We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #515 of 1,073 hotels in London
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not terrible for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Pros:
-Cost is very good for the area, and much cheaper than anything in central London.
-The staff is very friendly
-5 min walk to Paddington Station/metro
-Plenty to eat in the area.

Cons:
-Room very very small, as in wouldn't recommend for 2 people.
-Washroom even smaller
-Our room was in a second building across the street. This is unmarked and hard to find, especially after a couple drinks at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
We are glad that you liked our services.

Unfortunately our standard rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and it’s design, however we do have larger doubles and studio suites available that I’m certain you would find much more comfortable.
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope to have a welcoming back to you to our property in near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me on 02077451200.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    512
    338
    181
    272
See reviews for
174
552
189
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is nice and well located but the mattress was awful, needs a change right away. The room furniture was very bad distributed you could knock your knees in pain with almost everything.Its a shame because if its not for those 2 things the hotel would be perfect

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused to you at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience to provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A really cozy hotel in a calm street near Hyde Park. We stayed in the building opposite the reception. The room was very small, but efficient. A little cold, but I guess that's normal... Didn't spend too much time at the hotel, didn't visit the bar. A hotel for sleeping. But very cozy sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

I'm gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were disappointed when we arrived to be told that we were not staying in the hotel that we had booked.Firstly we were taken up the road to book in at a sister hotel and then taken across the road to their accommodation "suites" We suspected overbooking!
Despite this initial issue it did not turn out to spoil our stay at all. Every single member of staff we encountered was very friendly, polite and looked after us brilliantly. The "Suites" are not large but are very well appointed, clean and modern and very quiet which is a big plus in London. The breakfast (which has to be taken over the road in the hotel) was excellent with full English and continental choices served buffet style. The restaurant team were very welcoming efficient and constantly clearing/replenishing and refilling our tea and coffee! We would definitely book again. All this and only about 7 mins walk from Paddington Station

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
It was a real pleasure to read your review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The deluxe room was described on Booking.com as spacious. It was nothing of the kind. The original room offered to us was tiny. Only after complaining did they offer us some thing slightly larger. Maybe the room was a foot longer though still very small. The smoke alarm went off in the room just because we opened the door to the bathroom. The bar was shut at 11:30 at night when we got back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a cat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience to provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much and I'm looking forward to your positive response.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ħal Tarxien, null, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Called me a day before and was told they had a problem and had to be relocated. I had intentionally booked the hotel for its location and hence insisted they give me my rooms. After some more phone calls they accepted to give me the rooms I had booked. Other than this incident all was fine. Staff very polite and helpful. Rooms clean although a bit small and too warm at times. Location is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been usually staying at a different hotel in the area while on business in London but, after a few years I decided to live adventurously and try something new in the same price range and boy, was I right!
The Best Western Shaftesburry was a very nice surprise from the very beginning: much higher-end than my previous regular choice, very nice room (a bit smaller but worlds apart in terms of comfort), great location close to Paddington and friendly staff. I couldn't believe this place wasn't much more expensive! To top it all, WiFi was free and even worked great, which is something I can't really say about some of the much more expensive hotels I've stayed in!
I recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
It was a real pleasure to read your review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#297 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.