We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #526 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dooleys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our first trip to London. Our first room was too small for the two of us for a week but the front desk was happy to move us into a larger room the second day and it was much more comfortable. The hotel was very clean with modern bathrooms and finishes. The staff was very friendly and provides an excellent breakfast which is very convenient for travelers with busy schedules. Its located close to Paddington station and the bus lines. Lots of good restaurants in the area and Hyde park is a short walk. Great value for London.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter. Some rooms are very small and may be ok for a short stay. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Kind Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    551
    355
    187
    277
See reviews for
187
580
202
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The bed was delicious, located 10mins walk to 2 nearest metro stations, has grocery stores and restaurants nearby. Beware a bit of stairs at the entrance to get to the lift and some more stairs to the rooms though if you're carrying heavy luggage and showers are a bit tiny for someone who's bigger or taller, and extremely slow internet if you're staying for work purposes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. We will take in consideration all the points raised by you in order to ensure a better experience in the future for all our guests.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

While staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location within walking distance of Paddington Station, I was however a bit dissapointed at the minimal size of my room. Agreed, as a single travller you are alwas put into tiny rooms, and that's why I had booked this accomodation as a "superior" single room (descibed as a spacious room) at a higher price that I would have paid at another Best Western Hotel, e.g. in Pimlico. Regrettably, the only thing spacious about this room was the TV, which I could well do without. The bathroom very tiny making it impossible unable to close the door when using the WC. However the bed was very comfortable and the room itself very clean, with the exception of the bathroom floor, which could have used a daily mopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. We will take in consideration all the points raised by you in order to ensure a better experience in the future for all our guests.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location so we were out all day everyday and had a wonderful time in London. Our booking specified a spacious double room so we were very surprised at the tiny size of the room! It was just as well that Emirates lost my husband's luggage because it wouldn't have fitted in the room! I had to climb across the bed to get to the bedside cupboard, which also had to double as a bedside table, with the door open. We managed just fine, but we are always looking to see what could be managed by our friends and families who are aged or have disabilities - and they certainly would not have a comfortable stay here in this hotel. Wouldn't have minded at all if the advertising was more accurate and the pricing adjusted according to the actual room that you were allocated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.

Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice within the past year. I made the first reservation through Best Western's reservation service. Stayed in a great room (in the building across the street from the front desk.
This second trip, I made my reservations through Bookings.com. It quickly became apparent that they kept special rooms, in separate run down hotel several blocks away, for Bookings.com reservations. I was told that they had no twin rooms, even though TWO different parties came to the desk after I did and were given twin rooms on the spot. We had theatre tickets within 90 minutes, so we accepted being shuttled to the 60's era hotel which Ignatius promised us was "the same". In 1968 I'm sure it was. We traveled to Cambridge for two nights, then came back for our second reservation. This time they were able to give us a decent room, and even put a fruit basket in the room as an apology. A banana, an orange and an apple. Which they charged me £8 for when I checked out!
This hotel has a great location, the rooms across the street are beautiful, but never again. This was my last Bookings.com reservation, also.

Room Tip: Stay here if you must, but insist on the building across the street from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much & looking forward to your positive response as per your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Price quality as expected for London. Well located, with à small market near buy, an excellent exchange rate at a near by exchange counter. Hotel is spotless with polite staff. However, I got à standard double bed room. I think it was not even 200 square feet. The closet door. Can not be fully openned due to the bed position. But then bedding is of good quality and comfort. Very ambiant in recommandons this hôtel. If you only used your hôtel room for sleeping and shower, then it is OK, else Very clostrophopic. And if you are an average size North American then consider paying extra for a larger room. Of course tiny room, tiny bathroom, and tiny shower. 2,5x2,5 feet.

Room Tip: Get Deluxe or two twin beds room for breathing space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. We will take in consideration all the points raised by you in order to ensure a better experience in the future for all our guests.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend recently just for a couple of nights. Hotel was easy to find and located near to the train station which was good for getting around. The staff were very helpful and pleasant upon check in. Our room however was a tad small although adequate and quite modern. We booked a deluxe double.. so wouldnt want to see what the standard rooms were like! The rooms was also a little hot in the evening. We had the window wide open and both struggled with the room being very stuffy whilst trying to sleep. All in all though, for the price we paid and the time we actually spent in the room, we had everything we needed, and the room was clean. We didn't eat at the Hotel so cant comment on that. Would say that if you were staying only for a few nights at this Hotel it's a good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read about your experience in Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court. Thank you for your appreciation for our staff, I will share it with the team on our next staff meeting.

Regarding the inconvenience caused to you during your stay I do apologise and we will take in consideration all the points raised by you in order to ensure a better experience in the future for all our guests. All our rooms differ in size due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however the space is optimised at its best.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court on your future visits to London.

Kind Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.