room was exceptionally well equiped and ideal for a longer stay, with a microwave, fridge, sink etc. The showere room was modern and spotlessly clean and the bedroom and shower room had seperate (quiet) air conditioning.The staff were welcoming and pleasantly efficient. The full English breakfast was very good indeed, with appropriate choices with freshly cooked items on the buffet. I would certainly use again and recommend to others for a relatively inexpensive stay with guaranteed high standards

Room Tip: Small but quiet rooms in a busy part of London. ideally placed for Paddington Station (0.3 miles)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Chris Caine,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02077451200.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the review.

Best Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having paid for a deluxe room my adult daughter and I were disappointed to be allocated a TINY room in the basement which was modern and clean but rather dark. We were fortunate that, being of slight build we managed to wriggle round the bed with some difficulty but there was scarcely enough room to open the wardrobe door and we have had larger bathrooms on cruise ships.

However the service was first class and the staff without exception were some of the nicest people we have met which made up for everything .




Room Tip: Go on a diet before you come or you'll get stuck between the bed and the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.
Please do not hesitate to email me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com for future booking.

Kind Regards
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a trip to London from Sept 23-Oct1 2013. We stayed in Best Western Shaftsbury Paddington Hotel which was very convenient to go anywhere, excellent service from all staff. Good transporatation system in London, most attractions are close to Tube, Train or Bus stations, only few minutes walking. Travel card is the best for visitors, about 50 pounds for 7 days, great offer.
The most impressive was people in London, they are very nice and helpful. My wife is not too good for walking with a cane, she was offered a seat at any transportation throughout the whole trip(every day), that really impressed us, we have never seen in any city before. Thanks to all whose helped us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regard to your stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I am very pleased to know that you like the location of our hotel and glad that our staff was able to meet your expectation and you had great time in London.

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance with your future booking in our group.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.