We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Deluxe Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #519 of 1,071 hotels in London
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tiny Deluxe Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The deluxe room was described on Booking.com as spacious. It was nothing of the kind. The original room offered to us was tiny. Only after complaining did they offer us some thing slightly larger. Maybe the room was a foot longer though still very small. The smoke alarm went off in the room just because we opened the door to the bathroom. The bar was shut at 11:30 at night when we got back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a cat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience to provide me your booking details in order to investigate the matter in depth.

Thank you very much and I'm looking forward to your positive response.

Kind Regards,

Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    480
    331
    185
    274
See reviews for
155
518
182
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ħal Tarxien, null, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Called me a day before and was told they had a problem and had to be relocated. I had intentionally booked the hotel for its location and hence insisted they give me my rooms. After some more phone calls they accepted to give me the rooms I had booked. Other than this incident all was fine. Staff very polite and helpful. Rooms clean although a bit small and too warm at times. Location is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been usually staying at a different hotel in the area while on business in London but, after a few years I decided to live adventurously and try something new in the same price range and boy, was I right!
The Best Western Shaftesburry was a very nice surprise from the very beginning: much higher-end than my previous regular choice, very nice room (a bit smaller but worlds apart in terms of comfort), great location close to Paddington and friendly staff. I couldn't believe this place wasn't much more expensive! To top it all, WiFi was free and even worked great, which is something I can't really say about some of the much more expensive hotels I've stayed in!
I recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.
It was a real pleasure to read your review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

King Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Checked in & was told our room was actually across the road. Bit mad but concierge showed us the way. Room was small-ish but had all we needed. Bathroom was nice. Shower was great. Stayed 2 nights, only really used to rest our heads. Cannot say enough about the area, tremendous. Just 5-8mins walk from paddington station. The hotel booked 2 taxis for us but what arrived was a high end cheauffeur service car each time. *Would return to here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad and your review is helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

when i arrived at the hotel, i was told it was overbooked and had to be relocated. i had intentionally booked the hotel for its location and hence, insisted they give me a room, which they did. other than that incident, service was fine, no complaints about it. but the room - very puny. there really wasn't much space for manouvre, especially since i had a really large bag. toiletries provided were quite good in quality so no complaints there. i guess the saving grace is the location - 10 min walk to paddington station which has several tube lines, a train station that includes trains to heathrow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused to you at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we consider our guests feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.

I would request you to provide me your full details in order to investigate the matter in depth. Please contact me by writing on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Originally booked into a different hotel in Kings Cross, however upon arrival they had made an error in the booking and wanted to charge 3x the price paid!
Step in Best Western. Great hotel for a great price considering booking was made less than an hour before arrival. Room was clean and tidy, if a little on the warm side. Location pretty good, easy access to central London from Paddington station a short walk away. Perfect place to stay for quick access to Heathrow. Would recommend to all and will consider this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read about your experience in Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Thank you for your appreciation for our front office staff, I will share it with the team on our next staff meeting.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect 4 star hotel at 2 star prices , the staff are amazing, so friendly and attentative , they cannot do enough for you, the rooms are beautiful , super clean and smell lovely, you really couldn't get a more handy location for visiting London either, everything is on your doorstep. The breakfast was Awesome! Beautiful freshly made food and served with a smile.. I would never stay anywhere else when im in London

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London.

It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England
Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#449 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.