We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“puny rooms, passable service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #547 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“puny rooms, passable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

when i arrived at the hotel, i was told it was overbooked and had to be relocated. i had intentionally booked the hotel for its location and hence, insisted they give me a room, which they did. other than that incident, service was fine, no complaints about it. but the room - very puny. there really wasn't much space for manouvre, especially since i had a really large bag. toiletries provided were quite good in quality so no complaints there. i guess the saving grace is the location - 10 min walk to paddington station which has several tube lines, a train station that includes trains to heathrow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused to you at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we consider our guests feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.

I would request you to provide me your full details in order to investigate the matter in depth. Please contact me by writing on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com.

Best Regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    571
    365
    200
    284
See reviews for
191
597
206
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Originally booked into a different hotel in Kings Cross, however upon arrival they had made an error in the booking and wanted to charge 3x the price paid!
Step in Best Western. Great hotel for a great price considering booking was made less than an hour before arrival. Room was clean and tidy, if a little on the warm side. Location pretty good, easy access to central London from Paddington station a short walk away. Perfect place to stay for quick access to Heathrow. Would recommend to all and will consider this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read about your experience in Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

Thank you for your appreciation for our front office staff, I will share it with the team on our next staff meeting.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect 4 star hotel at 2 star prices , the staff are amazing, so friendly and attentative , they cannot do enough for you, the rooms are beautiful , super clean and smell lovely, you really couldn't get a more handy location for visiting London either, everything is on your doorstep. The breakfast was Awesome! Beautiful freshly made food and served with a smile.. I would never stay anywhere else when im in London

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington court for your recent visit to London.

It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very comfortable, and peacefull nights sleep, the room was a bit dark, situated between two buildings, so natural light was at a minimum, and bedroom light not too good. Good location, with parking available on the adjacent streets

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London.

We do value your feedback and we will consider all the points raised by you in our future refurbishments.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although the room was small, it was irrelevant since the cleanliness and comfort were superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located well for access to Padington train station where travelling to other parts of London is easy. I really enjoyed my stay.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court on your recent visit to London.

We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain our standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are 160 cm and not claustrophobic, go for it! Location couldn´t be better - with Hyde park around the corner you can easily walk all the way to busy Oxford Str. The room is, however, extremely small, even for London, where tiny rooms are usual standard. Room didn´t look like in pictures from their official web at all!!! Also, we came in the middle of the night, tired and sleepy and they send us to check-in in different building along the street. There should be at least mention about it in our reservation. Wasn´t.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused to you at the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court.

I would request you to provide me your full details in order to investigate the matter in depth. Please contact me on vinayak@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind regards,
Vinayak Girgune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived before 1400 hrs but we were pleased that our room was ready. The room was fabulous with the best beds and power shower we've ever experienced in a hotel. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer than 1 night. The service was outstanding and we will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Short walk from Paddington station so an excellent location for getting around London. Its only a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonCourt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve our performance and meet the expectations of future guests.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for the positive comments about the staff and hotel
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Best Regards,
Mihaela Carp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London

Address: 27 Devonshire Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London Hotel London
Best Western Paddington Court Hotel
London Best Western
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shaftesbury Paddington Court London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.